Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Craftsman Professional Variable Speed 8" Bench Grinder (21162)
Related images:
Custom Grinding with the Craftsman Professional Grinder. CYRIL KERNS uploaded this on 5/22/2014
468 Olds induction system!!!. Bill Malanca uploaded this on 3/14/2015

Craftsman Professional Variable Speed 8" Bench Grinder (21162)

Item# 00921162000P | Model# 21162 | Added on July 26, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(94 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$169.99
Rewards
Earn 1,700 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Get a Well-Equipped Workshop or Garage with the Variable Speed 8'' Bench Grinder from Craftsman With a variable speed of 2000 to 3450 RPM, the Craftsman Professional Bench Grinder can take on a wide range of grinding, sharpening and buffing tasks. The grinder comes with a flexible work light that has its own on/off switch for illuminating your work area. Convenient features such as quick-change wheel guards and thin-line motor housing, makes this a must-have tool for your workshop or garage.
The Variable Speed 8'' Bench Grinder from Craftsman also offers accurate bit sharpening with its adjustable tool rests that have patented attachments. The water cooling tray and handheld wheel dresser boost the versatility of this tool. The grinder also has user-friendly features such as a cast iron base to reduce vibration when in use and the clear eye shields and spark guards help you stay safe while working. Get the best for your workshop or garage with this bench grinder from Craftsman.

  • Craftsman Professional Bench Grinder is useful for a wide variety of grinding applications
  • Separate grinding and wire wheels for maximum versatility
  • Incandescent work light with an independent on/off switch
  • Includes clear eye shield and wheel guard spark arrest for safety while working
  • The grinder has 8 in. diameter wheels
  • Toolless removal of wheel covers for quick easy changes.
  • Includes wheel dresser to clean and true abrasive wheels.  stored on the tool.
  • One year
... read more
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
549 members
Like this product
JOHN MAGEEAngela BouzaDonald SchimizziDustin ManoCARL WILLARDDoug Lyonmaria powersANDREW FORBEARMarilyn OMadam moye
539
334 members
Want this product
polly1122Donald SchimizzibirdldytooJohn  Venturi
330
139 members
Have this product
Peter Letendre
138
40 members
Follow this product's
category
PERRY ALBRIGHTJamie MJAMES CORREADustin ManoCJoyJoy DavidRICHARD DELGADODavid T. ReidRita EatonRENA CAPARIDAPETER IRWINB. P.
29
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (94 Ratings)
Overall score
9.3
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(94 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (47)
  • 4 Stars
    (21)
  • 3 Stars
    (7)
  • 2 Stars
    (6)
  • 1 Star
    (13)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
6 found this review helpful
by DaveNO
November 28th, 2011
Bench Grinder 21162 - Hesitated to buy it... but now I love it!

I hesitated to buy this Grinder, based on comments in some of the reviews here regarding vibration.  After thinking about it for a couple of weeks, I decided to give it a try when I saw it on sale (internet only) for $137.99.   I ordered it online with store-pickup, and got it the same day.

The first day I turned it on (not bolted down) and it had a noticeable vibration, even at slow speed.   The next day after taking time to bolt it down (and removing/replacing the grinding stone and wire wheel in the process) the vibration seemed much much worse.  Upon inspection, I found that the grinding stone now had a side-to-side shimmy (wobble) of about 1/8", even though it was firmly attached to the shaft.  Not good, not good at all.

I decided that it had to be related to the fact that I had removed and replaced the grinding wheel.  The solution turned out to be very simple.  I unplugged the Grinder and loosened the grinding stone just enough so that I could turn the Grinder shaft by hand (by rotating the wire wheel) while holding the grinding stone stationary.  I adjusted the grinding stone position (in relation to the shaft) a little bit at a time, then spinning the shaft/stone combination slowly by hand while observing the side-to-side motion in between each adjustment.  I found a position that gave very minimal (almost none) side-to-side wobble, and tightened up the locking nut.  Powering up the Grinder, it was now (almost) silky smooth.   The only (very very minimal) vibration remaining is probably due to a small egg-shape (offset) in the wire wheel.  But I will be replacing the wire wheel with a cotton buffing wheel in a few days anyway . . .

This Grinder seems to have plenty of power for the home user.  After having been apprehensive about buying it, I'm now really very happy with it.

 

Criticism
9 found this review helpful
by mrtinker
July 14th, 2011
Craftsman variable speed bench grinder.... Doesn't hold up!

I bought this about 3-4 years ago for homeowner use. I've used it infrequently in the garage (heated) to wire brush various nuts/bolts/yard tools and sharpen lawnmower blades. It didn't get heavy use at all.

Tonight, it started making noises while using it to clean up some fasteners from our boat motor.... and it burnt out....

It seemed like a good enough unit at first but I think the bearings started going out of it over a year ago. It has always sounded like a freight train rolling through but I lived with it.

Now I'm going to look on Craigslist for something.... I can't do any worse there than at the Sears (made in china to fail prematurely but will surely make my shareholders a dividend next quarter!) tool department!

Hope you have better luck with this one than I did !!!

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Dustin Mano
| Earned 12,331 community points in valentine's day – tools
March 9th
Dallas7788

Beats the Competition!

|

I was originally looking at a grinder at ***** for a few dollars less. What turned me on about this grinder was the tool rests. The Overall machine is over 2 inches wider, giving you more room to work with, and the tool rests are at least twice, if not three times the size and strength! I also like how the craftsman grinder light function can be turned on even with the grinder off. The quench tray is also more than double in size. Finally, What really sold me, was the drill bit groove is a separate plate! Loosen the screw, turn it down 90 degrees and tighten it back up. I couldn't stand being stuck with a permanent 60 degree v-groove.

I have only found a couple little things I would change about the unit. The wheel housing/ guard is comparable to other brands, weak in design. The tool rests to bolt to a bracket that bolts to this housing (as all grinders do) but since the material is thinner than I'd desire, it seems to give a little flex to the tool rests. Its not near as bad as other similar priced grinders, but not adequately better either. and I removed the cheap wheel dresser and holder as it got in the way of my light.

Yes I did have the vibration issue that everyone seems to have, and yes, the grind wheel was slightly out of round, but that is not what causes the vibration. I removed the wire wheel and ran it with one wheel (even being out of round) and had ZERO vibration just sitting freely on the bench. I bought a very cheap $6.00 8" grind wheel to test my theory and guess what... ZERO vibration (with two out of round wheels). The cheap fine wire bristle wheel that comes with it tends to smack the wires against the housing a little, is out of round, and created a wind turbulence and/or harmonic that creates the vibration. Even a high end stiff wire wheel adds to grinder vibration (just not as bad as this stock one).

I wish there 4 mounting holes but there are only two. Bolt the grinder to a heavy pedestal or bench, or don't use (or purchase a better) wire wheel.

All in all, this is a great grinder. Im used to using Jet and Dayton grinders at work and this one will run neck and neck with those higher end brands. I couldn't be happier, and never write reviews but just had to on this one. Hope this helps set the record straight for future buyers on the vibration issue. Happy Grinding!

February 24th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Reanders

Uses a proprietary base

|

I never thought to check the width of the anchor holes before buying this grinder. The holes for anchoring this grinder are set wider apart than all other universal grinder stands, meaning the only grinder stand with a platform wide enough for this grinder is sold by Sears. Go figure.

February 13th via craftsman.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Lugs

Good machine

|

An excellent tool once you get rid of those cheap wheels. They caused my grinder (mounted on a stand) to walk all over the garage. Bought some good Norton wheels and it smoothed right out.

January 29th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
spawlding

Bench grinder

|

Great product and good quality build. Would reccomend to anyone.

January 26th via mobile | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
VJD

Love your Bench Grinder

|

Versatile size for my shop and comes with wire wheel as well as two grinding stones which is very helpful.

January 20th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tool3825

Great Grinder

|

I also have the 6" grinder but this one is a much better grinder. It has plenty of power for the toughest jobs. I love the variable speed feature. The light arm could be a little longer but not a big deal.

January 14th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
EarlDV

Nice bench grinder

|

Over it a nice grinder, being able to set differant speeds is nice, Having the light and dressing tool.

January 13th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Nathaniel.H

Does the job

|

Let me start by telling you I am DIY kind of guy and I needed a bench grinder for a couple of projects. I got this one and I am happy with it. It is lacking a little bit in the power department, but it works. I was a little nervous to make this purchase as I have read almost all of the comments and it seemed that this product had fallen by the way side of Craftsman quality products. I got it with the stand and I am happy with it overall. Please do not be scared away by the other post, it works just fine.

November 4th, 2014 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Harleybobfb

Grinding wheels wobble and the wheel washers are bent.

|

The inner diameter of the wheel washers are .022" too large for the shaft size. They are stamped and are the two surfaces are not flat on both washers. This is simply points out a lack of understanding of rotaing equipment, poor design, and less than quality manufacturing standards. If you have one that operates smoothly, I do not recommend you attempt to change grinding wheels. Be happy with what you have. If you must change to wire wheels and/or buffing pads they are far more tolerant of miss-alignments and should offer you less risk for wobble and sever vibrations. I have two older craftsmen grinders that do not demonstrate any of these design and manufacturing flaws. They have offered me years of great service. I wish I could purchase two more grinders of that quailty in the Craftsman brand.

October 28th, 2014 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Honest.Ron

Very Nice Product.

|

This grinder will work all day long without a problem. However, be sure to verify that all the screws and fasteners are snug during setup.

October 23rd, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JTH3

Powerful to say the least.

|

I love the variable speed adjustment.

October 22nd, 2014 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
david95350

Exactly what I wanted

|

October 20th, 2014 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
TexasDIY

Nice grinder

|

Everything I could possibly want in a grinder for the price.

October 1st, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Stormbringer425

A Beast

|

The 8" grinder is considerably more substantial than either of the six-inch models I was orignally considering. The tables on the ight inch models provide a much larger work space while the hp increase prevents the eight incher from bogging down. As others have noted, the wobbling is due to the weight differnce between the two wheels. The grinding stone is much heavier than a buffing wheel or wire brush. I have a small digital scale and weighed each wheel adding washers to the point where the wire wheel weighed the same as the grining wheel. No wobble. Magic.

September 18th, 2014 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
janthony9289

Would give 0 stars if I could

|

Wife bought this for me a while ago maybe about a year. It sat in the box til I bought a small craftsman work table to mount it on. Literally used this item 3 or 4 times a total of 1.5-2 hrs of use in total and the motor went out. In recent two years Ive noticed a lot of the same problems with the Craftsman professional brand. Im going to take my business to another manufacturer. Im sorely disappointed.

September 2nd, 2014 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
seankim

very poor

|

I purchased this grinder to use in my garage. All of my hand tools are craftsman. So I figured I would like the grinder, so wrong. Had it a little over a year. Just out of warranty. Only used very little. The capacitor melted. A new one is $58.00. from Grainger's.. I hope this one lasts longer. I would not recommend. Buy a better one and spend the extra money and have it for life. Do not buy China Junk. I am now up to $ 200.00 or so. Very un happy. At least the hand tools still work.

August 26th, 2014 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
eebarkley

Great for the price

|

It's a good basic grinder. (Not like we used in industry, where you could not move it & it's stand without a crane.) My old Sears 1/4 hp, 6" grinder had bad bearings or sleeves(?), & the variable speed switch has been bad for years. But I mostly used the wire brush on it. (I use a 6" x 48" belt sander for sharpening ax's, morrow blades, etc.)
This is a good replacement. I assembled it all together & ran it to sharpened a 3/8 x 24" drill bit. I also used the left side wire brush to remove some rust off a pair of pruning shears.
The wire brush should not be used at the high end speed probably(?). I didn't try it. I ran the grinder at high speed max just to see how it ran while I was standing to the far right, away from possible flying brush wires or a bad stone. It ALL was OK. Not too much vibration. Sharpening should be done at low speeds as well as cleaning with the wire brush. Safety first. I wanted a low RPM grinder, & this one is good.

August 25th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dog1phil

Hey People, wake up......

|

The reason the Craftsman vibrates more than other brands, is that you have a stone wheel on one end and a wire wheel on the other end! Craftsman is the only supplier of this design with this configeration, Think guys, wire wheels and stone wheels do not weigh the same, and wire wheels are NOT balanced very well anyway! so you are throwing high RPM on a unbalanced shaft, its got to vibrate! You can weight up the wire wheel end and this will help some, but if you want this setup, wire and stone, its going to vibrate! As far as the quality of this unit compared to other brands, they all roll off the same hardware line, and than go to painting and labeling, I doubt there are different grades of internal parts. This is a good, little better than home grade grinder! If you need a heavy bench grinder, you will have to pay hundreds and hundreds more, And if the grinding is that heavy, there are a lot of good 7 inch handhelds around, and a lot of older 9 inch handhelds that can take off the big chunks much faster! I think this Craftsman grinder gets way too many bad reviews that it doesn't deserve! I have one and love it! BRAVO Craftsman!!!

July 16th, 2014 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
brgsr62

Good Value

|

June 1st, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? Over 250,000 shopping questions have already been answered on Shop Your Way!