Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 10" Single Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw (21237)
Related images:

Craftsman 10" Single Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw (21237)

Item# 00921237000P | Model# 21237 | Added on July 26, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(465 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$249.99
$175.23
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 1,752 points
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
A Craftsman 10' Sliding Compound Miter Saw Gets the Job Done Precisely RightSmooth cutting with laser guided precision, lightweight, portable and slicing seamlessly through thick materials, the Craftsman 10' single bevel sliding compound miter saw is the perfect addition to a job site and home shop alike. Spinning at 4,800 revolutions per minute, no matter which blade you slip onto the collar of this compound, you'll cut through wood both hard and soft, leaving sharp edges and tight corners with every cut.
The perfect way to save money on any job, the Craftsman 10' sliding compound miter saw uses smaller, easy-to-maintain blades than larger models, but this saw still delivers the reach to spin through boards up to 12 inches wide. Perfect for quick work, this saw features a Laser Trac that clearly lines up with your pencil marks for fast work and when you're looking to cut precision miters, the built-in clamping system gives you that exact angle every time. The Craftsman 10" compound miter saw delivers precision and versatility that you can count on.

  • The Craftsman 10' sliding compound miter saw features a 15.0 Amp motor that delivers high torque and speed
  • Include compound miter saw, blade, dust bag, blade wrench, clamp and extensions
  • Studs, joists and posts cut easily with the dual slide bearing rail system
  • Telescoping aluminum extensions with stop block provide additional support for longer work pieces
  • Laser Trac not only gives you an accurate cut
... read more
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
1K members added this product to Things I Like
NICOLE BELCHERJack L.Denton Jr. Denton Jr.Tina Carpenter
1K
1K members added this product to My Wishlist
ANITA GENTLEadam moyeNICOLE derussoJoycie PennieLORETTA OWENS
1K
614 members added this product to My Things
David AllenJoni BegayGarrett Kite
611
153 members
Follow this product's
category
MATTHEW NEIBERTJeff SpringerCJoy DavidERICK NCathy RussMISSY GOLDbetty fosterNolan ReynoldsPETER IRWINAllen GravesElsamel Elsamel
142

Overall Rating:

Average:
(465 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (285)
  • 4 Stars
    (115)
  • 3 Stars
    (27)
  • 2 Stars
    (13)
  • 1 Star
    (25)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
34 found this review helpful
by MrCutup
May 13th, 2007
Sliding mitre saw

This is a terrific value for the money. It performs as well if not better than other brands costing up to twice as much. It is easy to use and has safety first features. Do not see why anybody would want a non-sliding mitre saw (that most others sell for about same as this) when they can have this one.

Criticism
14 found this review helpful
by Scott25
January 19th, 2009
OK saw, cheap plastic

The saw is ok - cuts are straight and miters are fairly tight. The laser is difficult to see when using outdoors, even in the shade. My biggest gripe is the sorry plastic "handle" on this saw. After finishing a job the other day, I picked up the saw by the "handle" which pulled apart from where it is attached to the motor housing. Half the screws stripped out of the motor housing and the other half broke through the upper handle's plastic. I have been trying to get replacement parts through parts direct, but the motor handles are backordered for a month! I imagine they replace a lot of these handles. If you buy one of these saws, be sure and not use the handles as handles. Pick up the saw from under the base.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
ANI AROUSH
| Earned 8 community points in Craftsman
6 days ago
HipChic

OMG-it still works

|

So, I purchased this a few years ago, used it quite a bit doing contract work, dropped it out of the truck, setting it up, you name it. Used it for cutting tile, shingles, wood, you name it, and it wont die. I left it upside down for 6mos in storage, turned the blade once, and bam, worked like new. Never had any equipment work like that. Just recommend getting a good blade, like a diablo, for it and it will never give up on you.

15 days ago via craftsman.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mattinsf

You get what you pay for

|

-Out of the box the plastic on the back of the slide was broken
-Upon assembly the plastic piece the the primary angle screws into snapped (so ti can't be locked at an angle)
-Upon use the laser was out of alignment

That being said, it was one hundred and seventy dollars, so I can't complain too much. It was purchased to be used for a deck build (I purchased the Craftsman saw stand as well). Cutting 4x8 doug fir joists (large deck) was possible but the saw would come very close to stalling and really struggled when cutting the entire 4" width and sliding across the 12"... in the saw's defense these were 100lb+ wet lumber 4x8s so they are far from easy to cut.

I have used a number of miter saws. This unit is clearly sub-par to Hitachi/Dewalt/Bosch etc. but at half the cost it will get most jobs done. If you are going to use it lightly and don't mind a few broken parts along the way it's a decent tool, for heavy duty use I would stick with a higher end unit.

19 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
SuperCabra

Strong saw, precision of angles: disappointing

|

After putting it together and getting it setup on my bench I decided to take it for a test run to check it out. A strong saw that seems to rip right through wood. No problems there. The angles were off. 0 degrees was off by a degree or a little less. 45 degrees way off. The problem with it seems to be the tightening handle to lock it into place. When you leave it untightened it is close but when you tighten it the angle moves to the right and now your at 44 degrees. This is the same thing as the zero degree mark. Tighten it and it will be at 1 degree the opposite direction. I can typically get it set after a few test cuts but I shouldn't have to. That is why the degree marks are on there. Oh well I am stuck with it now. Would I recomend it? Nope

20 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Del_Boy

Best impulse buy

|

Great buy! Bought to build the wife a book shelf that measured 7'x4' and I have not built anything before. The saw worked great cutting a 2x10, was very easy to set up and start using. 
Already recommended it to some friends

March 18th via mobile
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Randy Corriveau

love the saw

|

Needed a reliable miter saw, a friend showed me his craftsman he has had for 15 years with no issues as a contractor. So I took a chance ,let me tell you no disappointment at all it has exceeded my expectations. Thank you again

March 9th via mobile
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
evets_

good sawr

|

It's not the most high quality saw but I already knew that when I bought it. Slide out tables are cheap and not very useful. The laser light is unaligned and loose. Perfectly fine for work that doesn't demand perfection. I'm using it for door casings and base trim in the house now... Miters are alright. Nothing a little liquid trim can't fix. I do love the material size it can handle.

March 2nd via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mtumelson

Great product and quick shipping

|

More features than the standard dewalt!

February 28th via mobile
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CH72

Great Saw

|

Miter and laser dead on.

February 27th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ron34

Rust!

|

I've purchased tools, many Craftsman, for 50 years. This saw, along with a set of craftsman wrenches purchased around the same time, rusted and Sears will not repair or replace. While I can understand, I caution others to aware of this. I had purchased a product master agreement plan since I had read about the problems others wrote in reviews. Rust is not covered. Tool salesman theorized it is becuase of inferior metal from China. OK, step up Sears and help loyal customers who have these types of issues.

February 25th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
rocknjeep

Good saw. Long review.

|

I've wanted to add a miter saw to my little shop for a few years. After doing a lot of research and reading decided on this Craftsman 10 inch sliding compound model. With an online sale + a coupon + points I had + an additional %5 off I managed to get the saw from $117. And I had it within 20 minutes with in-store pickup. DEAL!
Now about the saw itself; it was well packaged and assembly required was minimal and self explanatory. Once set up I gave it a once over checking the various moving parts and knobs as well as checking out the overall build of it. It was all in good order and very solid. I was also happy to find that the “laser trac” is switchable and that the switch is covered by clear rubber boot to keep dust out. There’s also a safety you have to engage before pulling the trigger to start the saw. Not that I’ll be loaning it out to anyone or anyone else will be messing around with it but you never know so that’s a nice feature. The supplied 60T carbide blade is pretty nice. The clamp is what you’d expect and the extensions are alright. I like that they have stops you can flip up but for long pieces you will need more support.
I made a few test cuts on scrap and out of the box it was very close to accurate but it did need some small adjustment (like a degree at most).
This is where I stopped and read the manual. I’m not new to using these saws but I find that reading the manual is helpful and most people that experience issues are usually those who fail to read the manufacturers literature. Finger through it.
After doing that I got my squares and followed the manuals instructions to calibrate the saw. I had absolutely no trouble and after a series of various test cuts the saw is dead-on. The laser, which other reviews have voiced concern, is also straight on. The entire ordeal took maybe 45 minutes.
I had no problem getting through a 2x12. Saw slides smooth, not the fastest (switch to a more aggressive blade if you want speed) but it was fine for me. And the detents for angles seemed good to me. A cut at 45 degrees came out perfect according to my squares so I don’t think there’s a slop issue.
Other reviewers have had the carry handle break on them. I have not experienced this but I wouldn’t be trying to carry the weight of this tool with one hand and a PLASTIC handle in the first place. It would be awkward anyway. I lift it from the base.
I’ve also seen people saying the handle to lock down an angle has busted. You people have to be trying. Honestly, how hard are you cranking that thing down? A couple turns until you’re tight and you’re good. We’re not sealing a leak on a submarine here.
The dust bag is useless as others have said but I don’t know what you would expect given the science going on. It’s a saw, they create saw dust. I haven’t tried it with a vac yet.
All in all I think this saw was a great purchase. It’s a quality tool at a good price and it’s given me excellent results. I’d recommend it

February 3rd via craftsman.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
QUARTERBACK

Very nice

|

Great power very easy to use seems very solid followed by very nice quality very smooth saw I was so happy I purchased a 2nd love craftsman Great saw.

January 29th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
lamoody

Husband loves it!

|

January 15th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mr-Mac

Craftsman 10" Single Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw

|

It's about time a saw with this many features sold for under $200 (on sale)! I love this thing and have used it quite a bit recently while building a deck with stairs around the hot tub!

January 13th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
rmader81

great

|

Love the saw. Easy to pick up from store. Easy to set up and use.

January 4th via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JonJo

Excellent Value

|

I purchased this 10" Craftsman Miter Saw on line on sale and I am glad I did. This saw is very well made and when I checked the alignment angles and I am happy to say it was "Spot On" right out of the box. The Blade is a 60 TPI and seems like it also is of good quality and it does cut extreamly well. I have a lot of other Craftsman tools and this sliding saw is another great addition to my work shop.

January 4th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PFRon

Nice miter saw

|

After using points andveterans day discount I got this saw for less than $170.  Built my daughter a bench the same day.  Love the laser and the smooth operation of the slides.

November 20th, 2015 via mobile
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
John Dorris
| Earned 40 community points in Craftsman
September 29th, 2015
Tequi3467

Compound Miter saw purchase

|

Needed the saw for some home projects, excellent value for a quality product.

September 20th, 2015 via mobile
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dlpg542003

Should have bought it a long time ago!

|

Great for quick, easy cuts. Vacuum doesn't work as well as I'd hoped. It was easy to put together and even easier to use. Had to learn to measure and cut from the left side.....laser is accurate from the left! First real time saving piece of equipment I've purchased... almost criminal how easy my projects will be from now on!

September 18th, 2015 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question
Show all questions
JANAYA null
Craftsman 10" Single Bevel Sliding Compound Miter Saw (21237)
September 26th, 2015
Answered in 36 minutes
Maria Castro
By Maria Castro
September 26th, 2015