Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 18780 Evolv 12 amp Corded 7 1/4-in Circular Saw
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 18780 Evolv 12 amp Corded 7 1/4-in Circular Saw

Item# 00918780000P | Model# 18780 | Added on August 27, 2009 | Seller: Sears.com
(428 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$40.99
$29.88
Rewards
You can earn:299 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Choose this 12 Amp Circular Saw for Quick and Sure Cuts The Craftsman Evolv Corded 7 1/4-in Circular Saw provides 5500 RPM of raw energy to power through tough materials like wet lumber and concrete. Die-cast upper and lower blade guards are made of lightweight aluminum, reducing the saw's overall weight and making it a handy tool. Its 7-1/4 inch carbide-tipped blade is designed for rugged cutting jobs like masonry and continuous woodcutting.
With an ergonomic D-grip and glove grip bail handles, this 12 amp Circular Saw is designed for maximum comfort and control. A bevel capacity of 0-45 degrees and an integrated crosscut ruler help you undertake projects like framing with improved accuracy. Backed by the Craftsman name and warranty, this high quality tool can handle even the most demanding cutting tasks.

  • The carbide-tipped blades included in this Craftsman Evolv Corded 7-in Circular Saw stay sharper longer.
  • 12 amp motor provides 5500rpm for increased cutting power
  • With a maximum cutting depth of 2-7/8 inch at 90 degrees and 1-3/4 inch at 45 degrees, you can make accurate angled cuts
  • 7-1/4 inch blade has 24 serrated teeth makes this a great saw for smooth, quiet operation
  • Includes: Saw, blade, wrench and manual
  • 1 year limited warranty
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
948 members
Like this product
John  Venturi
947
727 members
Want this product
polly1122ALETHEA CALLAHANRich TaylorDenise PriceGumecindo Villanuevaadam moyedoug woods
720
719 members
Have this product
NANCY BENZINGERArthur Bucherjessee j. jacksonHELEN TRIMBLESANDRA GRAYsand statueRENA CAPARIDA
712
97 members
Follow this product's
category
Jamie MJAMES CORREACJoy DavidBig Mike DillonDominic  LaCaverajessee j. jacksonMary Lynn HayesManelik PouJeff GoldsmithRENA CAPARIDAMaurice Thomas
86
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (428 Ratings)
Overall score
10.0
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(428 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (150)
  • 4 Stars
    (90)
  • 3 Stars
    (10)
  • 2 Stars
    (2)
  • 1 Star
    (9)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
10 found this review helpful
by lemromt
October 5th, 2010
Craftsman Evolv saw works very good

Great price for a great item.  This Craftsman evolv 12 amp saw is a very good item to have.  Ive never owned a saw so didn't really know what type I would need.  After being helped buy a great salesperson it was this one that made it home.  It is light, powerful and very handy.  I love that it still carries the Craftsman name.  This cut all the plywood and 2 by 4s for the fort I made my kids. 

Criticism
10 found this review helpful
by DirtmanV
May 19th
DO NOT BUY! I regret it...

I work in construction, but needed a cheap circular saw for fast home projects on the weekends. What a waste! After only a dozen 2x4 cuts, it stopped working completely. Motor just gave up on me without warning. I work with these types of tools all the time so I know I wasn't asking too much when it quit on me. Don't get me wrong, it had strong clean cuts while it WAS working. What's worse, I had to jump through so many hoops with the warrantee and repair departmant and they STILL refused to fix it even though it was in the correct warrantee timeframe (less than a year) and I had proof of purchase. In retrospect, I should have known better and bought a name brand saw like a Dewalt or Rigid, but I wanted to save a buck. Learned my lesson pretty quick...

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
bajula

Nice skilsaw for home use

|

This skilsaw seems fine for light duty home use, but I'm not sure how it will hold up to heavy duty industrial use. Don''t get me wrong, it doesn?t feel flimsy at all, but it?s lighter than other heavy duty circular saws. I've only used it once to cut 2x4s and some slats from a pallet I broke down and it held up well. Much better and much faster than using a hand saw.

11 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
alfdsibv

Is what it is

|

Haven't used a lot, but it is exactly what it says it is and performs as expected. Didn't cost a lot and does what I need without fuss.

20 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
smartgirl739

Do not buy

|

We bought this saw in June 2014, my husband used it occasionally and today it's died just 1 month after manufacturer's warranty expired. My husband used to have another brand's saws, not as much advertised as Craftsman and all of them worked for years without problems.

July 27th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Sank22

Does the job

|

Good budget saw for around the house projects. Cuts 2x w/ ease, could probably purchase a better blade. I prefer corded saw over battery powered saws.

June 12th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
55Trucker

Nice saw for the money

|

A little under powered, but it does the job.

June 2nd via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DirtmanV

DO NOT BUY! I regret it...

|

I work in construction, but needed a cheap circular saw for fast home projects on the weekends. What a waste! After only a dozen 2x4 cuts, it stopped working completely. Motor just gave up on me without warning. I work with these types of tools all the time so I know I wasn't asking too much when it quit on me. Don't get me wrong, it had strong clean cuts while it WAS working.
What's worse, I had to jump through so many hoops with the warrantee and repair departmant and they STILL refused to fix it even though it was in the correct warrantee timeframe (less than a year) and I had proof of purchase. In retrospect, I should have known better and bought a name brand saw like a Dewalt or Rigid, but I wanted to save a buck. Learned my lesson pretty quick...

May 19th via sears.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
nsmith2k
| Earned 443 community points in Craftsman
March 10th
VEmpire

Good value

|

Almost all of my tools are craftsman. There are many models within the craftsman family. While this model is not the highest model, it is still a great product, especially for the price.

February 2nd via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tap233

Good product and great price.

|

This craftsman 12 amp circular saw works very well. I got it for my husband for Christmas and he loves it. It has the craftsman name and warranty and a great price.

January 15th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bryan4real

Great value!

|

I am pleased with this purchase and would recommend to anyone on a budget.

January 10th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jameson6

excellent

|

We love this saw. We had one before and loaned it and they never returned. So we bought another one. This is the best saw and a good price. I would recommend it to anyone.

January 9th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dkayy

Good Product

|

Gets the job done! Easy to use and good price.

January 8th via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Monte113

Craftsman Evolv Circular Saw

|

Wonderful, Excellent. Great Price

January 6th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MLduck9

Early impression Evolv 18780

|

Additional info on Evolv 18780:
1) Good news- The saw DOES have a spindle lock. Sears web site specifications says it does not. If the saw lacked a spindle lock it would be a minor pain changing blades, especially blades with small teeth, such as plywood blades.
2) Nice weight- not too light to feel cheaply made, not too heavy to be a pain using like some of the higher amp saws. Manual says saw weights 8.3 lbs, not 8.7 listed in the ad.
3) 12 amps- should be more than sufficient for at least most home projects. This saw replaces a 40 year Skil that was only 9 amps. The 9 amp saw made it through 2 x 4s, 3/4" plywood, etc. with no problems, so a 12 amp should provide all the power I need. I tested on scrap wood and saw performed as advertised.
4) Power cord is 8' long- not stated in the ad specs.
5) Saw is made in China- could not find company name (mfg code 320), but probably would not have been meaningful.
Overall, seems like a good saw, especially for the price.

January 4th via sears.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Cynt75

Ms. Cynthia

|

This was a great economical device for small things to repair

January 3rd via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ccarr612

evolv Compact Circular Saw

|

Great product! Clean and straight cuts right out of the box! Great value as well. Always keep it clean and read the instructions!

December 29th, 2014 via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mast0rs

Drill time

|

Works great, would buy again

December 22nd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Tightos

Not a very good saw

|

The locking mechanism to loosen the bolt that holds the blade in place never locked.........therefore i could not slacken, tighten or change the blade.

December 20th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Telis

Good tool for the Handyman

|

There better professional circular saws available for professionals but this saw is more than good enough for doing jobs around the house. It's compact and easy to handle. It the right tool for me for small to medium type jobs.

December 20th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
VinViral

Excellent

|

Perfect saw for what i needed.

December 18th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? Over 250,000 shopping questions have already been answered on Shop Your Way!
Show all questions
Loyda PS
January 3rd
Answered in 27 minutes
Cynthia Randall
By Cynthia Randall
January 3rd
Luis Deleza
December 3rd, 2014
Answered in 2 hours
ROXANE DAVIS
By ROXANE DAVIS
December 3rd, 2014
barbie.4263
February 1st, 2014
M  I
By M I
February 8th, 2014