Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 22" 28cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 22" 28cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Item# 07179639000P | Model# 79639 | Added on March 19, 2011 | Seller: Sears.com
(83 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$229.99
$179.99
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 1,800 points
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Get Power and Performance from the Craftsman 22" Gas Hedge Trimmer
You can forget about dying batteries and annoying power cords when you use this 22 in. Gas Dual Action Hedge Trimmer. With this Craftsman trimmer, you can cut and shape your bushes, shrubs and hedges with ease. The ample 22 in. dual action, stainless steel blade slices through branches and shrubs up to an inch in diameter, so you can attack even old woody shrubs knowing your gas trimmer is up to the job. The Sim-Pulll feature ensures you get an easy startup each time you use this handy power tool. The AV feature saves your wrists and arms from stress as it reduces the vibrations seen in similar trimmers.

  • This 22" Gas Dual Action Hedge Trimmer comes with a sturdy, dual action, stainless steel blade
  • This Craftsman gas hedge trimmer has a full crank for long lasting wear
  • You can get into tight spots with the rotating rear handle that lets you maneuver your trimmer exactly where you want it to be
  • The AV system ensures less vibrations that the average trimmer for ease in operation
  • This product is not available for purchase in the state of California
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
115 members added this product to Things I Like
Christie RughDonald Schimizzikathryn balasaFrank MBarbara Ann GrahamBRENDA M TENEYCKmaria powersLisa KonieczkeBeth TallentVeda KunkleKeith C
104
106 members added this product to My Wishlist
Melissa Snyder Concierge Personal Shopper In Care of Aiden's JourneyCourtney Flynn MolsenDonald SchimizziAnthony StricklerLISA HIGGINSFrank MBRENDA M TENEYCKTiffani IrwinJohn VaughanBLONDIE L MCKINLEY
96
46 members added this product to My Things
Katherine EckfeldtAngela FarooquiDAVID BOLESPatrick Traudt
42
5M members
Follow this product's
brand
INTERNATIONAL COUNTYGeorge Ragleashly acostaLINDA NORRISDanielle HortonCyndi GangestadLEAH HOUTBUB POLSTONMichelle ClayCheryl ReichFAWN LOCKLEAR
5M
9 members
Follow this product's
category
RANDY FURRYBig Mike DillonMark ZelachowskiSCOTT LEMONCim PowellMARINA CARVALHOAUDREY CAMPBELLrwjenkins rwjenkinsSHIRLEY NELSON

Overall Rating:

Average:
(83 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (53)
  • 4 Stars
    (20)
  • 3 Stars
    (3)
  • 2 Stars
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (7)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by Richieb20
December 24th, 2012
Works very well...horrific exhaust though ...

I love sears products and I have 20 years of trimming experience with many different brands... Pros are easy start and tons of power with 22" blade...major defect is the noxious exhaust!!!! I have to wear a mask using it!! I thought at first I mixed the gas wrong but have used this 10+ times and absolutely wreak of gas fumes after every use..thought I was going to pass out using it several times. I wish I had returned it in the beginning but needed it on that day to trim three properties ... I may weld a longer exhaust pipe on it or sell it. Unfortunatly other brands like echo are 2xs the cost. I suggest to anyone using it to wear a heavy noxious fumes mask.

Criticism
4 found this review helpful
by chuckle595
November 29th, 2014
Don't buy It. Temporary Use

Used it about 10 times over a 1-year period and the motor seized. I sent it in for repairs and they blamed me for the problem. I still have my Ryobi Hedge Trimmer which is 15-years old and operating, along with other gas powered equipment that are old and still running. I resented being told that I created the problem. The problem is with the Hedge Trimmer not my use of it. When it was working this was the best hedge trimmer I ever used. It absolutely worked fantastic. Unfortunately after a 1-year period of use Sears does not back it up. They'd repair it for the price of a new one. I told them to send me back the old one without repairs. Now I'll have to find a manufacturer that has something comparable that backs up their product. "Sears Doesn't"

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Pred

Great hedge trimmer

|

We have a pretty big yard and this tool works wonders.

October 20th, 2015 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
HEATHER CLARK
| Earned 8 community points in Craftsman

Wear a mask and protective clothing and it'll work out just fine!

|

Great power and lightweight...but all the reviews are true...horrible exhaust and smell and residue on clothes. Have only used it once since purchase so hoping that it's a temporary first-use 'thing' but I doubt it...

October 15th, 2015
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bigmacattack0723

Awesome hedge trimmer

|

Adjusts easily to all angles. Powerful enough to get the job done...light enough to be comfortable. Cuts mall branches with ease....Blackberry bushes are no match. only started with all the possibilities to use this tool . Easy starting..

August 31st, 2015 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
oscarluvelaine

A helping hand

|

This trimmer is a helping hand. My husband and I trim a lot of bushes. I suffer with fibromyalgia..my wrist and hands are always in pain...this helps a lot. Sear products are always #1 and Sears has alwsys stood behind their products. I'm 61 but I have used Sears products all my life. Call it a family thing. Miss the Wish book.s

August 24th, 2015 via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
oscarluvelaine

Helping hand

|

Love this trimmer....we trim a lot of bushes and this trimmer have made our life easiermer

August 24th, 2015 via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
peterbuchanan1A

blades to tight.

|

These were the best deal for the money. This tool works fine for pruning and cuts large limbs. Not that heavy and balanced well. However blades are to tight even with sufficient lube, I hope they will slide easier with use and time. The fact that the blades do not slide well causes the use of excessive engine throttle and excessive exhaust fumes and gas consumption . To early to make any real evaluation as to longevity or quality, although seems well made . I always give Craftsman the benefit of the doubt and will continue to use and see how time takes it's toll.I do not recommend this tool but I do not discourage it either, it is what it is. If the blades loosen it has the potential to be a good tool.

July 25th, 2015 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Goatfrog

Powerful but heavy

|

I have used many electric hedge trimmers over the years but this is my first gas hedge trimmer and I have to say it is impressive. I was cutting through rather large limbs of my burning bushes with the greatest of ease. I realize a hedge trimmer is not intended to cut through thick hedge limbs, but it is definitely a bonus that it can. The only downside is that this little power horse is heavy when used over longer periods of time. I used it for about 30-60 minutes today and my left arm is feeling it now. I am not the strongest guy I will admit, but I have used gas weed eaters and chain saws for longer with less arm fatigue than this unit caused. On the plus side it gives you a good workout just from trimming hedges. I would definitely recommend this hedge trimmer to friends and family.

July 4th, 2015 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
trucks1981

Makes me sick after use.

|

This trimmer operates good. The problem is smoking and if you wear light color clothes the bottom of trimmer rubs against them it destroys then with exhaust oil & gas coming from the over fueled carb. The oil that come with the trimmer and one gal. of gas was mixed properly. I used it one time and sent it back for excessive smoking repair that was denied, cost $50.00 . I could not get anyone to help, so I paid. They said oil and gas mixture was the problem! I picked it up. Took it home mixed hi octane gas 50:1 oil mix then run it for about 35 minutes trimming. Now I'm sick my eyes are burning, pants destroyed from stains, took a shower to get rid of the smoke smell. Less then 1 year old no help. If i send it back it will cost $50.00 more, then I could have bought a better quality trimmer for the same price. I have to get rid if it, it is making me SICK.

June 22nd, 2015 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bigbobl76

Hedge trimmer

|

Bought this because I needed more power than an electric trimmer. It was a good call this thing goes through everything!!

June 4th, 2015 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Will.I.Am

Great Hedger!!!!

|

This gas hedger is great, the handle will swivel so you can get some really accurate cuts. It also cuts branches I thought that were impossible. I'm just amazed at how great this hedger has worked out for.

March 26th, 2015 via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
skwhitfield

Love this product!

|

Much easier to use this gas trimmer over an electric type. The only slight problem for me, must take breaks because it is heavy.

February 23rd, 2015 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Josephanthony321

An excellent purchase

|

I used to use a corded trimmer but this one is much less of a hassle to use. It also cuts through the bushes much faster than my corded trimmer did. The exhaust fumes are not that bad. It does get a lil heavy after a while of use but not too bad either. I should have bought this sooner!

February 11th, 2015 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
danielstrimmer

greatproduct

|

light weight - easy to use

January 13th, 2015 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
stacypilot

Outstanding trimmer

|

Cuts inch thick as advertised. Strong motor and although it is heavy, handles everything I have fed it so far.

December 2nd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
chuckle595

Don't buy It. Temporary Use

|

Used it about 10 times over a 1-year period and the motor seized. I sent it in for repairs and they blamed me for the problem.

I still have my Ryobi Hedge Trimmer which is 15-years old and operating, along with other gas powered equipment that are old and still running.

I resented being told that I created the problem. The problem is with the Hedge Trimmer not my use of it.

When it was working this was the best hedge trimmer I ever used. It absolutely worked fantastic.

Unfortunately after a 1-year period of use Sears does not back it up.

They'd repair it for the price of a new one. I told them to send me back the old one without repairs.

Now I'll have to find a manufacturer that has something comparable that backs up their product. "Sears Doesn't"




November 29th, 2014 via sears.com
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Douger1

This hedge trimmer was easy to prime and start, and easy to handle.

|

The unit is easy to handle although a little heavy for long term use at height. The only issue using this at height is the exhaust fumes. If doing work at a height above chest height I would suggest a suitable respirator.

October 24th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
juneavon

22" Hedge Trimmer

|

My husband loves. Works great Light weight.

October 18th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
g1l1adams

The best trimmers I have ever owned

|

October 7th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
outdoordick

hedge trimmer

|

Only used it once, seemed to perform satisfactory.

September 8th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
lesnoy

works well

|

August 22nd, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question
Show all questions
Gail Studley
Craftsman 22" 28cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
June 20th, 2014
Answered in 3 hours
ROXANE DAVIS
By ROXANE DAVIS
June 20th, 2014