Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 10" Single Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw (21237)
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 10" Single Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw (21237)

Item# 00921237000P | Model# 21237 | Added on July 26, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(439 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$249.99
$199.99
Rewards
Earn 2,000 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
A Craftsman 10' Sliding Compound Miter Saw Gets the Job Done Precisely RightSmooth cutting with laser guided precision, lightweight, portable and slicing seamlessly through thick materials, the Craftsman 10' single bevel sliding compound miter saw is the perfect addition to a job site and home shop alike. Spinning at 4,800 revolutions per minute, no matter which blade you slip onto the collar of this compound, you'll cut through wood both hard and soft, leaving sharp edges and tight corners with every cut.
The perfect way to save money on any job, the Craftsman 10' sliding compound miter saw uses smaller, easy-to-maintain blades than larger models, but this saw still delivers the reach to spin through boards up to 12 inches wide. Perfect for quick work, this saw features a Laser Trac that clearly lines up with your pencil marks for fast work and when you're looking to cut precision miters, the built-in clamping system gives you that exact angle every time. The Craftsman 10" compound miter saw delivers precision and versatility that you can count on.

  • The Craftsman 10' sliding compound miter saw features a 15.0 Amp motor that delivers high torque and speed
  • Include compound miter saw, blade, dust bag, blade wrench, clamp and extensions
  • Studs, joists and posts cut easily with the dual slide bearing rail system
  • Telescoping aluminum extensions with stop block provide additional support for longer work pieces
  • Laser Trac not only gives you an accurate cut
... read more
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
1K members
Like this product
Eli WexlerJohn SchwartzMatthew GlowackiBurke JenneMATT SULLENTRUPHEATHER DEWALDRona GregorySarah RodriguezANNIE MAEGhazala KhanCYNTHIA RIBNISCKY
1K
851 members
Want this product
Matthew GlowackiBurke JenneRona GregoryANNIE MAEMATTHEW NEIBERTGREG GOODRICHTravis SimmonsCristinasheila smolinskiWilliam CobbJOE LINK
840
390 members
Have this product
MATTHEW NEIBERTJohn SchwartzMATT SULLENTRUPRona GregoryCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYANDREW KAPALDOMatthew JansickTodd TroldahlPatty Estrada Tim SaxtonSarah Lopez
379
5M members
Follow this product's
brand
Casey G.Pasha Vasilkovjason @searsVanina DelobelleJJ EthridgeBrenda JanniseBill KastritisTom RaafSadia SharminGEORGE A CHAMBERSAMY ARNSPARGER
5M
118 members
Follow this product's
category
MATTHEW NEIBERTJamie MDustin ManoCJoyJoy DavidErick Njessee j. jacksonSharon MathewsMISSY GOLDDavid T. ReidPETER IRWINAllen Graves
107

Overall Rating:

Average:
(439 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (267)
  • 4 Stars
    (112)
  • 3 Stars
    (25)
  • 2 Stars
    (13)
  • 1 Star
    (22)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
34 found this review helpful
by MrCutup
May 13th, 2007
Sliding mitre saw

This is a terrific value for the money. It performs as well if not better than other brands costing up to twice as much. It is easy to use and has safety first features. Do not see why anybody would want a non-sliding mitre saw (that most others sell for about same as this) when they can have this one.

Criticism
14 found this review helpful
by Scott25
January 19th, 2009
OK saw, cheap plastic

The saw is ok - cuts are straight and miters are fairly tight. The laser is difficult to see when using outdoors, even in the shade. My biggest gripe is the sorry plastic "handle" on this saw. After finishing a job the other day, I picked up the saw by the "handle" which pulled apart from where it is attached to the motor housing. Half the screws stripped out of the motor housing and the other half broke through the upper handle's plastic. I have been trying to get replacement parts through parts direct, but the motor handles are backordered for a month! I imagine they replace a lot of these handles. If you buy one of these saws, be sure and not use the handles as handles. Pick up the saw from under the base.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
CHRISTIAN PETERSON
13 days ago
tactech

versatile

|

A great saw. It does everything I expected and more. Light weight for its size. I was able to cut a 4x4 fence post with no problems at all. I did not have to turn the wood to get it cut.

21 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Spearse

Love this!

|

Great product, works well for what I am using it for

28 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RaisaPatino24

Mitter saw

|

My husband will never go another place to buy tools. Only sears got everything he needs and want. The mitter saw he bought is like a toy for him now he can make all the projects he got plus many more!! Sears tools the best!!!

March 2nd via mobile | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
usrudeness

AWESOME

|

I LOVE this saw! I was able to do the base boards in my laundry room and bathroom, the cuts were perfect! My wife couldn't have been more happy with them. My wife gets me a new saw and she gets the base boards she wants. Perfect!!

February 25th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
min21

10 inch sliding miter saw

|

bought this saw to replace a 20 year old craftsman compound miter saw that is still in excellent working condition but does not have the sliding feature.

February 25th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ron2414

Hard to cut a piece square even after adjusting the fence

|

The motor carriage assembly which mounts to the slide assembly is not properly factory aligned. In other words, the motor attached to the slide rails was not properly attached at the factory so that the blade is cutting perpendicular to the stock all the way through the length of the cut. There is no way you cannot align the plane of blade so that the front of the blade travels in the same space as the back end of the blade as it passes through the cut. A miter saw on slides that is not properly aligned, cannot produce a square cut no matter how you adjust the fence and this is especially noticeable on larger stock width cuts.
Now this problem may not be indicative of all the saws of this design that were manufactured but it is certainly true the saw I own. This flaw renders the saw useless for cabinet making or other high accuracy work. It is still usable for rough cut carpentry, however.

February 20th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
KJB2015

Possible Defect - needed to exchange it after 4 cuts.

|

Needed a new saw and after seeing the above average reviews opted on 21237.

I got 4 cuts into a small project and the trigger system stopped responding - it was in constant on mode which isnt safe. I unplugged it and secured it in the down position and read up on the manual to make sure there wasn't an odd feature I was missing.

After a cover to cover read through and not seeing anything I tried again. Upon plugging it in it was auto on and I tried for a solid 10 seconds of wiggling both the trigger and safety thumb mechanism and still it wouldn't turn off.

Tried again for another 10 seconds and this time it turned off. I fiddled with the triggers and although turned off and then it responded as needed I didnt like the possibility of it happening again so I took it back for an exchange.Hopefully it was just that saw and the new one doesnt have this issue - plus side is 8 cuts into the project with the new saw and so far so good.

On a more positive note the cuts that I have been able to make have been flawless. The 45s are spot on and the framing project is looking great!

Oh, one more con - the dust bag/ system is useless. I think I have a spec or two of dust in the bag while the rest is all around my work bench.

February 18th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bsteve

Single Bevel Sliding Saw

|

I like the saw alot. Only two little things that bug me about it. When the stops are flipped up one is 90 degrees and the other is not. I must diddle with it to make a straight cut. Second there are 4 holes (two front and 2 in back) to put the clamp into. The two in front are not drilled and tapped to allow for a screw for securing the clamp. For some angles it would be nice to be able to use the clamp from the front side.
Other than these small things I love it. And it worked very well and very precise clean cuts. Great price too.

February 13th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
NancyP10

One poor design feature

|

I bought the saw primarily to be to cut and miter wide boards. I read the reviews and, overall, found good reviews. One review indicated that the saw dust catcher does not work very well. I thought I could live with that. But, when I used the saw and saw dust blew in all directions with almost nothing in the bag, I had to return the saw Unfortunately, I encountered issues when I returned the saw to my local Sears store.
I am very disappointed in the product and with Sears.

February 12th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
HandyManDave

Really useful tool, a must have for any DIYer

|

Have had one of these for hardwood flooring, framing walls, and molding jobs and works great. The sliding action lets you cut wider lengths of wood and come at molding straigh down vs. a top cut that would dull the blade. Works well compared to more expensive units and folds down fairly small. Suggest using it on a table or a rolling cart.

February 6th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Chubz

Great saw

|

I ordered this saw a few weeks ago and it has been amazing except it's a little large for my small shop so if you have a small shop I RECOMEND the compact sliding miter but other that that its a great saw I love it and I would RECOMEND it to anyone

February 3rd via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
sbbruce

Great saw

|

Love this sae works great for someone just getting started with DIY!!

January 27th via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
BrianA.

Excellent Saw, but one complaint

|

This is a great saw for the price. Perfect for your average homeowner. The included blade cuts nice finished edges, the sliders are smooth, and the laser is dead-nuts accurate (some people have complained of it being off a bit, but I think that's just manufacturing issues).

I only have one complaint. Miter saws are inherently messy tools. Dust collection has never really been 100%, but this one in particular is terrible in that respect. After multiple cuts, nearly none of the dust made it into the collection bag. If you actually look at the way the saw was designed, it's obvious why it doesn't collect dust as it should. The saw spits the dust straight back towards the rear of the saw, but the collection inlet is nearly halfway up the blade and not level with the cutting surface. While I understand for the purposes of being able to slide the saw like a radial arm would be inhibited by a lower hanging chute, some simple flexible material (like some other manufacturers use) to help send the dust upward would be a nice addition. Even with a vacuum hooked up to where the bag would go, I only saw ~50% reduction in dust.

The dust issue isn't enough to lower a star on this, as it's a great saw, and it's just the nature of miter saws to be messy.

January 16th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Saldamar

Mr

|

Great

January 14th via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kobekane

ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS MONSTER

|

I love this thing. I create reasons to use it. It makes all the basic cuts you need for baseboard, crown molding, hardwood laminate, whatever. This thing is a beast.

January 14th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Thomas Wexler
January 12th
CindySanta

needed a good compound miter saw and this was a good deal

|

January 12th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JIMMIEM

Bought after reading WOOD Magazine review

|

I needed an efficient and accurate way to cut some 10 inch wide oak stair treads and risers. The WOOD Magazine review gave this saw the thumbs up so I bought it and have been very satisfied with it's performance. I already had a good 10 inch non-sliding compound miter saw and didn't want to invest in an expensive slider. I wasn't sure what to expect from this Sears saw but I would recommend it. I was also prepared to replace the blade that came with the saw with a premium blade but the supplied blade has done a very good job and I have continued using it.

January 3rd via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MikeInIA

Good saw. For 1 year, anyhow

|

Bought this 12/2/13. Used it for woodworking, table angle lock was a little finicky but all in all, not bad. Then, after 1 year and 2 weeks, I went to move the table angle, squeezed the handle to release the catch, and it snapped off in my hand. Now that it's past 1 year, well, that's too bad. It's sad but true, that Craftsman doesn't mean what it used to mean: quality.

December 27th, 2014 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? 70% of Shop Your Way questions are answered in less than 24 hours!