Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 15,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Edward Downey uploaded this on 7/1/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 15,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270151000P | Model# 70151 | Added on May 19, 2010
(138 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$399.99
Rewards
Earn 4,000 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
The Kenmore 70151 large-capacity multi-room air conditioner has 15,000 BTUs of power to cool up to 900 square feet. The unit has electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It has fresh air and exhaust venting.
This window air conditioner fits windows from 26.5 to 40.5 inches wide and 18.5 inches high.

  • 15,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 900 square feet
  • 24 Hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • 10.7 energy-efficiency rating
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • One-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • Slide-out chasis
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
This product comes with:
Owner's Manual (1)
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
90 members
Like this product
CYNTHIA RIBNISCKYbetty crawfordEdward BelcherMichael HLisa Mkathryn balasaLynn Estepscott dBarb BJOHN VENTURIMax Moore
79
61 members
Want this product
Michael Hscott dJ.P. BuergersSHARON KLOSOWSKIwilda vanoverDan BaileyParis PARKER
54
27 members
Have this product
CYNTHIA RIBNISCKYnickey simmonsJOHN VENTURIKCL
23
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Yaquanda BakerELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaTravis StonePAMELA GRIFFITHSTeresa Elwartowski MoonWalter SmithJames ParkerFAATIMAHCarin Thompson
5M
42 members
Follow this product’s
category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinaiyrodriguez29debbie moellerzoila riverascott dJoey SDenise Brownlisa hunterMargot Wilson
31
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (138 Ratings)
Overall score
8.7
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(138 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (91)
  • 4 Stars
    (32)
  • 3 Stars
    (8)
  • 2 Stars
    (4)
  • 1 Star
    (3)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
15 found this review helpful
by Lalisa
August 31st, 2013
Kenmore 115v 15,100 BTU Air Conditioner

I purchased this Kenmore 15,100 BTU, 115 volts air conditioner in the state of California for $ 398.99 plus tax. I asked a Sears sales man what was the biggest BTU I could purchase for a 115 volts ac plug and that it was through the wall or wall mounted unit. He said, he didn't have one and the largest BTU he had for a 115v ac was 15,100 BTU. I asked him if window units could be mounted on the wall and he said that they are disigned different and If I wanted to put it through the wall that it was up to the customer, but not recommended since it would block the air flow of the vents. I whent ahead and purchased it anyway and took it home. When I opened the box and when through everything that it is supposed to come with, I reed in the instruction manual that it is also a wall or through the wall AC unit. WOW. Other wall mounted unit sale super high and you get less BTU. This unit has it all window and wall installation. The unit runs great, it cools alot and it has a nice design. AC also somes with a small remote control. I mounted it on the wall sealed it all around an built a picture frame around it, and it looks like a master piece. Note, on Sears and Kenmore website there is a $50.00 dollar mail in rebate. Keep all your receipts, energy tag and other paper needed in order to comply with the sales rebate program. Go out and buy one!!!

Criticism
11 found this review helpful
by ButterflyJupiter
June 22nd, 2013
Great Cooling / Nightmare Installation

This window air conditioner cools great for our entire ground level. That is the good. The bad: 1. Installation in general was a nightmare. 2. The online store made no mention that to install this beast it requires a metal box be affixed to your window frame, then the air conditioning part slides in the box. 3. You have to disassemble the Air Conditioner upon arrival to install it. 4. The instructions are terrible. 5. Several screws were missing 6. No mention of needing a drill in the "tools required" part of the installation manual. 7. It is VERY difficult to figure out which screws go with which instruction step when they are all received in a single bag. I cannot tell you how much frustration this alone caused. Why couldn't all of the same type of screws be in individual bags and labeled? 8. If I had to do it over again I wouldn't. 9. Installation took over 6 hours,with two people working on it. 10. If you think this installs like a typical window air conditioner, it doesn't.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Taxman70
RATED

Disappointed

While I realize we are trying to cool a large area, this unit doesn't have the power to do the job well. Our old unit was the same size and did a much better job. Also this unit fails miserably at directing the air side to side. I am disappointed.

13 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Katetown20
RATED

Excellent Purchase

I returned a Frigidaire that barely cooled my place for this Kenmore with the same BTUs. It does an amazing job cooling. I would totally recommend.

27 days ago via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
LaurieandFred
RATED

This will keep you cool!

We bought this air conditioner to replace an older model. My husband and I installed it without any problems. This ac runs quiet and does the job. I like having a remote to set the on/off timer and temps.

27 days ago via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JillMarie823
RATED

Best Deal Over Them All

Very pleased with this unit from price to cooling power!! Installing took a couple hours....but I am not complaining one bit!! Well worth it!! So far I am extremely happy I read these reviews & went with this model. If anything changes...I will repost to help out the next consumer looking.

June 10th via sears.com
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mr.buffalo
RATED

The air conditioner was no problem putting in the window. The directions A+

Nice and cold air, and not overly noisy.

June 4th via sears.com
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
8REDhawk
RATED

Air Conditioner

Weighs a ton! But boy does it cool. Quiet and intuitive to operate.

May 31st via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
brothajones316
RATED

Like what I see and hear so far....

good AC so far, not that bad set up (did by myself). very heavy, need two people (but I am a big guy so) like the sound, in my living room and I have no need to turn up the volume on my TV. not that hot yet, but I will put up another review in in July.



May 13th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bigbear888
RATED

Excellent Air Conditioner, very cool air

I love this air conditioner, its cool and save electricity since its power by 115V outlet

February 14th via sears.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mr.M.B.
RATED

Efficient

This unit cools off the room nicely--(400 square feet). One of the nicest features is the water produced by the cooling is evaporated within the unit--no need for a drip line from the back.

November 1st, 2013 via sears.com
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
backgate
RATED

New Air Conditioner

runs well and quiet, does a great job

September 13th, 2013 via sears.com
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DesiMan
RATED

The best top rated 110V max cooling AC Unit u can find.

It was easy to install, gives great cooling. I definitely recommend it.

September 6th, 2013 via sears.com
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Lalisa
RATED

Kenmore 115v 15,100 BTU Air Conditioner

I purchased this Kenmore 15,100 BTU, 115 volts air conditioner in the state of California for $ 398.99 plus tax. I asked a Sears sales man what was the biggest BTU I could purchase for a 115 volts ac plug and that it was through the wall or wall mounted unit. He said, he didn't have one and the largest BTU he had for a 115v ac was 15,100 BTU. I asked him if window units could be mounted on the wall and he said that they are disigned different and If I wanted to put it through the wall that it was up to the customer, but not recommended since it would block the air flow of the vents. I whent ahead and purchased it anyway and took it home. When I opened the box and when through everything that it is supposed to come with, I reed in the instruction manual that it is also a wall or through the wall AC unit. WOW. Other wall mounted unit sale super high and you get less BTU. This unit has it all window and wall installation. The unit runs great, it cools alot and it has a nice design. AC also somes with a small remote control. I mounted it on the wall sealed it all around an built a picture frame around it, and it looks like a master piece. Note, on Sears and Kenmore website there is a $50.00 dollar mail in rebate. Keep all your receipts, energy tag and other paper needed in order to comply with the sales rebate program.
Go out and buy one!!!

August 31st, 2013 via sears.com
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
LDD
RATED

Kenmore 15,100 btu A/C unit

I purchsed it to replace a 15,000 Frigidaire unit, it seem to be a great unit at this time cooled down the room well.

August 28th, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jolacin
RATED

Great unit!

Bought this for our lake cottage - we have the unit in our (large) kitchen w/ a cathedral ceiling. Works great. Cools off the room and adjacent rooms nicely and removes the humidity.

August 14th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
exellentquality
RATED

excellent

well done

August 4th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
padawan-jinx
RATED

Does the job

I love this thing because it allows me to chose the temp while it runs and can be put on sleep mode so I don't freeze when I fall asleep. The remote is a wonderful little bonus and now, I cant imagine NOT having this AC going.

August 4th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
irisbedoya
RATED

good but remote way to small cant read light writing

good but remote way to small cant read light writing and its a bit loud

July 27th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MrGrandprix
RATED

great value

was $50 less than comparable units at ********** and ***** and 100 btu's more.. easy installation if you know how to work with tools the least bit ... downside made in china :(

July 27th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
F-Rod
RATED

Satisfactory purchase. Involved setup. Great results.

It's been crazy hot up here in the northeast. Wife nagged to no end. We have a 24x36 first level or about 864 square feet. This machine is rated for 900 sq. ft. Just enough. The A/C barely fit in the back seat of my Subaru Legacy. But I got it home. Phew!

The one thing you must know, and you will know reading all the reviews, is that installing this A/C, due to it's size and weight, is an involved project. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, so it took me about two hours. I took my time. Everything I needed came in the box. With regards to support brackets, you need not worry, this unit comes with some beefy little L brackets that are part of the installation.

I took my time reading the manual thoroughly several times to become familiar with the setup. Once I felt comfortable with the instructions I started on each step. I would do a couple of steps and take a break.

YES, you will have to remove the innards of the A/C, install the housing or cage of the A/C first, then slide the innards back in. This is a good setup and makes allot of sense.

I passed on the side louvers and instead used insulation foam and white duct tape to seal it all up. TouYube "Homeowner's Guide to Window Air Conditioner Installation" from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL). You will have a more efficient setup and won't have any air leakage.

The A/C works well and the noise isn't too bad. I have mine two rooms away from the living room and I only have to put the volume of the TV up slightly, like one or two clicks. It's much more comfortable and we can enjoy being in the living room again. Yay!

So, with all that said, if you are mechanically inclined and enjoy handy man projects, you will be fine. It's a good A/C and Kenmore's have a decent reputation, well reviewed units. Buy it and enjoy your home again.

July 23rd, 2013 via kenmore.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pelican9
RATED

Important purchase

It is a wall Air Conditioning unit for our home.

July 23rd, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question