Skip to content
Product is out of stock
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman Garage Door Opener 1/2 hp Chain Drive, 2 Security+® 3-function Remote Controls
Related images:
n. Tina PY uploaded this on 10/8/2013
Craftsman

Craftsman Garage Door Opener 1/2 hp Chain Drive, 2 Security+® 3-function Remote Controls

Item# 00953985000P | Model# 53985 | Added on April 15, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(1231 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$196.99
Out of stock
Rewards
You can earn:1,970 points on this product(?)
Description Specifications
1/2 HP Garage Door Opener Opens Only For You
Come home to a wonderful reception with this Craftsman Garage Door Opener with 3-Function Remote. This opener uses a powerful 1/2 HP motor to lift and close the lightest to the heaviest garage doors gently and safely. Your family or friends can have their own remote. The remote uses clever three-button remotes that can open your garage when you're still a long way off. If for any reason you lose your remote, you can still use the wireless pad to gain entry.
The 1/2 HP Garage Door Opener's design is burglary-proof. Every time you use the remote, a unique code is sent to stop thieves from tampering with the system. This crucial benefit comes courtesy of its superior code rolling system. You can go away on vacation and be confident that your garage will not open for anyone else but you. It is made of sturdy steel parts that will make it part of your home for a long time to come.Free shipping! Orders $59 or more including this Craftsman Garage Door OpenerLook for 'ship free' to find qualifying products. Applies to mailiable products sold by Sears and Kmart. Excludes Marketplace and delivery items. Additional exclusions apply. Please see offer details on qualifying product pages. Applies to items Sold by Sears AND Kmart. This promotion is not eligible with international orders. FREE Standard Shipping on orders of $59 or more applies to mailable items Sold by Sears AND Kmart. Excludes Agio brand, ... read more
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
520 members
Like this product
Jay BeckJohn  Venturimaria powersPaula McCreadyadam moye
515
366 members
Want this product
polly1122Jay BeckNeetu JamwalJohn  Venturi
362
248 members
Have this product
sand statue
247
159 members
Follow this product's
category
Linda SwopeNANCY BENZINGERJamie MDustin ManoDominic  LaCaveraTom McDonaldRENA CAPARIDALOIS loislazanDavid K HolmesMary MountsMERLIN UMANA
148
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (1231 Ratings)
Overall score
10.0
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(1231 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (365)
  • 4 Stars
    (150)
  • 3 Stars
    (28)
  • 2 Stars
    (26)
  • 1 Star
    (63)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
31 found this review helpful
by aschela
May 21st, 2007
Great Buy, Good Features

I bought this opener after buying my new car and having a new baby and baby things to shlep around. It made things so much easier. It is a great buy for the money and has some excellent features. The security pad outside the garage door allows my 14yr old to come and go after school with out having a key to the house we have to worry about her loosing. The two remotes have allowed my husband to have one as well as my father in law. I was able to program the remote capabilities for my car with this opener as well. Its like having three remotes for the same opener! I wasn't so sure about buying a garage door opener with a chain drive. I have never bought an opener before and had just assumed that a belt drive would be quiter. They may be. However, I felt that a chain drive would probably last longer so that is the one I bought. I figured I would just deal with the noise. After having the opener professionally installed by Sears (they did a fabulous job and the guy really knew his stuff), I was very pleasantly surprised that the chain isnt loud at all. As a matter of fact, the thing that is making the noise is my metal garage door. The chain drive doesnt seem to be making noise at all! I would highly recomend this product. The price is great. The lighting feature, extra remotes and car programable ability, the key pad and the lock out capability are absolutely great. I use all of them.

Criticism
14 found this review helpful
by VerySadShopper
October 5th, 2013
only lasted 10 months

Opener quit working after 10 months and you have to pay for a service call to get warranty service which is about the same as a new opener.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
DANIEL NARVAEZ
| Earned 154 community points in Craftsman
5 days ago
snowmed

good deal

|

I really like the key pad option. Was not hard to install.

July 9th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Searswasnohelp

Piece of junk

|

This garage door opener lasted exactly 2 weeks after the additionally purchase 1 year warranty. I had my last craftsman garage door opener for 15 years. Obviously Sears doesn't make them to last anymore

December 27th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
NGL

Great Product

|

December 2nd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
davidjh66

Good Unit

|

Fairly quiet opener. Comes with key pad and opener buttons for the car.

December 1st, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RickinNMCT

Easy to install, works well

|

The instructions were easy to follow making the unit easy to install. Did not need another pair of hands to complete the task but having 2 step ladders did help. Highly recommended to others. This is now the 4th craftsman garage door opener I have installed for family and friends.

September 2nd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
counselorbean

Excellent Product - Excellent Service

|

We had to purchase a new garage door opener. The previous one had lasted fiftten years. This new one opens the door much faster and the technicians who installed it were excellent. They were in and out in a matter of half an hour

August 19th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pittsford

Easy to Install; good price

|

We bought this to install at my sister's new house; my husband had an easy time installing; good price!

August 19th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Rdk1971

Great value

|

Good quality and a reasonable price

August 19th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
cgore64

HomeLink Compatibility Issues

|

I bought this to replace 13 year-old model that quit. It will not let either of my vehicles' HomeLink systems pair with the opener. This was not a problem with the old system. I assume this is because they want me to buy the $50 dollar proprietary AssureLink accessory. I finally found an "IMPORTANT NOTE" on page 33 of the manual that I might need to buy an external adaptor from HomeLink if I want it to work on my new opener. This would have been nice to see this notice on the box before I installed the replacement.

August 13th, 2014 via craftsman.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ox1961

Good product but a little slower and louder than my old one

|

August 13th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
IdahoRyan

Sprocket axle pulled forward, poor workmanship

|

Bought this opener in early 2006. Worked well, but noisy, for the last 8 years. Tried closing the door yesterday and it would go about 6 inches and then reverse. Looked at the axle sprocket and it is leaning towards the door and causing the chain to bind. Poor design/materials. Will not buy another Craftsman. The opener was installed professionally.
We still have the 20 year old Overhead Door opener that came with the house on the 3rd bay garage door and it is still going strong!

August 8th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jerpop03

Garage door opener

|

Was tricky to install but is now working fine

August 6th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tshannon76

Great value

|

Great easy installation, good quality components and the included keypad makes it a great deal.

August 6th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bandgporinsky

Super product

|

Easy to use. Excellent product.

August 4th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
yhet

garage opener

|

so excited to have my new garage door opener. bought opener at sears and then had a service tech come out and install it. does everything it says it does. so far so good! awesome price for both.

August 1st, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Witt1

Great value

|

My last Craftsman 1/3 HP garage opener lasted 35 years. It finally began having problems. A sale was occurring on a new 1/2 HP (horsepower) opener so I bought it. I installed it a week later. It works perfectly and is so advanced over the old unit. A great value for a great product.

July 30th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
C739CHKzgYe831YtY7

1/2 hp Chain Garage Door Opener with 2 Security remote plus

|

So far so good, we like.

July 30th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Analyser-123

I love the new and improved features

|

Purchased to replace my original Craftsman opener that finally gave out after 22 years of service. I like the new placement of the lights being on the sides. The safety photo sensors are a great feature that also activate the lights upon entrance with the door up. The one-button close on the keyless remote pad is also a nice improvement. The larger enhanced wall control unit is also a nice improvement from the earlier doorbell button control. The ability to turn on the lights without opening the door plus the wireless locking feature are nice additional improvements.

July 28th, 2014 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dawson667788

easy install

|

July 28th, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? Over 250,000 shopping questions have already been answered on Shop Your Way!
Show all questions
Henry Val
March 26th, 2014
Answered in 9 minutes
chris wolf
By chris wolf
March 26th, 2014
Catherine Smith