Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 22" Hedge Trimmer
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 22" Hedge Trimmer

Item# 07179639000P | Model# 79639 | Added on March 19, 2011 | Seller: Sears.com
(137 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$229.99
$195.69
Rewards
You can earn:1,957 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
22" Gas Hedge Trimmer Cuts up to 1" for Fast Work
Your jobs get done efficiently with the Craftsman 22" gas hedge trimmer. The trimmer features a 22" dual action stainless steel blade that cuts up to 1". The equipment is stylish with a red and black body. Enjoy the trimmer's full crank, which means less fatigue for you and less wear and tear on the gas-powered engine. You can trust fully in Craftsman, a recognized leader in the tool industry.
The Sim-Pull feature of the 22" gas hedge trimmer also reduces your fatigue. This valuable attribute makes the cord easier to start. Once in motion, enjoy how the AV system reduces vibration, so you get smooth motion job after job. A rotating rear handle increases its ease of use too, while a debris shield keeps trimmings from spraying across your clothing and face. The 11 lb. Craftsman gas hedge trimmer has a 28cc motor for impressive power that gets you quickly through your yard work. The trimmer comes fully assembled with a 2-year limited warranty.

  • Craftsman 22" gas hedge trimmer has a full crank, so you get yard work done with less fatigue as well as less wear and tear on the gas-powered machine
  • Stylish in red and black
  • 22" dual action stainless steel blade cuts up to 1", for efficient work
  • Sim-Pull feature makes cord easier to start than competitors that lack the pull feature
  • AV system reduces vibration
  • Debris shield keeps clippings off your face and clothes
  • 11 lb. weight with powerful 28cc motor
  • Uses mix of gas
... read more
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
103 members
Like this product
Christie RughDonald Schimizzikathryn balasaF  MillerBarbara Ann GrahamBRENDA M TENEYCKmaria powersLisa KonieczkeBeth TallentVeda Kunkle
93
95 members
Want this product
Melissa Snyder Concierge Personal Shopper In Care of Aiden's JourneyCourtney Flynn MolsenDonald SchimizziAnthony StricklerAntioch Sears StoreLISA HIGGINSF  MillerBRENDA M TENEYCKAngela  FarooquiTiffani IrwinCharlie B
84
35 members
Have this product
Angela  Farooquifigmentnebr figmentnebrPatrick Traudt
32
8 members
Follow this product's
category
Damon RothertAdelina Rosa Personal ShopperTINA MILLORLARRY MATTHEWSBLANCA LOPEZ
3
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (137 Ratings)
Overall score
10.0
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(137 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (49)
  • 4 Stars
    (19)
  • 3 Stars
    (2)
  • 2 Stars
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (7)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by Richieb20
December 24th, 2012
Works very well...horrific exhaust though ...

I love sears products and I have 20 years of trimming experience with many different brands... Pros are easy start and tons of power with 22" blade...major defect is the noxious exhaust!!!! I have to wear a mask using it!! I thought at first I mixed the gas wrong but have used this 10+ times and absolutely wreak of gas fumes after every use..thought I was going to pass out using it several times. I wish I had returned it in the beginning but needed it on that day to trim three properties ... I may weld a longer exhaust pipe on it or sell it. Unfortunatly other brands like echo are 2xs the cost. I suggest to anyone using it to wear a heavy noxious fumes mask.

Criticism
4 found this review helpful
by chuckle595
November 29th, 2014
Don't buy It. Temporary Use

Used it about 10 times over a 1-year period and the motor seized. I sent it in for repairs and they blamed me for the problem. I still have my Ryobi Hedge Trimmer which is 15-years old and operating, along with other gas powered equipment that are old and still running. I resented being told that I created the problem. The problem is with the Hedge Trimmer not my use of it. When it was working this was the best hedge trimmer I ever used. It absolutely worked fantastic. Unfortunately after a 1-year period of use Sears does not back it up. They'd repair it for the price of a new one. I told them to send me back the old one without repairs. Now I'll have to find a manufacturer that has something comparable that backs up their product. "Sears Doesn't"

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Goatfrog

Powerful but heavy

|

I have used many electric hedge trimmers over the years but this is my first gas hedge trimmer and I have to say it is impressive. I was cutting through rather large limbs of my burning bushes with the greatest of ease. I realize a hedge trimmer is not intended to cut through thick hedge limbs, but it is definitely a bonus that it can. The only downside is that this little power horse is heavy when used over longer periods of time. I used it for about 30-60 minutes today and my left arm is feeling it now. I am not the strongest guy I will admit, but I have used gas weed eaters and chain saws for longer with less arm fatigue than this unit caused. On the plus side it gives you a good workout just from trimming hedges. I would definitely recommend this hedge trimmer to friends and family.

27 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
trucks1981

Makes me sick after use.

|

This trimmer operates good. The problem is smoking and if you wear light color clothes the bottom of trimmer rubs against them it destroys then with exhaust oil & gas coming from the over fueled carb. The oil that come with the trimmer and one gal. of gas was mixed properly. I used it one time and sent it back for excessive smoking repair that was denied, cost $50.00 . I could not get anyone to help, so I paid. They said oil and gas mixture was the problem! I picked it up. Took it home mixed hi octane gas 50:1 oil mix then run it for about 35 minutes trimming. Now I'm sick my eyes are burning, pants destroyed from stains, took a shower to get rid of the smoke smell. Less then 1 year old no help. If i send it back it will cost $50.00 more, then I could have bought a better quality trimmer for the same price. I have to get rid if it, it is making me SICK.

June 22nd via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bigbobl76

Hedge trimmer

|

Bought this because I needed more power than an electric trimmer. It was a good call this thing goes through everything!!

June 4th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Will.I.Am

Great Hedger!!!!

|

This gas hedger is great, the handle will swivel so you can get some really accurate cuts. It also cuts branches I thought that were impossible. I'm just amazed at how great this hedger has worked out for.

March 26th via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
skwhitfield

Love this product!

|

Much easier to use this gas trimmer over an electric type. The only slight problem for me, must take breaks because it is heavy.

February 23rd via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Josephanthony321

An excellent purchase

|

I used to use a corded trimmer but this one is much less of a hassle to use. It also cuts through the bushes much faster than my corded trimmer did. The exhaust fumes are not that bad. It does get a lil heavy after a while of use but not too bad either. I should have bought this sooner!

February 11th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
danielstrimmer

greatproduct

|

light weight - easy to use

January 13th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
stacypilot

Outstanding trimmer

|

Cuts inch thick as advertised. Strong motor and although it is heavy, handles everything I have fed it so far.

December 2nd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
chuckle595

Don't buy It. Temporary Use

|

Used it about 10 times over a 1-year period and the motor seized. I sent it in for repairs and they blamed me for the problem.

I still have my Ryobi Hedge Trimmer which is 15-years old and operating, along with other gas powered equipment that are old and still running.

I resented being told that I created the problem. The problem is with the Hedge Trimmer not my use of it.

When it was working this was the best hedge trimmer I ever used. It absolutely worked fantastic.

Unfortunately after a 1-year period of use Sears does not back it up.

They'd repair it for the price of a new one. I told them to send me back the old one without repairs.

Now I'll have to find a manufacturer that has something comparable that backs up their product. "Sears Doesn't"




November 29th, 2014 via sears.com
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Douger1

This hedge trimmer was easy to prime and start, and easy to handle.

|

The unit is easy to handle although a little heavy for long term use at height. The only issue using this at height is the exhaust fumes. If doing work at a height above chest height I would suggest a suitable respirator.

October 24th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
juneavon

22" Hedge Trimmer

|

My husband loves. Works great Light weight.

October 18th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
g1l1adams

The best trimmers I have ever owned

|

October 7th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
outdoordick

hedge trimmer

|

Only used it once, seemed to perform satisfactory.

September 8th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
lesnoy

works well

|

August 22nd, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JRdog

Recommend!

|

I bought this for my husband after he cut the electric cord with the electric trimmer! This trimmer gets the job done with ease. It's powerful and easy to start. He complains about it being a bit heavy, however, he has a bad back.

August 21st, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dkwilson

Time saver.

|

Replaced an electric hedge trimmer. No more extension cords and took about a third the time. No problem cutting through any of my shrubs. Like the adjustable handle great for cutting different angles of the shrubs. No problem with exhaust like some of the other reviews. Very east to start. Loved how easy it was to cut all my shrubs and made them look better than they have ever looked.

August 14th, 2014 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
thehedgeman

craftsman 22" hedge trimmer

|

THIS EXCELLENT HEDGE TRIMMER IS THE BEST

June 26th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
papaw64

Hedge Trimmer

|

Easy to start and easy to use. Have used it several times and it is a very good, hard working trimmer. I would recommend it to anyone.

June 19th, 2014 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CoastLawnMaint.

Hedger stopped working in the first 10 minutes of use

|

I purchased this hedger a couple of weeks ago and first used it to trim a jasmine bush, nothing heavy duty. Within the first ten minutes of use, the hedger jammed and I could not get it to work again.

June 12th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
2011Mocha

One of the best buys I've made when it comes to yard work.

|

bought this trimmer to replace one I bought a few years ago. it works like a charm. The power this piece of equipment has really cut the time it normally takes to trim my hedges in half. Now instead of trimming the hedges every two or three weeks, I do it every week now.

June 3rd, 2014 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? 70% of Shop Your Way questions are answered in less than 24 hours!
Show all questions
Gail Studley
June 20th, 2014
Answered in 3 hours
ROXANE DAVIS
Good Morning Gail! In order to fully assist you we will need your order number. Please contact us by phone at 1-800-366-3028.
By ROXANE DAVIS
June 20th, 2014