Skip to content
30% or More Off Selected Craftsman Products Shop Now
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman Professional Variable Speed 8" Bench Grinder (21162)
Related images:
Custom Grinding with the Craftsman Professional Grinder. CYRIL KERNS uploaded this on 5/22/2014
468 Olds induction system!!!. Bill Malanca uploaded this on 3/14/2015

Craftsman Professional Variable Speed 8" Bench Grinder (21162)

Item# 00921162000P | Model# 21162 | Added on July 26, 2010 | Seller:
(174 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
You can earn:1,615 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Get a Well-Equipped Workshop or Garage with the Variable Speed 8'' Bench Grinder from Craftsman With a variable speed of 2000 to 3450 RPM, the Craftsman Professional Bench Grinder can take on a wide range of grinding, sharpening and buffing tasks. The grinder comes with a flexible work light that has its own on/off switch for illuminating your work area. Convenient features such as quick-change wheel guards and thin-line motor housing, makes this a must-have tool for your workshop or garage.
The Variable Speed 8'' Bench Grinder from Craftsman also offers accurate bit sharpening with its adjustable tool rests that have patented attachments. The water cooling tray and handheld wheel dresser boost the versatility of this tool. The grinder also has user-friendly features such as a cast iron base to reduce vibration when in use and the clear eye shields and spark guards help you stay safe while working. Get the best for your workshop or garage with this bench grinder from Craftsman.

  • Craftsman Professional Bench Grinder is useful for a wide variety of grinding applications
  • Separate grinding and wire wheels for maximum versatility
  • Incandescent work light with an independent on/off switch
  • Includes clear eye shield and wheel guard spark arrest for safety while working
  • The grinder has 8 in. diameter wheels
  • Toolless removal of wheel covers for quick easy changes.
  • Includes wheel dresser to clean and true abrasive wheels.  stored on the tool.
  • One year
... read more
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
736 members added this product to Things I Like
1K members added this product to My Wishlist
Jeffrey Hershpolly1122birdldytooFlores CintronHiranmayi Marupaka
253 members added this product to My Things
Wendy Clarkchelsea tilfasSYWR personal shopper
106 members
Follow this product's
Jeff SpringerWilliam DalgauerLinda SwopeJamie MCJoy DavidManelik PouRENA CAPARIDAPETER IRWINDavid K HolmesMayra VasquezB. P.

Overall Rating:

(174 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
  • 4 Stars
  • 3 Stars
  • 2 Stars
  • 1 Star
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

6 found this review helpful
by DaveNO
November 28th, 2011
Bench Grinder 21162 - Hesitated to buy it... but now I love it!

I hesitated to buy this Grinder, based on comments in some of the reviews here regarding vibration.  After thinking about it for a couple of weeks, I decided to give it a try when I saw it on sale (internet only) for $137.99.   I ordered it online with store-pickup, and got it the same day.

The first day I turned it on (not bolted down) and it had a noticeable vibration, even at slow speed.   The next day after taking time to bolt it down (and removing/replacing the grinding stone and wire wheel in the process) the vibration seemed much much worse.  Upon inspection, I found that the grinding stone now had a side-to-side shimmy (wobble) of about 1/8", even though it was firmly attached to the shaft.  Not good, not good at all.

I decided that it had to be related to the fact that I had removed and replaced the grinding wheel.  The solution turned out to be very simple.  I unplugged the Grinder and loosened the grinding stone just enough so that I could turn the Grinder shaft by hand (by rotating the wire wheel) while holding the grinding stone stationary.  I adjusted the grinding stone position (in relation to the shaft) a little bit at a time, then spinning the shaft/stone combination slowly by hand while observing the side-to-side motion in between each adjustment.  I found a position that gave very minimal (almost none) side-to-side wobble, and tightened up the locking nut.  Powering up the Grinder, it was now (almost) silky smooth.   The only (very very minimal) vibration remaining is probably due to a small egg-shape (offset) in the wire wheel.  But I will be replacing the wire wheel with a cotton buffing wheel in a few days anyway . . .

This Grinder seems to have plenty of power for the home user.  After having been apprehensive about buying it, I'm now really very happy with it.


10 found this review helpful
by drumguy
May 1st, 2013

I've owned this grinder for 3 years and I swear at it every time I use it. It has no power, and for the first 2 years until the wire brush wore down it would rub on the guard. Save your money and buy another brand. There are no HP specs available but I suspect it is far less than 1/2 HP.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Eric McFail
| Earned 8 community points in Craftsman Professional
19 days ago

Professional grinder


Excellent product and for the price even better good for around the house jones don't even need to turn up to full speed works fine on low speed

August 24th via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

8 inch bench grinder


this bench grinder is fairly heavy and from the material it's made of I would say most of the weight is in the motor,which in my opinion is GOOD. assembly is very easy. from the reviews I read I didn't know exactly what to expect as far as vibration . to my delight this 8 inch craftsman bench grinder is extremely smooth. I didn't bolt it down and it sit's there and theres almost no movement when running. in fact if you couldn't hear the motor run( it's quiet as far as bench grinders go) you wouldn't know it's running.i'm very impressed with this grinder and would highly recommend it.i got a great deal(on sale) and am very happy with this craftsman tool.

July 29th via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Dustin Mano
| Earned 2,676 community points in Tools
March 9th

Beats the Competition!


I was originally looking at a grinder at ***** for a few dollars less. What turned me on about this grinder was the tool rests. The Overall machine is over 2 inches wider, giving you more room to work with, and the tool rests are at least twice, if not three times the size and strength! I also like how the craftsman grinder light function can be turned on even with the grinder off. The quench tray is also more than double in size. Finally, What really sold me, was the drill bit groove is a separate plate! Loosen the screw, turn it down 90 degrees and tighten it back up. I couldn't stand being stuck with a permanent 60 degree v-groove.

I have only found a couple little things I would change about the unit. The wheel housing/ guard is comparable to other brands, weak in design. The tool rests to bolt to a bracket that bolts to this housing (as all grinders do) but since the material is thinner than I'd desire, it seems to give a little flex to the tool rests. Its not near as bad as other similar priced grinders, but not adequately better either. and I removed the cheap wheel dresser and holder as it got in the way of my light.

Yes I did have the vibration issue that everyone seems to have, and yes, the grind wheel was slightly out of round, but that is not what causes the vibration. I removed the wire wheel and ran it with one wheel (even being out of round) and had ZERO vibration just sitting freely on the bench. I bought a very cheap $6.00 8" grind wheel to test my theory and guess what... ZERO vibration (with two out of round wheels). The cheap fine wire bristle wheel that comes with it tends to smack the wires against the housing a little, is out of round, and created a wind turbulence and/or harmonic that creates the vibration. Even a high end stiff wire wheel adds to grinder vibration (just not as bad as this stock one).

I wish there 4 mounting holes but there are only two. Bolt the grinder to a heavy pedestal or bench, or don't use (or purchase a better) wire wheel.

All in all, this is a great grinder. Im used to using Jet and Dayton grinders at work and this one will run neck and neck with those higher end brands. I couldn't be happier, and never write reviews but just had to on this one. Hope this helps set the record straight for future buyers on the vibration issue. Happy Grinding!

February 24th via
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Uses a proprietary base


I never thought to check the width of the anchor holes before buying this grinder. The holes for anchoring this grinder are set wider apart than all other universal grinder stands, meaning the only grinder stand with a platform wide enough for this grinder is sold by Sears. Go figure.

February 13th via
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Good machine


An excellent tool once you get rid of those cheap wheels. They caused my grinder (mounted on a stand) to walk all over the garage. Bought some good Norton wheels and it smoothed right out.

January 29th via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Bench grinder


Great product and good quality build. Would reccomend to anyone.

January 26th via mobile | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Love your Bench Grinder


Versatile size for my shop and comes with wire wheel as well as two grinding stones which is very helpful.

January 20th via
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Great Grinder


I also have the 6" grinder but this one is a much better grinder. It has plenty of power for the toughest jobs. I love the variable speed feature. The light arm could be a little longer but not a big deal.

January 14th via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Nice bench grinder


Over it a nice grinder, being able to set differant speeds is nice, Having the light and dressing tool.

January 13th via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Does the job


Let me start by telling you I am DIY kind of guy and I needed a bench grinder for a couple of projects. I got this one and I am happy with it. It is lacking a little bit in the power department, but it works. I was a little nervous to make this purchase as I have read almost all of the comments and it seemed that this product had fallen by the way side of Craftsman quality products. I got it with the stand and I am happy with it overall. Please do not be scared away by the other post, it works just fine.

November 4th, 2014 via
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Grinding wheels wobble and the wheel washers are bent.


The inner diameter of the wheel washers are .022" too large for the shaft size. They are stamped and are the two surfaces are not flat on both washers. This is simply points out a lack of understanding of rotaing equipment, poor design, and less than quality manufacturing standards. If you have one that operates smoothly, I do not recommend you attempt to change grinding wheels. Be happy with what you have. If you must change to wire wheels and/or buffing pads they are far more tolerant of miss-alignments and should offer you less risk for wobble and sever vibrations. I have two older craftsmen grinders that do not demonstrate any of these design and manufacturing flaws. They have offered me years of great service. I wish I could purchase two more grinders of that quailty in the Craftsman brand.

October 28th, 2014 via | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Very Nice Product.


This grinder will work all day long without a problem. However, be sure to verify that all the screws and fasteners are snug during setup.

October 23rd, 2014 via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Powerful to say the least.


I love the variable speed adjustment.

October 22nd, 2014 via | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Exactly what I wanted


October 20th, 2014 via | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Nice grinder


Everything I could possibly want in a grinder for the price.

October 1st, 2014 via
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

A Beast


The 8" grinder is considerably more substantial than either of the six-inch models I was orignally considering. The tables on the ight inch models provide a much larger work space while the hp increase prevents the eight incher from bogging down. As others have noted, the wobbling is due to the weight differnce between the two wheels. The grinding stone is much heavier than a buffing wheel or wire brush. I have a small digital scale and weighed each wheel adding washers to the point where the wire wheel weighed the same as the grining wheel. No wobble. Magic.

September 18th, 2014 via
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

Would give 0 stars if I could


Wife bought this for me a while ago maybe about a year. It sat in the box til I bought a small craftsman work table to mount it on. Literally used this item 3 or 4 times a total of 1.5-2 hrs of use in total and the motor went out. In recent two years Ive noticed a lot of the same problems with the Craftsman professional brand. Im going to take my business to another manufacturer. Im sorely disappointed.

September 2nd, 2014 via
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote

very poor


I purchased this grinder to use in my garage. All of my hand tools are craftsman. So I figured I would like the grinder, so wrong. Had it a little over a year. Just out of warranty. Only used very little. The capacitor melted. A new one is $58.00. from Grainger's.. I hope this one lasts longer. I would not recommend. Buy a better one and spend the extra money and have it for life. Do not buy China Junk. I am now up to $ 200.00 or so. Very un happy. At least the hand tools still work.

August 26th, 2014 via
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? Over 250,000 shopping questions have already been answered on Shop Your Way!