Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman Garage Door Opener 1/2 hp Chain Drive, 2 Security+® 3-function Remote Controls
Related images:
n. Tina PY uploaded this on 10/8/2013
Craftsman

Craftsman Garage Door Opener 1/2 hp Chain Drive, 2 Security+® 3-function Remote Controls

Item# 00953985000P | Model# 53985 | Added on April 15, 2010
(624 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$196.99
$149.88
Rewards
Earn 1,499 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
1/2 HP Garage Door Opener Opens Only For You
Come home to a wonderful reception with this Craftsman Garage Door Opener with 3-Function Remote. This opener uses a powerful 1/2 HP motor to lift and close the lightest to the heaviest garage doors gently and safely. Your family or friends can have their own remote. The remote uses clever three-button remotes that can open your garage when you're still a long way off. If for any reason you lose your remote, you can still use the wireless pad to gain entry.
The 1/2 HP Garage Door Opener's design is burglary-proof. Every time you use the remote, a unique code is sent to stop thieves from tampering with the system. This crucial benefit comes courtesy of its superior code rolling system. You can go away on vacation and be confident that your garage will not open for anyone else but you. It is made of sturdy steel parts that will make it part of your home for a long time to come.Free shipping! Orders $59 or more including this Craftsman Garage Door OpenerLook for 'ship free' to find qualifying products. Applies to mailiable products sold by Sears and Kmart. Excludes Marketplace and delivery items. Additional exclusions apply. Please see offer details on qualifying product pages. Applies to items Sold by Sears AND Kmart. This promotion is not eligible with international orders. FREE Standard Shipping on orders of $59 or more applies to mailable items Sold by Sears AND Kmart. Excludes Agio brand, ... read more
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
522 members
Like this product
John Harrisalisha porterLinda Hannamshirley hoferDemetria JacksonMarcus LutzAbhishek RamaniScott MaxwellJacob MartensJay BeckDustin Mano
511
377 members
Want this product
CHARIS MARQUEZCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah Lopezshirley hoferBernardo MaldonadoDemetria JacksonVeronica LeeSandrine Cochetpolly1122Scott MaxwellDarrick Nuske
366
248 members
Have this product
Clint ElmoreSarah Lopezshirley hoferDean BigioniJustinn PowersIrina JohnScott MaxwellJay BeckDustin ManoVICTORIA PAYNEkathryn balasa
237
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Renee VanierTALEIA THOMASKevin John Kish Jr.ELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaTeresa Elwartowski MoonNikita PetersonJames ParkerFAATIMAHCarin Thompson
5M
90 members
Follow this product’s
category
Eric JacobiMichael LucasMatt KalistNANCY RENEE BOHNMarcus LutzJudy AllenDeDe CollinsTYNETTA MCDADEPHIL EDGLEYSharon CarneyDavid T. Reid
79
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (624 Ratings)
Overall score
9.6
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(624 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (360)
  • 4 Stars
    (148)
  • 3 Stars
    (28)
  • 2 Stars
    (26)
  • 1 Star
    (62)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
31 found this review helpful
by aschela
May 21st, 2007
Great Buy, Good Features

I bought this opener after buying my new car and having a new baby and baby things to shlep around. It made things so much easier. It is a great buy for the money and has some excellent features. The security pad outside the garage door allows my 14yr old to come and go after school with out having a key to the house we have to worry about her loosing. The two remotes have allowed my husband to have one as well as my father in law. I was able to program the remote capabilities for my car with this opener as well. Its like having three remotes for the same opener! I wasn't so sure about buying a garage door opener with a chain drive. I have never bought an opener before and had just assumed that a belt drive would be quiter. They may be. However, I felt that a chain drive would probably last longer so that is the one I bought. I figured I would just deal with the noise. After having the opener professionally installed by Sears (they did a fabulous job and the guy really knew his stuff), I was very pleasantly surprised that the chain isnt loud at all. As a matter of fact, the thing that is making the noise is my metal garage door. The chain drive doesnt seem to be making noise at all! I would highly recomend this product. The price is great. The lighting feature, extra remotes and car programable ability, the key pad and the lock out capability are absolutely great. I use all of them.

Criticism
14 found this review helpful
by VerySadShopper
October 5th, 2013
only lasted 10 months

Opener quit working after 10 months and you have to pay for a service call to get warranty service which is about the same as a new opener.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Rdk1971

Great value

Good quality and a reasonable price

11 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
cgore64

HomeLink Compatibility Issues

I bought this to replace 13 year-old model that quit. It will not let either of my vehicles' HomeLink systems pair with the opener. This was not a problem with the old system. I assume this is because they want me to buy the $50 dollar proprietary AssureLink accessory. I finally found an "IMPORTANT NOTE" on page 33 of the manual that I might need to buy an external adaptor from HomeLink if I want it to work on my new opener. This would have been nice to see this notice on the box before I installed the replacement.

17 days ago via craftsman.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ox1961

Good product but a little slower and louder than my old one

17 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
IdahoRyan

Sprocket axle pulled forward, poor workmanship

Bought this opener in early 2006. Worked well, but noisy, for the last 8 years. Tried closing the door yesterday and it would go about 6 inches and then reverse. Looked at the axle sprocket and it is leaning towards the door and causing the chain to bind. Poor design/materials. Will not buy another Craftsman. The opener was installed professionally.
We still have the 20 year old Overhead Door opener that came with the house on the 3rd bay garage door and it is still going strong!

22 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jerpop03

Garage door opener

Was tricky to install but is now working fine

24 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tshannon76

Great value

Great easy installation, good quality components and the included keypad makes it a great deal.

24 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bandgporinsky

Super product

Easy to use. Excellent product.

26 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
yhet

garage opener

so excited to have my new garage door opener. bought opener at sears and then had a service tech come out and install it. does everything it says it does. so far so good! awesome price for both.

29 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Witt1

Great value

My last Craftsman 1/3 HP garage opener lasted 35 years. It finally began having problems. A sale was occurring on a new 1/2 HP (horsepower) opener so I bought it. I installed it a week later. It works perfectly and is so advanced over the old unit. A great value for a great product.

July 30th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
C739CHKzgYe831YtY7

1/2 hp Chain Garage Door Opener with 2 Security remote plus

So far so good, we like.

July 30th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Analyser-123

I love the new and improved features

Purchased to replace my original Craftsman opener that finally gave out after 22 years of service. I like the new placement of the lights being on the sides. The safety photo sensors are a great feature that also activate the lights upon entrance with the door up. The one-button close on the keyless remote pad is also a nice improvement. The larger enhanced wall control unit is also a nice improvement from the earlier doorbell button control. The ability to turn on the lights without opening the door plus the wireless locking feature are nice additional improvements.

July 28th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dawson667788

easy install

July 28th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Stantonia

Not bad EXCEPT

It's really annoying because the door will get almost all the way down and go back up!!! No rhyme or reason....except I found out on GOOGLE that more people have the same problem....and say the sensors are mounted on the garage door track and the vibration of the door going down can intermittently confuse the sensors. My garage door is a big wooden one so it's a lot heavier than a metal one...ergo more vibration. Recommendation is to mount the sensors on the wall somehow not the door track....

July 24th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
brcalla

DISTANTES OF REMOTE

PROBLUME WITH REMOTE HAVE TO BE RIGHT UP TO THE DOOR FOR IT TO OPPEN HADE THIS PROBLUM SINCE DAY ONE HADE SERVICE CALLS WHEN IT WASE UNDER WARRENTY UNABLE TO CORRECT PROBLUM THINKING 0F REPLACING WITH A DIFERENT BRAND

July 24th via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
AMad04

Love It!

We bought this item after having replace our garage door remotes. We kept having trouble opening and closing our garage door. My husband decided to just replace the entire unit just to see if it would make a difference. And boy did it ever! We no longer have problems opening and closing the garage door. This opener is so much quieter than our old unit. This unit offers more features than our last unit offered. We are able to have better security and not worry that some one can break into our house by the garage. We love this opener and are very glad that we changed it!

July 21st via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
flipmyjack

replaced my 17yr old opener was easy to install by myself, took 5 hours u

June 26th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mikew1959

good replacement for old one that came with house.

I was wanting one for a long time, had a good sale so I picked it up for 150.00$ east to install too.

June 22nd via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jimmyjohnsonfw

Easy to install

We really like this opener. Pretty easy to install. Instructions were clear.

The only issue I had was the box was missing some key bolts, nuts, and lock washers. Had to make a run to the hardware store for those.

I like the Craftsman brand. I bought a snowblower this past winter. I have many tools. And now this new Craftsman opener. Great quality.

June 20th via mobile
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
sahummel

garage door opener

Replacement for 20 year old Craftsman. Very happy with life of past unit and new one works very well.

June 20th via mobile
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
drlee1037

can't complain

Everything I've bought lately with the Craftsman name on it has been a disappointment but this opener was exactly what I expected it should be. It's been in service for over three years with no problems.

June 12th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Henry Val
can garage door opener be installed by Sears?
by Henry Val 
March 26th
scott d
Hello Henry and thank you for your question. Yes, Sears can install your garage door opener. I'm listing the site you can access for this information and to get it scheduled. searshomeservices.com/garage-door-openers/installation . I'm also listing the phone number 1-800-605-2128. I hope this will help you.
Answered in 9 hours
by scott d
March 26th
| Be the first to comment
RONALD WATERFALL
How come I did not get credit for the points I have on my last purchase of 2 garage door openers today?
by RONALD WATERFALL 
January 19th
CRYSTAL MARIE
This almost happened to me, as well. It looked like the points were being automatically applied and I almost missed the extra place I had to click during checkout to make it happen.
Answered in 32 minutes
by CRYSTAL MARIE
January 19th
| Be the first to comment