Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 190cc* Briggs & Stratton Engine, High Wheel Rear Bag Push Mower
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 190cc* Briggs & Stratton Engine, High Wheel Rear Bag Push Mower

Item# 07137037000P | Model# 37037 | Added on November 4, 2011
(329 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$309.99
$249.88
Rewards
Earn 2,500 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
This Lawn Mower is Built for Fast Pace Cutting
Built for a precise trim, this Craftsman lawn mower features an extended cutting area that reaches beyond the wheels, so whether you’re trimming along a side walk, garden path or flower bed, you have the reach you need to snip every blade exactly. Designed to suit your cutting style, it swaps between bagging, mulching and side discharge, while the simple height adjustments go from 1.25 to 3.75 inches with ease. Built to make getting the grass cut easier and more comfortable, this lawn mower features an EZ empty Dust Blocker™ rear bag, three position ergonomic handle and the dependability of a fast-firing Briggs and Stratton 190cc engine, for sure starts and solid performance at a fast pace. Pull the cord, and get cutting with Craftsman.

  • Briggs & Stratton® Platinum Engine Series 190cc* engine (7.25 ft-lbs gross torque) for dependable starting performance, durability and long life
  • Smooth Start™ Plus delivers easy to pull consistency and surefire starting plus no-prime, no-choke.
  • Precision Plus™ cutting system delivers high-performance bagging and mulching with a durable blade, giving your lawn a manicured appearance
  • 21 in. 3-in-1 deck bags, mulches and discharges
  • Deck design extends beyond wheels for more precise trimming and edging
  • Dual point height adjustments range from 1.25 to 3.75 in. for any lawn or grass type
  • EZ Empty rear bagger with Dust Blocker™ (1.9 Bu) reduces the amount of dust
... read more
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
831 members
Like this product
Martin KarolBurke JennePaula PeperJean MartínezRona GregoryAndrew GordonDONNA KAPLANCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah LopezMichael PakaskiLinda Hannam
820
437 members
Want this product
Martin KarolPaula PeperRona GregoryCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah Lopezdavid demareeJJANNIE MAEWESLEY MULLIGANkeljnorrisDerick
426
185 members
Have this product
Rona GregoryANNIE MAECYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah LopezJacob GietmanCYNTHIA RANDALLpolly1122Jeanine Turnerkathryn balasaRaymond GregoryJon Knutson
174
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Dan GrimmJOHN HANLEYTrace Williamson LinneburMargaret DelanoStephanie StollRenee VanierLASHON ANTHONYELIZABETH SMITHDwan MesserNikita PetersonJames Parker
5M
99 members
Follow this product’s
category
Eric JacobiMatthew GlowackiHelen GibbsJOE LINKKIMBERLY HAVENSDustin ManoDenise BrownJeanette WrightMARTY  FORREST  JRRENA CAPARIDASheila Dalton
88
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (329 Ratings)
Overall score
9.1
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(329 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (162)
  • 4 Stars
    (85)
  • 3 Stars
    (10)
  • 2 Stars
    (13)
  • 1 Star
    (59)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
16 found this review helpful
by JeremyL
March 4th, 2013
I don?t always steal lawn mowers but when I do it?s a Craftsman.

Well it?s March 3rd and my old reliable Craftsman lawn mower is still stolen. Some toolbox swiped it last fall. The grass is getting a bit shaggy. Another week or so and my neighbors will start talking. So off to Sears I go. I did my internet shopping due diligence and decided on the Craftsman 37037. My criteria: I wanted a mower built or at least assembled in the U S of A. I wanted a Briggs and Stratton engine because these were the ones I learned to take apart and rebuild in high school. I wanted torque and displacement, the more the better. I wanted big back wheels because they look cool. I wanted a push mower because men don?t buy self propelled mowers. The web site picture also sported a blue ?recommended? badge. Two extra points for that. Like most men, I don?t limit my mower to just grass. My old mower would take on anything. Sticks, blackberry vines, rocks, sprinkler heads, dog toys, beer cans, you name it. I hope this shiny new mower is half the mower my old one was.

Criticism
15 found this review helpful
by cheweebac
July 12th, 2012
4 Months Old and Already in the Shop

My lawnmower is only 4 months old and it is already in the shop. It has the proper amount of gas and oil and after about 3 minutes of using the mower, it totally blew up and caught on fire. Right in front of the house on the sidewalk. Very embarrassing. Of course I didn't buy the dumb warranty. I feel like throwing this thing in the trash and starting over with another brand. Everything is made out of plastic these days--nothing runs like it used to. I wouldn't buy this mower. It is a piece of crap.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Giftshop4522

Great mower at a good price

Our last Craftsman mower finally failed and we bought this one to replace it. The engine is powerful, and it starts with one pull. It does an exceptional job of mulching the grass, which we love because we never use the baggers that come with mowers. Our last model had a side piece that stuck out and made it difficult to get close to trees and other obstacles. This one has nothing sticking out, so it mows closer. It is solidly built and a bit heavier than our old model, so gives me a workout pushing it. If we had wanted a really easy to push mower, we'd have bought a self-propelled model. I was confused by the addition of a deck-cleaning feature, as I'd never had a mower that could power clean my deck before! Unfortunately, it only helps clean the underside (deck) of the mower. Oh well. Overall, I'm very pleased with this lawn mower.

15 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DIYJeff

Overall, good value and works well.

Looked at many bargain/value lawn mowers and chose this mower for it's feature and engine size. I wanted a push mower as the self propelled are not as maneuverable.

I have cut the lawn (10,00 sq/ft) twice and both times it has been very long 7-8 inches in good portions. Did not even use a full tank of gas and oil is still looking clean.

As for cutting, the mulching, side discharge and bagging all work well. I like that there is a built in diverter for mulching in the bagging door. I wish the side discharge was not another piece, but that is not a big deal. Mulching in the 7-8 grass is slow, but what do you expect? Put it in bagging or side discharge and it can handle a fast pace.

The engine starts/runs well and is much quieter than my older mowers. http://www.briggsandstratton.com/us/en/engines/push-mower-engines/725ex-platinum-series
It seems that B&S has stepped up their game in quality.

Other good features;
The high push handle for a 6ft person.
The washout plug is self sealing
Oil and Gas caps color coded and short twist.

The so-so features are;
The handle is not easily folding, so it is sticking out of my storage area.
No throttle, just keeps a steady RPM.
The front wheel adjustment is quick to drop to the lowest setting and knowing which setting it is on is difficult. It seems to be sturdy enough as other reviewers have stated this has broken.

15 days ago via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bllyconn

a mower for my son

Was very happy with this purchase. I bout this for my son when he bought his first house. He loves the high wheels and was happy to get the big Briggs engine. Should be good for a lon g time. Getting at Sears was a big plus

15 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
craybuck

I like it.

Lightweight and easy for a senior citizen to handle. Assembly was easy .

18 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kdnh

New Lawnmower for the man of the house

It gets the job done!

18 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
christz

junk

I really liked this machine the first few months I owned it . But then it started sputtering after mowing for a while. The second season it chugged along and finally sputtered to a stop, and would not restart. Took it in for an overhaul. It ran for the rest of the season but again started sputtering and stalled out. I've had it in the shop twice and looks like it needs to go back again. Seems like a fuel problem. The carb's been rebuilt already. Unacceptable in a machine I've owned only 2 years. I have changed the oil twice and kept the spark plug clean and replaced the air filter twice. I thought Briggs and Stratton engines were good. The one on my old mower (a Murray) ran great. This is the second Sears I bought that has been a disappointment. They won't see me a third time.

18 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Thomasson13

Great Mower

Let me tell you what a challenge my yard is on a big hill of sand which means it's uneven ground. This mower is amazing.....I just don't know where to start. Incredibly easy to start....almost too easy...amazing. The mower handle is shaped differently from all my other mowers and I love it....and yes it does make a difference. This monster is 190 cc and there can be no denial of it's over all power. The price was right and no delivery charge. It was sent out the same day...also amazing. Obviously I couldn't be happier with my total experience. Buy this bad boy you won't be sorry.

18 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MrCranky

Mower Review

Overall quite good with a few minor issues. No deal breakers. The mower has plenty of power and mows about anything. The handle design and wheel sizes make it very easy to push and maneuver. It is much more comfortable than my old straight handle. It seems to run a bit faster and thus use a bit more gas than my old 6.5 HP, but torque does depend on HP and speed. If you go to B&S's web site you can look up the power and torque curves for all their engines. This one has a nice fairly "flat" torque curve. It cuts and mulches very well and leaves no overclippings. The wheel set up is very good as the blade cut circle is just outside the wheels which makes trimming and full cut width use possible while avoiding overclipping trails. The underneath cleanout hook up for a hose is nice.

The manual is pretty poor. Does not give you much info. But unless this is your first mower ever it's no big deal.

Engine:
Outside it's pretty much a standard B&S. There is no oil change plug in the bottom. It is sealed. You have to change oil by tipping the mower over and draining out the fill pipe. This is a very poor, clumsy method. You better have your oil hot and almost all gas drained out or you will have a mess and not get all the oil out. The gas cap is better than older ones as it does not spill ( vent ) gas when real full to start. It used a lot more gas than my old mower at first, but seems to have broken in and now its just a bit more and a non issue for what it delivers. Twice at first it slowed down on me and quit once which I found was due to low gas , not all the way out, but low. Filled up and no issue. It did stall on me once and started right back up with no issue. See "clippings" below for what I think may be reason. Engine has broken in and overall has about 12-14 hours on it. Last 8-10 hours it has been flawless. It has started every time on the first pull right from the beginning. You do have to take the slack out and give a sharp tug not a slow pull ..... just like any other pull start.

Mower:
I mow at highest setting and have lowered down one notch once. Either way, the right front wheel are spits out grass which lessens as the mower runs longer (?). It is not bad but appears to be an issue with the inside deck baffling design. It does mulch extremely well. The clippings reach a steady level and I have not found it to be an issue. They do however spit all over the gas fill cap. This may be why some folks have had gumming or run issues. I have found I simply need to use a small brush and paper towel to clean it off outside before re-filling and to wipe the underside of the gas cap of grass. Otherwise it will get into the gas system and I'm sure cause issues. Once I started doing this, no issues. Poor design by Mower folks and B&S in coordinating. They say nothing about letting the mower cool before using hose connection. I let mine cool a while before using the hose as cold water on a hot engine can lead to possible cracking

21 days ago via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DPinAZ

Started with 1 pull

Used it for the first time on 9/7/14 so the review might be premature...however, set up out of the box was super easy and it started on the first pull. The lawn was about 12" long in places and this mower powered right through! I started with the highest setting and mowed the yard 3 times, lowering the deck each time. Every time I emptied the catcher the engine had to be stopped, as designed...and it re-started with the first pull each time. If the mower,with routine maintenance, works this well for several years it will have been an excellent purchase!

21 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
KisWat

Not happy...design flaw

It mowed "green" grass ok but mowing dried leaves or grass sent TONS of dried particles all over the engine (through a large space between the back flap and mower body) AND in my face. It was bad while bagging but REALLY bad in mulch mode. I've owned a few Craftsmen mowers in the past and have been happy but THIS mower NOT. Plus, the deck clean-out just leaked water all over the TOP of the deck and got just a little water under the deck. VERY disappointed, returned product.

25 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
annmolin

craftsman lawnmower

This product works great

26 days ago via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JM-Mass

Wouldn't stay running

Started on first pull, and sort of ran OK on day 1 but sputtered. A week later would not stay running more than 4 seconds. Brand new gas, with Sta-Bil packet provided. Changed gas and cleaned carb bowl as recommended by Briggs&Stratton warranty service shop, now would stay running for maybe 6-8 seconds. Had to return it. I really wanted to do business with Sears but ended up buying another brand at another store.

27 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CAbornNCliving

Great lawnmower for anyone

My 10 year old craftsman lawnmower was getting hard to start. Picked this one up a Sears and love it. Starts easily with one easy pull on the cord. The over sized rear wheels make turning a breeze. It literally 'turns on a dime'. Have not used the under deck water flush/clean system yet, but like the idea. The ergonomic handle is a nice feature. I also like that the gas cap has a leash, so you never lose it.

August 29th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Stasy

Good Purchase.

This is a fine lawn mower. It starts easily which was one of the most important things for me. I could never get my last mower started.

August 29th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jjgailha

Hard to start

This Briggs and Stratton engine is BS. Cuts good when it runs. These engines have no primer or choke. If you pull the cord and it doesn't start be prepared to tear it apart. Won't start when the engine is hot. So when you need to empty the grass catcher you have to leave the engine running or wait 30 min if you shut it off for it to start again. Save yourself a lot of frustration and pass on any mower with a BS platinum engine.

August 25th via craftsman.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Kulsoom

Dies after few moments but then comes back up later.

I bought the 190cc thinking it would be strong & mighty. But when I mow on tough areas, the mower simply powers off! And then after reversing it, & 'pampering' it some bit it eventually always come back - so far. It's merely a month old right now. I haven't given it 1 star since so far it does manage to come back. But it's a pain to restart it so many times.

August 25th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dldesroches

Great Mower

Easy to use, wife mows often. Cleans up nicely.

August 21st via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
lawnmom

GREAT BUY!!!

I wasn't in need of another lawnmower but as I was looking around in Sears, I came upon the lawn mower. It had some features I like. The self propelled is a must and the ease of starting it. Most good quality lawn mowers run an awful lot, but this was on sale for around $200.00. I called my husband and we decided to make the purchase to have a second lawnmower. It has been a great addition to our yard tools. I am happy with the purchase and even happier I have two lawn mowers and the yard get done twice as fast. LOL

August 21st via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Reuvenpdx

Lawn mower

I am really happy with the purchase of my new lawnmower it's easy to start starts the first time every time I'm glad I purchased it!

August 19th via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Combatshadow

Good solid mower

My second one. Simple and sturdy.

August 18th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Clifford West
can i get the serial number on items purchased if i have receipt?
by Clifford West 
July 25th
Member Assist
Posted by Christopher M. from Sears Spotsylvania Mall:

Each serial number is different. If you had it repaired before the service department should have record of your serial number. Call 18004694663 and provide them with your phone number and they should be able to give your model and serial numbers. Have a nice day

Need Further Assistance? Check out my page ma.syw.net?a=ChristopherHelp001
by Member Assist
July 26th
| Be the first to comment
SCOTT COOPER
I paid 249.99 for this in sore but online it is 224.99. Can you adjust my purchase price or do I have to return this and buy it again at 224.99?
by SCOTT COOPER 
March 24th
Karen Schelm
I could not access the other link, so just in case your question was not answered. You can take your receipt into the store and they can do a price adjustment to match the sears or kmart online price.
Answered in 24 hours
by Karen Schelm
March 25th
| Be the first to comment
KATIE BRUHL
When I bought this mower, there was supposed to be a rebate. The cashier told us it would be through my email address. How can i see the rebate?
by KATIE BRUHL 
September 8th, 2013
Millie
Hi! Was it Sears or Sears.com? If yes do this: Step 1- Go up and click on the orange letters that are the name of this item. That will take you to it's Sears.com listing page. Step 2- On this page see the tab that says "Special Offers"? That's the tab you need open to read. Click on the words in blue "View More Offers". The only other info I found was on this page: sears.com/shc/s/nb_10153_12608_NB_CSrebates?adCell=A3&redirectType=BRAT_RULE&prop17=rebate%20center#Receiving your rebate . If your answer is not online call the store where you made your purchase and ask them about the rebate. Hope that helps!
Answered in 1 hours
by Millie
September 8th, 2013
| Be the first to comment