Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman 6-Amp, 2,700 RPM Corded Reciprocating Saw
Related images:
Craftsman

Craftsman 6-Amp, 2,700 RPM Corded Reciprocating Saw

Item# 00917175000P | Model# 17175 | Added on July 26, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(213 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$59.99
$29.99
Rewards
Earn 300 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
6-Amp Corded Reciprocating Saw Is Versatile Power
If nothing else will do the trick, add the Craftsman 6-amp corded reciprocating saw to your bag of tricks and you'll be back on track in no time. With speeds up to 2,700 rpm and a 3/4-inch blade stroke length, this saw has the power you need for construction, plumbing, demolition work, heating and air conditioning repair or jobs around the house. It can cut through wood, metal, drywall, PVC and more with ease.
Weighing in at a shade over seven pounds, the 6-amp corded reciprocating saw is easy to work with. Dual work lights boost visibility, while a tool-less blade clamp lets you work more efficiently. A soft handle lets you keep your grip no matter how long you're working with this high-performance saw.

  • For tricky projects where every other cutting device has failed you, turn to the power and versatility of the Craftsman 6-amp corded reciprocating saw
  • A six-amp motor and heavy-duty machined gearbox power the saw
  • It has a variable speed range up to 2,700 rpm with 3/4-inch blade stroke length
  • The adjustable shoe enhances stability and gives clear visibility of the blade in any position
  • Increase work productivity with the tool less blade clamp and the dual LED work lights
  • Eight-foot cord
  • Weighs 7.3 pounds
  • Includes the saw, blade, an Allen wrench and a manual
  • One-year limited warranty
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
589 members
Like this product
Matthew GlowackiRock WassermanSIMON THOMASAnjali SurendranJOHN MAGEEJJCASEY J. SMITHRona GregoryANNIE MAEEllen Ciambrelli FerrariGhazala Khan
578
456 members
Want this product
Rock WassermanJJGhazala KhanRebecca BurchSarah LopezKATH ANDREW KAPALDODANE ZAHNERCynthia RandallIrina JohnShari Potts
445
402 members
Have this product
SIMON THOMASCASEY J. SMITHRona GregoryANNIE MAESarah LopezKATH ANDREW KAPALDOSai konduriRandy LawsonCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYTina Kalango
391
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Casey G.Pasha Vasilkovjason @searsVanina DelobelleJJ EthridgeBrenda JanniseBill KastritisTorie JohnsonTom RaafSadia SharminGEORGE A CHAMBERS
5M
22 members
Follow this product’s
category
Irma EversolePATTI MAYSDustin ManoFRANCISCO MEDINABarry EdenbaumPaul ForresterYOSEF KOLODNYSharon CarneyJohn GreenfieldTODD SWOPEAmber Garrubba
11
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (213 Ratings)
Overall score
9.7
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(213 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (127)
  • 4 Stars
    (64)
  • 3 Stars
    (7)
  • 2 Stars
    (3)
  • 1 Star
    (12)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
6 found this review helpful
by JadeKat
December 31st, 2008
Excellent Product

Per previous warning about the blade not clamping into saw I took the care to make sure it inserted correctly. The clamping is different as it twist around but was not difficult to get blade in. It was used to trim some branches before the cold settled in for the Season and worked very nicely. Very well made and seems to have the quality Sears is so well known for.

Criticism
13 found this review helpful
by AnotherCustomerHer
May 31st, 2013
Hazard!

I had the same problems with blades falling out. I just bought this today, and it took less than 2 minutes to have problems with it. I thought other people writing the bad reviews were just putting the blades in wrong - no, this product really has problems. Not only does the blade fall out, but one time it flew up and almost hit me. This is not just a piece of junk, this is a hazard and should not be sold!

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
John4278

Poor quality, an unsafe product

|

With the exception of a gutless 5.5HP lawnmower (handled like it had 1.5 HP) , I have never had any major issues with craftsman power tools.

Light use - 2X4's, 2 X 6's, even a 1.5 inch square piece of wood causes enough friction the blade comes out. I would say that maybe the friction is too much, but some of these I pulled out with my bare hands. To show the folks at the store, I left the blade in the most recent piec of wood, cutting through it with an old hand saw more quickly than I did with the power saw... because any applicaiton of pressure causes the blade to come out.

With the power and 2700 RPM cycle this poses a serious hazard if you are doing tree limbs, on a roofe, or ....well... almost any working situation. The blad sort of "clips" in, not screwed in with an allen bolt like higher priced (and higher quality) products.

This is what I get by trying to save a little money.

19 days ago via craftsman.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jsonneyjr

great saw for the money.

|

good saw,cuts nice great light

January 2nd via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
EasyZ53

Great Tool

|

Easy to hold and has enough power for the job

December 30th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ccarr612

evolv Compact Circular Saw

|

Great Product! Works great out of the box! Very nice clean and straight cuts! Gives good results and a great price. Always keep it clean and read the instructions.

December 29th, 2014 via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ridehard

Corded Reciprocating Saw

|

I bought this saw on sale .I have been cutting limbs off trees and cutting small trees down .This saw is very good Quality and very good price .I will buy another saw like this on when I wear this one out .I can now do jobs myself that I use to have someone else to do them for me .GREAT BUY

December 26th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
SavyShopper001

Great!

|

Great product! It has just the necessary power.

December 18th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
searslover2014

craftsman reciprocating saw

|

Excellent! Excellent!

December 14th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
newtoSYW

Good for the price and my use

|

I bought it for use to trim tree limbs in the yard. it works well for that purpose. This is not meant to be a commercial all day use, for bigger limbs and trunks, I would have to let it cool down in case it over heats. But it is able to cut limbs down in 5 to 10 minutes that if done manually would have taken over 1/2 and hour and lots of work.

December 4th, 2014 via kmart.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tool_guy

Not bad for small projects

|

This is an alright saw. I'd recommend over battery equivalents, but wouldn't for any heavy duty work. Good to have around if you get it on sale. Nice ergonomics.

December 1st, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
crskinner72

Can't go wrong with Craftsman

|

Lightweight, functional and has a light. Comes with one blade.

September 23rd, 2014 via kmart.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
peg61

poor craftsmanship

|

The worst craftsman purchase ever! Put blade in and pulled on it to make sure it was locked-in and it stayed in. But everytime I went to cut with it the blade would come out. I was really surprised with it being a craftsman product.

August 20th, 2014 via kmart.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
H.Lam

Decent Reciprocating Saw for the price

|

This reciprocating saw is decent -- it has OK power and is relatively light weight, however there are other good options out there as well. I had gotten this for a very good price however normally you can spend a few more bucks and get something else with more features (like a 12A reciprocating saw, rotating handles, etc).

The ergonomics of this reciprocating saw aren't the best -- a pistol style grip works much better.

August 7th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MariNena

easy to use, works great

|

I have been using this saw to cut the branches off my trees and it has worked wonderfully. The blade is really easy to install and lasts a while. I use a long extension chord to reach my tress and have had no problems.

August 7th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Tanyacali

Reciprocating saw

|

I bought this for my husband and he is very pleased overall with it

July 30th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
FixingStuff

Design flaw - blade pops out.

|

Like several of the other reviews mentioned, there is a design flaw where blade pops out while in use. I saw the other reviews prior to purchasing and thought other folks might have gotten a dud. Long and behold, it worked fine at first cutting through 1-2 inch tree branches and a fiberglass panel. Once it got to something heavier duty with more friction on sides of the blades like cutting wood embedded nails on a door frame, the blades pops right out every 2-3 seconds. Tried it with 3 different blades and the same problem occurred. Quite disappointing, but luckily Sears took it back for a full refund as it was under 30 days.

July 30th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mspeeps

Worth every penny

|

My husband and i are new homeowners and we are trying to get some much needed tools,without breaking the bank. This purchase was an excellent value and it happened to be near fathers day. He used it right away,and loves it. I recommend it to anyone.

July 23rd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Levi-1giraffe

Saw for easy handling

|

I purchased this saw to cut small branches and trees in my yard. An older person is able to handle it with little difficulty. It is better than a chain saw and better chances of not getting injured especially people who are taking a blood thinner such as I.

July 22nd, 2014 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
user408

Good Product

|

July 17th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
sk_nj_shopper

Good deal for the price.

|

Decent unit for the price. Perfect for minor jobs around the house. The only negative is that it is heavy and the unit vibrates a lot... but overall a good machine for a homeowner for moderate use.

July 3rd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Grabmom

So far ok...

|

I have only used this once since purchasing. I trimmed 1-2 inch branches on a tree. Worked good. As others mentioned, the blade came out 1 time. The blade is hot to the touch after use. Don't get burned. Hope to use again on larger branches soon.

June 19th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question