Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 190cc* Briggs & Stratton Engine, High Wheel Rear Bag Push Mower 50 States
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 190cc* Briggs & Stratton Engine, High Wheel Rear Bag Push Mower 50 States

Item# 07137037000P | Model# 37037 | Added on November 4, 2011
(321 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$309.99
$246.99
Rewards
Earn 2,470 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
This Lawn Mower is Built for Fast Pace Cutting
Built for a precise trim, this Craftsman lawn mower features an extended cutting area that reaches beyond the wheels, so whether you’re trimming along a side walk, garden path or flower bed, you have the reach you need to snip every blade exactly. Designed to suit your cutting style, it swaps between bagging, mulching and side discharge, while the simple height adjustments go from 1.25 to 3.75 inches with ease. Built to make getting the grass cut easier and more comfortable, this lawn mower features an EZ empty Dust Blocker™ rear bag, three position ergonomic handle and the dependability of a fast-firing Briggs and Stratton 190cc engine, for sure starts and solid performance at a fast pace. Pull the cord, and get cutting with Craftsman.

  • Briggs & Stratton® Platinum Engine Series 190cc* engine (7.25 ft-lbs gross torque) for dependable starting performance, durability and long life
  • Smooth Start™ Plus delivers easy to pull consistency and surefire starting plus no-prime, no-choke.
  • Precision Plus™ cutting system delivers high-performance bagging and mulching with a durable blade, giving your lawn a manicured appearance
  • 21 in. 3-in-1 deck bags, mulches and discharges
  • Deck design extends beyond wheels for more precise trimming and edging
  • Dual point height adjustments range from 1.25 to 3.75 in. for any lawn or grass type
  • EZ Empty rear bagger with Dust Blocker™ (1.9 Bu) reduces the amount of dust
... read more
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
827 members
Like this product
Martin KarolBurke JennePaula PeperJean MartínezRona GregoryAndrew GordonDONNA KAPLANCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah LopezMichael PakaskiLinda Hannam
816
435 members
Want this product
Martin Karoldavid demareeJJPaula PeperRona GregoryANNIE MAECYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah LopezWESLEY MULLIGANkeljnorrisDerick
424
185 members
Have this product
Jacob GietmanRona GregoryANNIE MAECYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah LopezCYNTHIA RANDALLVeronica Leepolly1122Jeanine Turnerkathryn balasaRaymond Gregory
174
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Dan GrimmJOHN HANLEYTrace Williamson LinneburMargaret DelanoRenee VanierLASHON ANTHONYELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaNikita PetersonJames Parker
5M
96 members
Follow this product’s
category
Eric JacobiMatthew GlowackiHelen GibbsJOE LINKDenise BrownJeanette WrightBlake WalkupDavid T. ReidMARTY  FORREST  JRRENA CAPARIDASheila Dalton
85
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (321 Ratings)
Overall score
9.1
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(321 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (157)
  • 4 Stars
    (83)
  • 3 Stars
    (10)
  • 2 Stars
    (13)
  • 1 Star
    (58)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
16 found this review helpful
by JeremyL
March 4th, 2013
I don?t always steal lawn mowers but when I do it?s a Craftsman.

Well it?s March 3rd and my old reliable Craftsman lawn mower is still stolen. Some toolbox swiped it last fall. The grass is getting a bit shaggy. Another week or so and my neighbors will start talking. So off to Sears I go. I did my internet shopping due diligence and decided on the Craftsman 37037. My criteria: I wanted a mower built or at least assembled in the U S of A. I wanted a Briggs and Stratton engine because these were the ones I learned to take apart and rebuild in high school. I wanted torque and displacement, the more the better. I wanted big back wheels because they look cool. I wanted a push mower because men don?t buy self propelled mowers. The web site picture also sported a blue ?recommended? badge. Two extra points for that. Like most men, I don?t limit my mower to just grass. My old mower would take on anything. Sticks, blackberry vines, rocks, sprinkler heads, dog toys, beer cans, you name it. I hope this shiny new mower is half the mower my old one was.

Criticism
15 found this review helpful
by cheweebac
July 12th, 2012
4 Months Old and Already in the Shop

My lawnmower is only 4 months old and it is already in the shop. It has the proper amount of gas and oil and after about 3 minutes of using the mower, it totally blew up and caught on fire. Right in front of the house on the sidewalk. Very embarrassing. Of course I didn't buy the dumb warranty. I feel like throwing this thing in the trash and starting over with another brand. Everything is made out of plastic these days--nothing runs like it used to. I wouldn't buy this mower. It is a piece of crap.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
MrCranky

Mower Review

Overall quite good with a few minor issues. No deal breakers. The mower has plenty of power and mows about anything. The handle design and wheel sizes make it very easy to push and maneuver. It is much more comfortable than my old straight handle. It seems to run a bit faster and thus use a bit more gas than my old 6.5 HP, but torque does depend on HP and speed. If you go to B&S's web site you can look up the power and torque curves for all their engines. This one has a nice fairly "flat" torque curve. It cuts and mulches very well and leaves no overclippings. The wheel set up is very good as the blade cut circle is just outside the wheels which makes trimming and full cut width use possible while avoiding overclipping trails. The underneath cleanout hook up for a hose is nice.

The manual is pretty poor. Does not give you much info. But unless this is your first mower ever it's no big deal.

Engine:
Outside it's pretty much a standard B&S. There is no oil change plug in the bottom. It is sealed. You have to change oil by tipping the mower over and draining out the fill pipe. This is a very poor, clumsy method. You better have your oil hot and almost all gas drained out or you will have a mess and not get all the oil out. The gas cap is better than older ones as it does not spill ( vent ) gas when real full to start. It used a lot more gas than my old mower at first, but seems to have broken in and now its just a bit more and a non issue for what it delivers. Twice at first it slowed down on me and quit once which I found was due to low gas , not all the way out, but low. Filled up and no issue. It did stall on me once and started right back up with no issue. See "clippings" below for what I think may be reason. Engine has broken in and overall has about 12-14 hours on it. Last 8-10 hours it has been flawless. It has started every time on the first pull right from the beginning. You do have to take the slack out and give a sharp tug not a slow pull ..... just like any other pull start.

Mower:
I mow at highest setting and have lowered down one notch once. Either way, the right front wheel are spits out grass which lessens as the mower runs longer (?). It is not bad but appears to be an issue with the inside deck baffling design. It does mulch extremely well. The clippings reach a steady level and I have not found it to be an issue. They do however spit all over the gas fill cap. This may be why some folks have had gumming or run issues. I have found I simply need to use a small brush and paper towel to clean it off outside before re-filling and to wipe the underside of the gas cap of grass. Otherwise it will get into the gas system and I'm sure cause issues. Once I started doing this, no issues. Poor design by Mower folks and B&S in coordinating. They say nothing about letting the mower cool before using hose connection. I let mine cool a while before using the hose as cold water on a hot engine can lead to possible cracking

10 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
KisWat

Not happy...design flaw

It mowed "green" grass ok but mowing dried leaves or grass sent TONS of dried particles all over the engine (through a large space between the back flap and mower body) AND in my face. It was bad while bagging but REALLY bad in mulch mode. I've owned a few Craftsmen mowers in the past and have been happy but THIS mower NOT. Plus, the deck clean-out just leaked water all over the TOP of the deck and got just a little water under the deck. VERY disappointed, returned product.

14 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
annmolin

craftsman lawnmower

This product works great

15 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JM-Mass

Wouldn't stay running

Started on first pull, and sort of ran OK on day 1 but sputtered. A week later would not stay running more than 4 seconds. Brand new gas, with Sta-Bil packet provided. Changed gas and cleaned carb bowl as recommended by Briggs&Stratton warranty service shop, now would stay running for maybe 6-8 seconds. Had to return it. I really wanted to do business with Sears but ended up buying another brand at another store.

16 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CAbornNCliving

Great lawnmower for anyone

My 10 year old craftsman lawnmower was getting hard to start. Picked this one up a Sears and love it. Starts easily with one easy pull on the cord. The over sized rear wheels make turning a breeze. It literally 'turns on a dime'. Have not used the under deck water flush/clean system yet, but like the idea. The ergonomic handle is a nice feature. I also like that the gas cap has a leash, so you never lose it.

21 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Stasy

Good Purchase.

This is a fine lawn mower. It starts easily which was one of the most important things for me. I could never get my last mower started.

21 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jjgailha

Hard to start

This Briggs and Stratton engine is BS. Cuts good when it runs. These engines have no primer or choke. If you pull the cord and it doesn't start be prepared to tear it apart. Won't start when the engine is hot. So when you need to empty the grass catcher you have to leave the engine running or wait 30 min if you shut it off for it to start again. Save yourself a lot of frustration and pass on any mower with a BS platinum engine.

25 days ago via craftsman.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Kulsoom

Dies after few moments but then comes back up later.

I bought the 190cc thinking it would be strong & mighty. But when I mow on tough areas, the mower simply powers off! And then after reversing it, & 'pampering' it some bit it eventually always come back - so far. It's merely a month old right now. I haven't given it 1 star since so far it does manage to come back. But it's a pain to restart it so many times.

25 days ago via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dldesroches

Great Mower

Easy to use, wife mows often. Cleans up nicely.

29 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
lawnmom

GREAT BUY!!!

I wasn't in need of another lawnmower but as I was looking around in Sears, I came upon the lawn mower. It had some features I like. The self propelled is a must and the ease of starting it. Most good quality lawn mowers run an awful lot, but this was on sale for around $200.00. I called my husband and we decided to make the purchase to have a second lawnmower. It has been a great addition to our yard tools. I am happy with the purchase and even happier I have two lawn mowers and the yard get done twice as fast. LOL

29 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Reuvenpdx

Lawn mower

I am really happy with the purchase of my new lawnmower it's easy to start starts the first time every time I'm glad I purchased it!

August 19th via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Combatshadow

Good solid mower

My second one. Simple and sturdy.

August 18th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
awc31563

Very Nice

I replaced a Craftsman 6.5 that lasted over ten years with this. It has a nice solid feel to it with a good gripping handle. The motor is mounted a little towards the front of the mower deck, which makes it feel perfectly balanced and light. With the high wheels in the back it's easy to maneuver. Cuts close on all sides of the mower. I can feel much more power from this engine than the 6.5 and it mulches up the grass as about as good as you could want it to. The grass clippings are non existent on the forward push but it does leave some small piles on the back drag. The handle doesn't fold up as easy as the 6.5 did, you have to take the bolts all the way out on this one, instead of just loosening them. It's a minor issue and I'll figure a way to fix it. As far as the price, you can't even buy the engine itself for what I paid for the mower, so we're happy all the way around.

As far as the no start reviews, bad gas is the root of all your evils. This is true for any small engine, the fuel goes through tiny passages and if there's any gum in it, you'll be cleaning the carburetor instead of mowing the yard.

August 18th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
rbtwright

Good Choice!

So light and easy to use. Cranks with barely one pull.

August 14th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Lategreat3fan

This lawnmower is the Cadillac of lawnmowers!!

This lawnmower has features that make it so much easier to use than any of my previous mowers. The handle has a V-shape in the center for better gripping while pushing and there is no primer button to push which is better since you don't have to worry about flooding it and then having it not start. This mower also has a feature allowing you to hook a hose to the base of it to wash all the cut grass off the blades and keep it in better running condition. I absolutely love my new mower.

August 14th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mhbmusic

Decent mower for price

Got the mower in good condition. Pretty easy to put together. Came with bottle of engine oil which was super nice. Filled with gas and started first pull. Can't ask for more. Pretty easy to push. The hose attachment for cleaning I couldn't get to work yet. I'll read instructions, but thought that was only downside. So far so good.

August 14th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mccoydj1

Seems like a good mower

August 13th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pearlbaby

Lawn mover

All I can tell you is my godson pick it our and he likes using it

August 13th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ShadowHill

Good value if on sale

This is our second mower of this model. The previous one ran for 7 hrs and then broke internally. We have higher hopes for this one.

August 11th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PROUDHAWAIIAN

AWESOME MOWER

The 190cc Briggs And Stratton Engine - High Wheel Rear Bag Push Mower 50 Is Above And Beyond Totally Awesome ! Cuts Likes Nothing I Have Ever Used Or Owned Ever ! MOWS - CUTS - LIKE 1 BEAST ! COULD NOT HAVE GOTTEN A BETTER MOWER ! THANK U SEARS ! ( PLEASE GET YOUR PICK UP AND ONLINE TOO WORK BETTER - SO THE CUSTOMER DON'T HAVE TO GO STORE TO WAREHOUSE = LOTS OF WASTED TIME :-( . ) aloha no ! ! MOWER IS A 5 STAR ! ! P/U SERVICE IS A 1 STAR = 3 STAR TOTAL

August 6th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Clifford West
can i get the serial number on items purchased if i have receipt?
by Clifford West 
July 25th
Member Assist
Posted by Christopher M. from Sears Spotsylvania Mall:

Each serial number is different. If you had it repaired before the service department should have record of your serial number. Call 18004694663 and provide them with your phone number and they should be able to give your model and serial numbers. Have a nice day

Need Further Assistance? Check out my page ma.syw.net?a=ChristopherHelp001
by Member Assist
July 26th
| Be the first to comment
SCOTT COOPER
I paid 249.99 for this in sore but online it is 224.99. Can you adjust my purchase price or do I have to return this and buy it again at 224.99?
by SCOTT COOPER 
March 24th
Karen Schelm
I could not access the other link, so just in case your question was not answered. You can take your receipt into the store and they can do a price adjustment to match the sears or kmart online price.
Answered in 24 hours
by Karen Schelm
March 25th
| Be the first to comment
KATIE BRUHL
When I bought this mower, there was supposed to be a rebate. The cashier told us it would be through my email address. How can i see the rebate?
by KATIE BRUHL 
September 8th, 2013
Millie
Hi! Was it Sears or Sears.com? If yes do this: Step 1- Go up and click on the orange letters that are the name of this item. That will take you to it's Sears.com listing page. Step 2- On this page see the tab that says "Special Offers"? That's the tab you need open to read. Click on the words in blue "View More Offers". The only other info I found was on this page: sears.com/shc/s/nb_10153_12608_NB_CSrebates?adCell=A3&redirectType=BRAT_RULE&prop17=rebate%20center#Receiving your rebate . If your answer is not online call the store where you made your purchase and ask them about the rebate. Hope that helps!
Answered in 1 hours
by Millie
September 8th, 2013
| Be the first to comment