Departments
Brands
Top Brands
Brands You Follow
Stores
Nearby
You Visited
You Follow
You Search For
Topics
Hottests Topics
Catalogs
Featured Catalogs
People
Trendsetters
People Like You
Apps
Your apps
Discover apps
Get Advice
Top Questions
Your Q&A
Friends Asked
Ask A Question | Show All Questions
More on ShopYourWay
Product is out of stock
Add To Cart
Third Party (?)
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman Professional 190cc* Variable-Speed Rear-Wheel Drive Mower 49 States
Related images:
Craftsman Professional

Craftsman Professional 190cc* Variable-Speed Rear-Wheel Drive Mower 49 States

Item# 07188776000P | Model# 88776 | Added on June 17, 2012 | Source: Mygofer.com
(76 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$499.88
Out of stock
Description
Give your lawn a professional cut with the Craftsman variable speed lawn mower
Starting your mower has never been easier. The Craftsman professional 190cc variable speed rear wheel drive mower features Smooth Start™ Plus and Ready Start™. These two technologies allow for easy, efficient key starting. There's no priming, adjusting the choke or pulling a starter rope. Powered by a Briggs & Stratton® Platinum Series 190cc
  • OHV engine, the rear-wheel drive motor delivers dependable performance, durability and a long engine life. The self-propelled mower adjusts speed via a lever control, giving you consistent traction even on hilly terrain and through thick turf.
    The Craftsman variable speed lawn mower has a 21 inch 3-in-1 cutting deck with side discharge, mulching or bagging capabilities for grass clippings. The deck design extends beyond the wheels to give you a more precise cut and trim around the lawn's edge. The Precision Plus™ cutting system delivers high-performance bagging and mulching with a durable blade that gives your lawn a clean, carefully manicured look.
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
174 Members
Like this product
Andrew GordonSarah LopezScott MaxwellDiala Chahoud
170
78 Members
Want this product
Rona GregoryScott Maxwell
76
8 Members
Have this product
These members chose to remain private.
232 Members
Follow this product’s
Brand
Barry LarsonEric JacobiRyan OstromLORRAINE FRONTZAKJames "Mac" Maclachlanjoe shoemakerScott MaxwellDustin ManoMichelina DiMartinoJerry CWayne A
221
170 Members
Follow this product’s
Category
Eric JacobiJOHN FROMANMaylean BrockRandy LawsonJJJOE LINKSarah LopezSusan BrubakerFred Mscott dDavid T Reid
159
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (76 Ratings)
Overall score
6.9
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(76 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (29)
  • 4 Stars
    (20)
  • 3 Stars
    (3)
  • 2 Stars
    (15)
  • 1 Star
    (9)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
20 found this review helpful
by Neatnic
April 23rd, 2009
Nice Mower

Having used this new mower only a few times I've found it fairly easy to use. The electric starter is a wonderful option. Mower cuts evenly and with the castor wheels it's easy to navigate. Holding the clutch drive for long periods of time is difficult and tires my hand quickly.There should be a way to adjust the tension on the clutch drive. Changing the cutting level on the back wheels is quick and easily done with one lever. Adjusting the cutting height on the front wheels is a problem though. You have to loosen the wing nut, remove the axle and raise or lower each wheel all while supporting the mower with your other hand. I've decided that changing the wheel height is really a two person operation. Also the wing nuts used to hold the front axles are made of cheap plastic rather than metal. You would think that such a strategic part on a quailty mower would be made of a good quality metal. One of these plastic wing nuts has already broken (after two uses) and I've purchased some metal ones to replace.I would also strongly suggest wearing ear protection while use this mower. This mower suits my needs well, with the exception of my few negative issues.

Criticism
25 found this review helpful
by Anonymous
May 9th, 2009
Crafsman Professional 21" Caster Mower,May 9, 2

While I really like the mower itself, there are some serious flaws that need to be fixed by Sears. Originally I purchased last years' model (a slightly different model number) and took it back because the rear wheel covers kept coming off - on the first use. Afterward, I ordered another unit in hopes that "this years'" model would incorporate improvements. Sadly, the same issue, both wheel covers falling off, remains. This exposes part of the drive mechanism to the weather. This is a serious flaw and is due to the flexibility of the plastic core on the rear wheels. All four wheels have a plastic core and tread. The caster front wheels also use a plastic bolt and wing nut assembly. Why use a cheap plastic here? The engine is a professional grade Kawasaki motor. The unit is solidly built...why skimp on these parts? These are the parts that will receive the most stress. Since I have only just purchased the unit, I will likely consult with Sears and see if the wheels (at least the rear-drive wheels can the traded out for a sturdier type that could also have a protective cover. If not, I'll need to get another type. I really like this mower...I hope Sears can Make it right. Until and unless they do you'll be able to see another slightly used caster mower at a reduced price at Sears. Simple changes would fix this and make a very happy camper.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Scott Maxwell
RATED
July 16th, 2013
ROY PEGRAM
RATED
May 11th, 2013
Sam Fitting
RATED
April 28th, 2013
JOHN VENTURI
RATED
March 6th, 2013
crystal perman
RATED
February 27th, 2013
CARLA VIOTTO
RATED
February 23rd, 2013
Eric Hermansen
RATED
January 30th, 2013
Meg G.
RATED

Great mower!

Great mower!

January 30th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
LOIS OBENG
RATED

Love it!1

Go and get urs

January 29th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PRIYANKA AGARWAL
RATED

nice

good to buy

January 23rd, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bulldog12
RATED

Great Mower!!!!!

This mower works great, handles easy and is very easy to use!!!!!

January 7th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Louis Blyskal
RATED
November 23rd, 2012
martha jimenez
RATED
November 12th, 2012
bami
RATED

great mower

easy starting, smooth running, very powerful motor. Just pull cord and it starts right up. I bought a floor model which was missing alot of parts including battery charger so I pull started it and it started right up with very little effort. unfortunately it was missing so many parts that I reluctantly returned it, but will buy a brand new model in the spring. You will love this mower.

October 22nd, 2012 via sears.com
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
pedrostl
RATED

Piece of junk

We bought this about 1 1/2 years ago, and spent the extra money for a commercial grade (so-called) because my son cuts about 8-10 lawns per week in our neighborhood.

Commercial grade products should be built to withstand more wear and tear. This mower is not built that way.

The handle broke. The self-propelled drive system is based on a gear inside the back wheel covers, and that went bad. The cable that operates the self-propelled system broke. We have been terribly disappointed with this mower.

The commercial grade of this mower is in name only. Craftsman used to be a reliable brand, but it seems that is a thing of the past now.

October 16th, 2012 via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MIBSGRAD
RATED

Outstanding lawnmower with a few minor issues

<p>Lawnmower does an outstanding job of cutting the grass and assembly was a snap.  In my 30+ years of cutting grass, it probably does the best job of any mower I've owned.  I agree with other users that the self propulsion does take a little bit to get used to, but it works well.  Instead of going in a circle or back and forth, I've adopted what I call the zamboni method.  I cut a rectangle about half the size of the yard and move the top and the bottom the same direction (i.e., both towards the house if I started at the back of the yard).  This allows me to cut the entire yard without continuously releasing the self propulsion at every turn.   My favorite things about this mower:</p>
<p>1) Starts extremely easily.  I've only used the pull cord as I haven't remembered to charge it in time to do so before I mow, but I know my wife could start it and my four year old might be able to if I let him.</p>
<p>2) Does an OUTSTANDING job of mowing and mulching.  Let's face it, if we are spending this much money on a mower, we give a $%^&amp; about how our yard looks.  This mower helps us have the best looking yard in the neighborhood.</p>
<p>3) Not sure of the specifics, but it seems to me that I don't have to fill the gas as frequently as I'm used to.  Living in the South, it's hot and it's humid.  Once I start mowing, I don't want to stop.  I've now cut the whole yard 1.5 times without refilling.</p>
<p>4) I haven't used a bag yet, but I watched the video online and it seems like a snap to empty.  I'm used to a Murray where the top of the bag lifted up to empty.  Grass flew all over the place and it just wasn't fun in general.  This looks a lot easier and neater.</p>
<p> </p>
<p>I have one significant issue and two minor ones:</p>
<p>1) The blade control cable is either too long or misadjusted.  It took me 30-45 minutes of troubleshooting to figure this out.  I basically have to place a piece of mulch under the cable to tighten it in order for it to even start.  While this is annoying and may point to quality control issues, once the fix is in place, it starts easier than any other mower I've owned.</p>
<p>2) Due to its weight, you need make sure the ground is completely dry prior to mowing.  (This is a good idea anyway but doubly important with this mower.)</p>
<p>3) As far as I can tell, the handle has to be folded forward slightly for the charger to be attached as the lower part of the handle blocks the plug.  Since you only need to do it at the beginning of the season (assuming it's used regularly), this shouldn't be an issue.</p>

August 13th, 2012 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Barry Larson
RATED
August 4th, 2012
steve522
RATED

Craftsman Professional 190cc* Variable-Speed Rear-Wheel Drive Mo

very nice, just as shown . It is the first mower for me that the front wheels turned so it took a mowing or two to get used to it...no more picking up the front end to turn around...the electric start is outstanding as well...great deal...sears store I used very good to deal with...got the 3 year warantly as well

July 5th, 2012 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jacsears
RATED

Craftsman Professional 190 mower

I really like to use this mower. It is fast, easy to turn and light weight for a mower. I'm a female and mowing can be a chore, however, with this mover it's more enjoyable and I'm not exhausted after I've done the yard.

July 5th, 2012 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MarinaPirate
RATED

Craftsman Professional Mower

Altohugh only used a couple times, I am most impressed with the mower. I love the variable speed option as the mower can be adjusted for a variety of users. The self-starting option is also a great asset. My only concern is that the mower seems a bit &quot;back heavy&quot; ... steering takes some time to get used too. All in all, I am very pleased.

July 5th, 2012 via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question