Skip to content
Craftsman

Craftsman 22" 28cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

Item# 07179639000P | Model# 79639 | Added on March 19, 2011 | Seller: Sears.com
$199.99
$229.99
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 2,000 points
Add To Cart
Description Specifications
Get Power and Performance from the Craftsman 22" Gas Hedge Trimmer
You can forget about dying batteries and annoying power cords when you use this 22 in. Gas Dual Action Hedge Trimmer. With this Craftsman trimmer, you can cut and shape your bushes, shrubs and hedges with ease. The ample 22 in. dual action, stainless steel blade slices through branches and shrubs up to an inch in diameter, so you can attack even old woody shrubs knowing your gas trimmer is up to the job. The Sim-Pulll feature ensures you get an easy startup each time you use this handy power tool. The AV feature saves your wrists and arms from stress as it reduces the vibrations seen in similar trimmers.

  • This 22" Gas Dual Action Hedge Trimmer comes with a sturdy, dual action, stainless steel blade
  • This Craftsman gas hedge trimmer has a full crank for long lasting wear
  • You can get into tight spots with the rotating rear handle that lets you maneuver your trimmer exactly where you want it to be
  • The AV system ensures less vibrations that the average trimmer for ease in operation
  • This product is not available for purchase in the state of California
California Residents: Proposition 65 Warning
Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating:

Average
(90 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (58)
  • 4 Stars
    (22)
  • 3 Stars
    (3)
  • 2 Stars
    (0)
  • 1 Star
    (7)
  • Read Reviews
Member Photos
No photos yet...

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
By Richieb20
December 24th, 2012
Works very well...horrific exhaust though ...

I love sears products and I have 20 years of trimming experience with many different brands... Pros are easy start and tons of power with 22" blade...major defect is the noxious exhaust!!!! I have to wear a mask using it!! I thought at first I mixed the gas wrong but have used this 10+ times and absolutely wreak of gas fumes after every use..thought I was going to pass out using it several times. I wish I had returned it in the beginning but needed it on that day to trim three properties ... I may weld a longer exhaust pipe on it or sell it. Unfortunatly other brands like echo are 2xs the cost. I suggest to anyone using it to wear a heavy noxious fumes mask.

13 found this review helpful
Criticism
By trucks1981
June 22nd, 2015
Makes me sick after use.

This trimmer operates good. The problem is smoking and if you wear light color clothes the bottom of trimmer rubs against them it destroys then with exhaust oil & gas coming from the over fueled carb. The oil that come with the trimmer and one gal. of gas was mixed properly. I used it one time and sent it back for excessive smoking repair that was denied, cost $50.00 . I could not get anyone to help, so I paid. They said oil and gas mixture was the problem! I picked it up. Took it home mixed hi octane gas 50:1 oil mix then run it for about 35 minutes trimming. Now I'm sick my eyes are burning, pants destroyed from stains, took a shower to get rid of the smoke smell. Less then 1 year old no help. If i send it back it will cost $50.00 more, then I could have bought a better quality trimmer for the same price. I have to get rid if it, it is making me SICK.

7 found this review helpful
Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
PapiRay69

THANK YOU CRAFTSMAN

|

I LIVE IN AN AREA THATS LOADED WITH HEMLOCK HEDGE, WHICH MEANS LOTS OF SAP WHILIE CUTTING, THIS HEDGE TRIMMER HAS SAVED ME $300+ IN ONE DAY, SO IT PAID FOR IT'S SELF HALFWAY THRU THE DAY... SPRAY SOME SIMPLE GREEN ON BLADES WHEN DONE CUTTING WAIT 15 MINUTES & BRUSH THEM CLEAN WITH A FIRM TOOTH BRUSH !!!

26 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PapiRay69

IT'S HUNGRY...

|

GREAT PRODUCT, SELLER &SHIP

26 days ago via kmart.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
h_kim00

Good hedge trimmer

|

Just bought this item and used twice, so far so good, starts right up cuts well. Had to adjust the screws for the tightness in blades but was easy to do. Does what it's meant to, would recommend for average home owner with a few hedges to trim.

October 24th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Navycb1221

Craftsman Hedge Trimmer

|

Works great, I had a craftsman electric hedge trimmer I bought 15 years ago and it just recently stopped working. The new gas one I have is almost as lite as the electric one and runs and cuts perfectly. Outstanding quality, craftsman is the way to go with this product.

September 22nd via mobile
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Forsooth0

Craftsman 22" 28cc Gas Hedge Trimmer

|

Works well Pretty heavy Not for weaklings Price reflects in the weight Big name brands are 2lbs lighter and twice as expensive. If you are a pro get a pro brand for daily use. If you are homeowner this may work for you.

June 27th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
X3000GTVR4

Great reliable trimmer

|

This trimmer has always started right up and cuts through the toughest bushes and hedges. It has plenty of power and is comfortable and just the right weight to hold and work with!!!

June 23rd via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
wingojamie

Very Efficient

|

A bit heavy but overall a very good item

May 11th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pred

Great hedge trimmer

|

We have a pretty big yard and this tool works wonders.

October 20th, 2015 via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Questions & Answers (1) See All
Want to know something? Ask a question
Gail Studley
Craftsman 22" 28cc Gas Hedge Trimmer
June 20th, 2014
Answered in 3 hours
ROXANE DAVIS
By ROXANE DAVIS
June 20th, 2014