Departments
Brands
Top Brands
Brands You Follow
Stores
Nearby
You Visited
You Follow
You Search For
Topics
Hottests Topics
Catalogs
Featured Catalogs
People
Trendsetters
People Like You
Apps
Your apps
Discover apps
Get Advice
Top Questions
Your Q&A
Friends Asked
Ask A Question | Show All Questions
More on ShopYourWay
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 15,100 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Edward Downey uploaded this on 7/1/2013

Kenmore 15,100 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270151000P | Model# 70151 | Added on June 7, 2012 | Source: Sears.com | Available At 3 Sellers
(131 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$399.99
Rewards
Earn 4000 SHOP YOUR WAY REWARDS℠ points on this item
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
The Kenmore 70151 large-capacity multi-room air conditioner has 15,100 BTUs of power to cool up to 900 square feet. The unit has electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It has fresh air and exhaust venting.
This window air conditioner fits windows from 26.5 to 40.5 inches wide and 18.5 inches high.

  • 15,100 BTU
  • Cools up to 900 square feet
  • 24 Hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • 10.7 energy-efficiency rating
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • One-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • Slide-out chasis
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
46 Members
Like this product
CYNTHIA RIBNISCKYMichael Hkathryn balasascott d
42
29 Members
Want this product
Michael Hscott dSHARON KLOSOWSKI
26
19 Members
Have this product
These members chose to remain private.
5M Members
Follow this product’s
Brand
Chip BeerbowerGerrel FreemanJanet Marie EthridgeNicole GlaserKelly Reed-KimpleTerri OwensTracey DickensTANLE NGUYENJess WieberJenny LawSophia Stucki
5M
27 Members
Follow this product’s
Category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinadebbie moellerscott dJoey STandra BanksYer YangMargot WilsonAnnette ShaverDavid Kidder
16
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (131 Ratings)
Overall score
8.2
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(131 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (85)
  • 4 Stars
    (32)
  • 3 Stars
    (8)
  • 2 Stars
    (3)
  • 1 Star
    (3)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
7 found this review helpful
by milojo
June 1st, 2010
Cooled the whole house!

Last summer our heat pump went out in the middle of June, we were put on a waiting list for service and plus it had to be ordered, we tried to wait it out, but it got way too hot..99* temps. so my husband took off to sears on a Sunday evening and bought this model, easy to install and even though it says a one room unit we have a 1800 sq ft home and cooled ever inch of it.  We only needed a few weeks but it was worth every penny!  Very happy customers!

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by ButterflyJupiter
June 22nd, 2013
Great Cooling / Nightmare Installation

This window air conditioner cools great for our entire ground level. That is the good. The bad: 1. Installation in general was a nightmare. 2. The online store made no mention that to install this beast it requires a metal box be affixed to your window frame, then the air conditioning part slides in the box. 3. You have to disassemble the Air Conditioner upon arrival to install it. 4. The instructions are terrible. 5. Several screws were missing 6. No mention of needing a drill in the "tools required" part of the installation manual. 7. It is VERY difficult to figure out which screws go with which instruction step when they are all received in a single bag. I cannot tell you how much frustration this alone caused. Why couldn't all of the same type of screws be in individual bags and labeled? 8. If I had to do it over again I wouldn't. 9. Installation took over 6 hours,with two people working on it. 10. If you think this installs like a typical window air conditioner, it doesn't.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Bigbear888
RATED

Excellent Air Conditioner, very cool air

I love this air conditioner, its cool and save electricity since its power by 115V outlet

February 14th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mr.M.B.
RATED

Efficient

This unit cools off the room nicely--(400 square feet). One of the nicest features is the water produced by the cooling is evaporated within the unit--no need for a drip line from the back.

November 1st, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
backgate
RATED

New Air Conditioner

runs well and quiet, does a great job

September 13th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DesiMan
RATED

The best top rated 110V max cooling AC Unit u can find.

It was easy to install, gives great cooling. I definitely recommend it.

September 6th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Lalisa
RATED

Kenmore 115v 15,100 BTU Air Conditioner

I purchased this Kenmore 15,100 BTU, 115 volts air conditioner in the state of California for $ 398.99 plus tax. I asked a Sears sales man what was the biggest BTU I could purchase for a 115 volts ac plug and that it was through the wall or wall mounted unit. He said, he didn't have one and the largest BTU he had for a 115v ac was 15,100 BTU. I asked him if window units could be mounted on the wall and he said that they are disigned different and If I wanted to put it through the wall that it was up to the customer, but not recommended since it would block the air flow of the vents. I whent ahead and purchased it anyway and took it home. When I opened the box and when through everything that it is supposed to come with, I reed in the instruction manual that it is also a wall or through the wall AC unit. WOW. Other wall mounted unit sale super high and you get less BTU. This unit has it all window and wall installation. The unit runs great, it cools alot and it has a nice design. AC also somes with a small remote control. I mounted it on the wall sealed it all around an built a picture frame around it, and it looks like a master piece. Note, on Sears and Kenmore website there is a $50.00 dollar mail in rebate. Keep all your receipts, energy tag and other paper needed in order to comply with the sales rebate program.
Go out and buy one!!!

August 31st, 2013 via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
LDD
RATED

Kenmore 15,100 btu A/C unit

I purchsed it to replace a 15,000 Frigidaire unit, it seem to be a great unit at this time cooled down the room well.

August 28th, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jolacin
RATED

Great unit!

Bought this for our lake cottage - we have the unit in our (large) kitchen w/ a cathedral ceiling. Works great. Cools off the room and adjacent rooms nicely and removes the humidity.

August 14th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
exellentquality
RATED

excellent

well done

August 4th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
padawan-jinx
RATED

Does the job

I love this thing because it allows me to chose the temp while it runs and can be put on sleep mode so I don't freeze when I fall asleep. The remote is a wonderful little bonus and now, I cant imagine NOT having this AC going.

August 4th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
irisbedoya
RATED

good but remote way to small cant read light writing

good but remote way to small cant read light writing and its a bit loud

July 27th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MrGrandprix
RATED

great value

was $50 less than comparable units at ********** and ***** and 100 btu's more.. easy installation if you know how to work with tools the least bit ... downside made in china :(

July 27th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
F-Rod
RATED

Satisfactory purchase. Involved setup. Great results.

It's been crazy hot up here in the northeast. Wife nagged to no end. We have a 24x36 first level or about 864 square feet. This machine is rated for 900 sq. ft. Just enough. The A/C barely fit in the back seat of my Subaru Legacy. But I got it home. Phew!

The one thing you must know, and you will know reading all the reviews, is that installing this A/C, due to it's size and weight, is an involved project. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, so it took me about two hours. I took my time. Everything I needed came in the box. With regards to support brackets, you need not worry, this unit comes with some beefy little L brackets that are part of the installation.

I took my time reading the manual thoroughly several times to become familiar with the setup. Once I felt comfortable with the instructions I started on each step. I would do a couple of steps and take a break.

YES, you will have to remove the innards of the A/C, install the housing or cage of the A/C first, then slide the innards back in. This is a good setup and makes allot of sense.

I passed on the side louvers and instead used insulation foam and white duct tape to seal it all up. TouYube "Homeowner's Guide to Window Air Conditioner Installation" from the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL). You will have a more efficient setup and won't have any air leakage.

The A/C works well and the noise isn't too bad. I have mine two rooms away from the living room and I only have to put the volume of the TV up slightly, like one or two clicks. It's much more comfortable and we can enjoy being in the living room again. Yay!

So, with all that said, if you are mechanically inclined and enjoy handy man projects, you will be fine. It's a good A/C and Kenmore's have a decent reputation, well reviewed units. Buy it and enjoy your home again.

July 23rd, 2013 via kenmore.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pelican9
RATED

Important purchase

It is a wall Air Conditioning unit for our home.

July 23rd, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
YorkieLover78
RATED

You won't be disappointed!!!!

I purchased a portable air conditioner from sears it was the worst investment I have ever made. But THANK GOODNESS Sears has an excellent return policy and I was allowed to exchange my portable for a window unit. I brought this unit home and installed the unit I was shocked first how quite this unit is!!! other air conditioners you can hardly talk in the same room. This one is great I don't have to even turn the TV to a higher volume. Second this air conditioner works GREAT. after install of course I decided to do this in the middle of the worst heat wave of the year. Needless to say when I turned an the unit and left the house for about an hour. inside the house when I left was over 80 and when I returned the unit was turned off in the energy saver because it had cooled the entire downstairs which is about 500 sq ft and the upstairs was even cool which I didn't except at all!

July 22nd, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DaveJoaquin
RATED

More than satisfied, cools our 1000sq. ft. beach cottage with ease!

July 22nd, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
docjk
RATED

It's Like Having Central Air

After reading the specs at the store this air conditioner appeared to be the one we needed for the space we have. Well, the options that it has made this even a better buy than we had expected. With the options provided, it's like having central air. We have just set it and forgot about it. After coming in from outside on a hot sweltering day and the temp is set just right, we're thankful we made this purchase. It even has a energy saving feature as well as a night time option that saves energy and adjust the temp to start the day out comfortable. Great buy it was!

July 14th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mech01
RATED

Works Great!

I purchased this unit in summer 2010 and can't complain one bit. It is the best thing I could of purchased. I was going to buy a used one and with the luck I been having with used things I decided to buy this unit, do this one time and be good for years. I couldn't of asked for more. Some of the people giving it a bad rating must not know much about window a/c because most of the larger unit have a case the a/c unit goes into. It has been that way for decades. I been recommending this unit to everyone that is in need of an a/c unit. The great thing about it is it runs off 120v household outlet.

July 4th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Marinemom3004
RATED

Awesome Air Conditioner

We live in Central Florida and this year our ac went out. Of course we needed immediate relieve from the Florida heat so we decided to purchase a window ac unit while waiting for our ac to be replaced. This unit has done a fabulous job. We actually but it in our kitchen window because our kitchen is located in the center of our house. It not only cools down the kitchen but it also cools the dining room, living room, and even cools our bedroom a bit. We have to keep the temp around 76-78 during the day because it becomes to cold at lower temps. The sleep feature is the best feature. We set it every night and every time we leave the house for work. We usually have it set for 76 so when the sleep feature is on it puts the temp up to 80 for 7 hours and then back down to 76 just in time for us to return home from work. The installation was pretty time consuming but well worth it in the end.

June 30th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Nbruno
RATED

Air condition

Great air condition. It is quiet and very effective...cools most of the house.

June 29th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jOOHN
RATED

Room Air Conditioner

Very good AC unit

June 28th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question