Product is out of stock
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 12 Gallon Portable Vertical Air Compressor with Hose and Accessory Kit
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 12 Gallon Portable Vertical Air Compressor with Hose and Accessory Kit

Item# 00916640000P | Model# 16640 | Added on April 15, 2010
(139 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$199.99
Out of stock
Rewards
Earn 2,000 points on this item (?)
Description Specifications
Big Pressure for Big Jobs with the Craftsman 12 Gallon Air Compressor Wheel this 12 gallon air compressor onto the jobsite and lock it up. With a big capacity and convenient portability that you need to cover large areas, this compressor is a work essential. Featuring a potent one horse motor and 12 gallons of air storage, whether you’re powering half a dozen nailers through a manifold, or blasting the site clean, this compressor gives you the volume and quick recharge that you need to keep any job on track.
More than jobsite mobility, if you’re just looking for a solid mid-sized tool for home, this Compressor with Hose and Accessory Kit packs the punch you need in an easy to afford package. From tuning-up your base boards, to building boxes, framing, roofing and blowing engine parts clean, this compressor is at the center of getting jobs done. Made with tough steel that’s painted to resist corrosion for years, and featuring a quick cooling cast iron compressor head, this machine will help you power through jobs big and small for decades. A perfect fit for the corner of your shop, or the extra spot in back of the truck, add this weighty compressor to your tool kit and get the power that will keep you moving forward.

  • Complete kit includes: 25 ft. recoil air hose, 1/4 in. male plug, ball chuck and thread seal tape
  • 1 HP motor powers this 12 gallon air compressor so it works fast and steady
  • 120 Volt power means you can plug it into any standard outlet
  • Oil
... read more
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
316 members
Like this product
Eric JacobiMark ShipleyMATTHEW RICHDEBBIE ROCKWELLbrenda petersnathasha douglasSam AJOHN VENTURIKelly BoudreauxMARTY  FORREST  JR
306
176 members
Want this product
JOHN MAGEETony LucasDenise MaliaKelly BoudreauxMichelle ForgaCheri Joiner
170
87 members
Have this product
Eric JacobiTony LucasJennifer Q.JOHN VENTURIWanda Kendrick
82
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Jamie WilsonYaquanda BakerSAMMY DAVIS RODRIGUEZELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaPAMELA GRIFFITHSTeresa Elwartowski MoonJames ParkerFAATIMAHCarin Thompson
5M
152 members
Follow this product’s
category
Eric JacobiRONNIE KIRKLANDLORRAINE FRONTZAKJeannette HarkinDustin ManoTIM BLACKBURNJ.Richard FikuartDina De-Berowley - Store ManagerDiala ChahoudJerry CJENNIFER WORDEN
141
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (139 Ratings)
Overall score
7.3
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(139 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (60)
  • 4 Stars
    (38)
  • 3 Stars
    (7)
  • 2 Stars
    (5)
  • 1 Star
    (29)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
11 found this review helpful
by thespaniard92
December 9th, 2012
Great product!!!

I purchased this unit as an early Christmas present from my parents on Black Friday. I have been shopping around for a good air compressor to use for minor projects around the house (i.e. rotating tires, tire inflation, small woodworking jobs etc.). I unpacked it and read all of the owners manual before connecting anything. After following the step-by-step instructions I was ready to try it out. The tank filled in about 3-5 minutes run time. With it being an oil lubricated pump, I found it to be much quieter than the oil-less models. Never had any leaks or problems!!! The 12 gallon tank is large enough to easily keep up with the demands I have while having quick recovery time and the size is perfect not to mention the $149.95 pricetag I was able to get for!!!

Criticism
16 found this review helpful
by jcoerman
August 25th, 2008
Quality Control

I like everything about this compressor except for the quality. The first compressor worked fine for about a month, then the motor started to cut in and out. It would also leak air around the tubing at the tank. I took it back and Sears replaced it free of charge. The second one I received leaked a little bit, but not enough to worry about. It's been about a year now and the leak is worse. Craftsman need to work on their quality control. I will never buy another Craftsman power tool unless it has a lifetime warranty.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Smokedprime

So Far So Good

I've had this unit for about 8 months now and have no problems with it Works as advertised! Quieter then an oilless compressor In my opinion and I like the R&R paper air filter. I'm not a big fan of coiled style plastic airlines and will replace that with a standard rubberized hose..no biggie. Overall..it's a good unit for everyday uses around the garage & farm

20 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tjhamilton

This is a great compressor to have around

This compressor is great for having on a job site where you don't want a huge one. It has no problems running nailguns, staplers, and most air tools. It is good for weekend warriors who don't want to invest in a large compressor. However if you are running grinders, impact wrenches, impact hammer, or some of the other mechanics air tools for more then a few minutes at a time then your better off buying a larger compressor. I have three craftsman compressors, and am soon to have 4 some of them are almost 20 years old, and still run like champs. Great quality tools.

April 22nd via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
donedone

Excellent Air Compressor

After reading some of the negative reviews I was reluctant to order this compressor but it was exactly what I was looking for. The negative reviews could not have been more WRONG. This is a great air compressor and the neg. reviewers could not have been talking about the same product I received. Straight out of the box and filled in less than 6 min., no leaks or problems. This is an outstanding compressor and a great price with *************. Couldn't be better. Happy, Happy,Happy.

April 6th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Daddy-O
March 23rd, 2013
hukriede

2 Bad in a row

Purchased one and took it home, drain plug was bad
exchanged for another one and the regulator was bad.

March 23rd, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jonathan A.
March 20th, 2013
JRL14

Great value at a great price.

Bought this compressor for average duty items in the garage, home, and tools. Works great! Relativly quiet for a compressor. Lot's of power for nailers, staplers, rough and finish.

March 13th, 2013 via sears.com
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CJ Streett

Strong and Portable. Nice compressor for the value.

3 years plus and running strong. Keep it clean and oiled, and it still works like new. It has been a great go to small to medium job compressor.

The only downside for me was the hose. But the heavy duty hose that comes with the 3 piece air tool set is a great replacement, and works and lasts a long time. It holds pressure pretty good too..

February 25th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Sergio Guzman

Blows! (in a good way)

exactly what i needed to blow out my sprinkers

February 8th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Eric M.

Great Quality!

Larger tank capacity makes larger jobs easier

February 8th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JEFF LLOYD

air power

All you need for average garage.

February 3rd, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Felmore

12 gal air compressor

Purchased this compressor for my wood shop. It works out great. Happy that I bought it.

January 30th, 2013 via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RT-Texas

Exactly what I was looking for!

Nothing to assemble, ready to use right out of the box. Compact unit, easy to move around the garage. This unit meets all my needs. Plan to use it this spring to paint my fence.

January 12th, 2013 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ednjessm

Definitely Disappointed

The first one that I bought leaked air between the two head gaskets, so we returned it to a Sears store, and purchased the same exact model, and it does the same thing.

January 12th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
alb22

too small motor

My husband had a older craftsmen compressor that died and i tried to replace it with a larger version but engine is too small! It starts right away and takes for ever to fill. Great for airing up tires but don't blow off the work bench unless you want to hear it run for 10 minutes.

January 9th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Linda Baumgartner
January 7th, 2013
DIYKajun

Hole in tank

Got the compressor for Christmas, plugged it in and it started up, kinda loud, took a long time to fill and shutoff, heard air leaking and found a hole in the weld. You would think, even though it's made in China, there would be some kind of pressure check on the tank. Took back and got money back. Not the quality you would expect from Sears. Will look for something made in America.

January 4th, 2013 via sears.com
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ALBERTA GENTLEMAN
December 30th, 2012
jmb1911

Good value, small footprint

Needed an air compressor for LIGHT duty work and this one fills the bill. The tank holds enough air so that it limits the amount of time the compressor runs. Small enough footprint to fit about anywhere. Tank leaked down until I rotated the regulator **** off of the factory position.as shipped. Once that was done, no issues with leak down over time.

December 13th, 2012 via sears.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
NADINE KEPPER
December 11th, 2012
Want to know something? Ask a question