Departments
Brands
Top Brands
Brands You Follow
Stores
Nearby
You Visited
You Follow
You Search For
Topics
Hottests Topics
Catalogs
Featured Catalogs
People
Trendsetters
People Like You
Apps
Your apps
Discover apps
Get Advice
Top Questions
Your Q&A
Friends Asked
Ask A Question | Show All Questions
More on ShopYourWay
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman Garage Door Opener 1/2 hp Chain Drive, 2 Security+® 3-function Remote Controls
Related images:
n. Tina PY uploaded this on 10/8/2013
Craftsman

Craftsman Garage Door Opener 1/2 hp Chain Drive, 2 Security+® 3-function Remote Controls

Item# 00953985000P | Model# 53985 | Added on June 20, 2012 | Source: Sears.com
(583 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$196.99
$159.00
Rewards
Earn 1590 SHOP YOUR WAY REWARDS℠ points on this item
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
1/2 HP Garage Door Opener Opens Only For You
Come home to a wonderful reception with this Craftsman Garage Door Opener with 3-Function Remote. This opener uses a powerful 1/2 HP motor to lift and close the lightest to the heaviest garage doors gently and safely. Your family or friends can have their own remote. The remote uses clever three-button remotes that can open your garage when you're still a long way off. If for any reason you lose your remote, you can still use the wireless pad to gain entry.
The 1/2 HP Garage Door Opener's design is burglary-proof. Every time you use the remote, a unique code is sent to stop thieves from tampering with the system. This crucial benefit comes courtesy of its superior code rolling system. You can go away on vacation and be confident that your garage will not open for anyone else but you. It is made of sturdy steel parts that will make it part of your home for a long time to come.

  • The Craftsman Garage Door Opener with 3-Function Remote opens even the heaviest garage doors gently and effortlessly
  • Comes with remotes for you and family/friends
  • Each remote has 3 smart buttons that allow you to open garage doors from near or far
  • Comes with wireless keypad and interior control console to give you entry if you lose your remote
  • Uses superior burglary-proof technology to prevent thieves from meddling with system
  • Top rolling code system prevents activation from external sources
  • Durable steel parts ensure long life
... read more
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
458 Members
Like this product
John Harrisalisha porterLinda Hannamshirley hoferDemetria JacksonAbhishek RamaniScott MaxwellJacob MartensDustin Manofelicia allskathryn balasa
447
321 Members
Want this product
CHARIS MARQUEZCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYSarah LopezBETHANY PAYNEshirley hoferBernardo MaldonadoDemetria JacksonScott MaxwellDustin ManoPhilip Hartwegkathryn balasa
310
187 Members
Have this product
Clint ElmoreSarah Lopezshirley hoferDean BigioniIrina JohnScott MaxwellDustin Manokathryn balasaBrian AndersonBarb B
177
5M Members
Follow this product’s
Brand
Dan GrimmGerrel FreemanJanet Marie EthridgeNicole GlaserKelly Reed-KimpleTerri OwensTracey DickensTANLE NGUYENJess WieberJenny LawSophia Stucki
5M
70 Members
Follow this product’s
Category
Eric JacobiMatt KalistMarcus LutzJudy AllenPeter McGuireDeDe CollinsBerta HerndonTYNETTA MCDADEBill KowalskiSharon CarneyDavid T Reid
59
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (583 Ratings)
Overall score
9.6
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(583 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (337)
  • 4 Stars
    (135)
  • 3 Stars
    (27)
  • 2 Stars
    (23)
  • 1 Star
    (61)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
31 found this review helpful
by aschela
May 21st, 2007
Great Buy, Good Features

I bought this opener after buying my new car and having a new baby and baby things to shlep around. It made things so much easier. It is a great buy for the money and has some excellent features. The security pad outside the garage door allows my 14yr old to come and go after school with out having a key to the house we have to worry about her loosing. The two remotes have allowed my husband to have one as well as my father in law. I was able to program the remote capabilities for my car with this opener as well. Its like having three remotes for the same opener! I wasn't so sure about buying a garage door opener with a chain drive. I have never bought an opener before and had just assumed that a belt drive would be quiter. They may be. However, I felt that a chain drive would probably last longer so that is the one I bought. I figured I would just deal with the noise. After having the opener professionally installed by Sears (they did a fabulous job and the guy really knew his stuff), I was very pleasantly surprised that the chain isnt loud at all. As a matter of fact, the thing that is making the noise is my metal garage door. The chain drive doesnt seem to be making noise at all! I would highly recomend this product. The price is great. The lighting feature, extra remotes and car programable ability, the key pad and the lock out capability are absolutely great. I use all of them.

Criticism
13 found this review helpful
by VerySadShopper
October 5th, 2013
only lasted 10 months

Opener quit working after 10 months and you have to pay for a service call to get warranty service which is about the same as a new opener.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
BLANCHED11
RATED

GREAT PURCHASE

IT WORKS SO GOOD, AND I LOVE THE LOCKING FEATURE, I ALSO LIKE THE KEY PAD FEATURE NEVER HAD THAT BEFORE

10 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
wcu4201
RATED

25 more years

I bought this Craftsman garage door opener because the one I had finally quit working after 25 years!!! I got my moneys' worth and hoping I can get close to the 25 years out of this one. It was easy to put together ( I did it by myself ) in about 45 minutes.

10 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JOHNLONG
RATED

Excellent value and performance

This is my second purchase of this opener. I bought the first on my last residence. Very strong motor.

11 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
hogpilot
RATED

Won't learn code for your car

Installed new one and the remote is now a 315 mHz frequency with rolling codes. My $75K car with the door code learn buttons built in isn't able to learn this new code. Great job Sears!?! Make your remotes non-compatible with all the luxury cars in the US. Next time try ******

16 days ago via craftsman.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Squiresjl
RATED

Great product

Easy to install and lightweight. Enjoy the features of having an outiside key pad plus two securtiy remote controls. Just recently started to use this product and do not have any issues, problems or noise from it.

18 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
watcher631
RATED

Craftsman Garage Door Opener

21 days ago via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bartholomew
RATED

Cheaply made

Buy the extended warranty, you'll need it. Replaced a 20 yr old similarly made model. Did not las 6 months.


23 days ago via sears.com
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Cape-living
RATED

Garage door opener

Easy to install it took about an hour . Very quiet compared to the one I replaced.

28 days ago via mobile
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kmgr1100rt
RATED

Good deal of an opener

Always been pleased with Craftsman garage door openers. This one replaces my almost 15 year old Craftsman opener that finally gave up the ghost. While some improvements have been made, such as more secure remotes, the square tube rail and trolly that surrounds the tube rather than the T-shape track of the old one and the dual lights, I do wish that the tube was a bit stiffer and that the old remotes would work with it. Still, I'm pleased with the quality and value of the purchase.

29 days ago via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Homoner
RATED

Great product

Works as advertised. Easy to follow directions, adjustments on the unit work well...very easy to install.

March 26th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jules8398
RATED

Works great

My husband installed very quickly and it was easy to install. We like the remote access. It was easy to program our other garage door to the opener.

March 24th via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
VetteDriver
RATED

Dependable & Durable

I purchased two of these to replace the home's original Overhead Door openers. The OD's were so old I couldn't program them to the new cars built-in remote. They installed easy, worked flawlessly and I have had not one problem with them. They are noisy, and that may be a negative for some, but not for me. I can hear when the doors open from my office over the garage.

March 24th via kmart.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
almazulis
RATED

great

March 20th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kicking422
RATED

easy to install

works great easy to put in no problems with install and working and adjusting

March 20th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
73fordguy
RATED

I like it.

It works great. The only thing is it is a little noisy but otherwise it is good.

March 17th via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
happyferret
RATED

craftsman garage door opener

This is is a great garage door opener. It works wonderfully. You cant beat the warranty. I would suggest this to all of my friends if they needed one. We really like the way it operates so well.

March 15th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Tr Bo
RATED
March 13th
NYQT
RATED

Works Great!!!!

This garage door opener works great; I purchased this garage door opener and had it for six months before we installed it. Nevertheless, when we decided to install it there were two pieces missing, went back to Sears to let them know and they gave me the missing pieces from another. I've had it installed for about 9 months now and have NOT had one problem with it. It opens and closes without any issues. Once I push the remote to leave for work it stays closed all day. Definitely would purchase another.

March 13th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
figarow1957
RATED

Awesome

The best product..

March 7th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Iramesh
RATED

Craftsman garage door opener

March 7th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Henry Val
can garage door opener be installed by Sears?
by Henry Val 
29 days ago
scott d
Hello Henry and thank you for your question. Yes, Sears can install your garage door opener. I'm listing the site you can access for this information and to get it scheduled. searshomeservices.com/garage-door-openers/installation . I'm also listing the phone number 1-800-605-2128. I hope this will help you.
Answered in 9 hours
by scott d
29 days ago
| Be the first to comment
RONALD WATERFALL
How come I did not get credit for the points I have on my last purchase of 2 garage door openers today?
by RONALD WATERFALL 
January 19th
CRYSTAL MARIE
This almost happened to me, as well. It looked like the points were being automatically applied and I almost missed the extra place I had to click during checkout to make it happen.
Answered in 32 minutes
by CRYSTAL MARIE
January 19th
| Be the first to comment