Skip to content
Kenmore

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
$149.97
$179.99
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 1,500 points ($1.50)
Add To Cart
Description Specifications
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner - Efficient and Earth-Friendly Cooling
When the temperature rises, keep your cool with the Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner 7005. The unit is relatively lightweight at just over 40 pounds, allowing for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power to cool small rooms and studio apartments. It packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. Also, a 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode give you ultimate control.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch electronic controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating:

Average
(407 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (186)
  • 4 Stars
    (121)
  • 3 Stars
    (35)
  • 2 Stars
    (22)
  • 1 Star
    (43)
  • Read Reviews
Member Photos

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
By renee88
September 2nd, 2013
Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

13 found this review helpful
Criticism
By ScubaBill
December 4th, 2015
after just three years --motor bearings are too noisy

Purchased in 2012. Nice features w/remote control and was quiet. This summer the fan motor bearings started making noise. Removing the cover allows access to the motor but unlike older ACs this motor has no ports for oiling the bearings. But good NEWS-- can get a replacement fan motor from Sears for only $98.15!! AC only costs $179.99 new. Very disappointed in the quality of the fan motor. Have another brand Daewoo AC that is the same size. Two years older but has developed the same problem and has an identical style motor. This is very poor performance for an item that only has to work for three months of the year.

14 found this review helpful
Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
GmaCarter3

Cools well for price

|

Nice light units. Love the remotes

July 26th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MiaJoan

Excellent Value Air Conditioner

|

This is the perfect air conditioning unit for a small room. At its clearance price we got an excellent deal. It cools quickly and runs relatively quietly. We are very satisfied.

July 19th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Colleen2081

nice unit

|

Works very well. The only drawback is the control panel and remote commands are hard to see.

July 6th via sears.com
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Kmunsie

Great AC for bedrooms

|

We purchased 2 of these for our kids rooms and they are great! Light, easy to install and quiet. The remote is a nice feature.

July 1st via mobile
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ERuth

Great Buy

|

Bought this for my daughter and she loves it. Fits perfectly in her small kitchen window and keeps her 10 X 20 kitchen nice and cool.

July 1st via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bugum

Cool as a cucumber

|

June 21st via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
nick92

not hot now

|

it a great a/c

June 21st via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
darrenlcm

don`t buy this Kenmore air unit

|

3 seasons and the digital board dont work all it does is beep! sears has nothing but junk anymore ill never buy a product from sears again period

June 17th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Patrymouthon

Great Deal

|

This unit was an swear surprise, we were looking for a quick solution in for our living room and dining room with small budget, so we decided to buy this small unit under own risk, great decision, is energy star, makes the space comfortable and even cover the kitchen, it is unbelievable but this one is a great investment

June 16th via mobile
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bus567

love love love it

|

When our central AC unit started going out we purchased this to help supplement. I love the variable speed fan that comes with it. I can set it and still stay cool.

June 13th via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
dingus4

great AC

|

Great Kenmore air conditioner. Purchased a Kenmore last year, liked it so much I bought two more this year and am very pleased with my purchases.

June 13th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
nykatlady

a/c

|

Am extremely pleased with this product. It does its job, especially now with the high heat we are experiencing. Keeps he room cool and pleasant to be in. Stands up to the Sears brand name 100%.

June 9th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ScubaBill

after just three years --motor bearings are too noisy

|

Purchased in 2012. Nice features w/remote control and was quiet. This summer the fan motor bearings started making noise. Removing the cover allows access to the motor but unlike older ACs this motor has no ports for oiling the bearings. But good NEWS-- can get a replacement fan motor from Sears for only $98.15!! AC only costs $179.99 new. Very disappointed in the quality of the fan motor. Have another brand Daewoo AC that is the same size. Two years older but has developed the same problem and has an identical style motor. This is very poor performance for an item that only has to work for three months of the year.

December 4th, 2015 via sears.com
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
be nice
| Earned 201 community points in Kenmore

one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen sev

|

one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen seventeen eighteen nineteen twenty

November 24th, 2015
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MARLENE TURRA
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore
September 20th, 2015
Blisterpeanuts

Cools room but controls are lacking

|

The AC works pretty well. However, I'm deducting three stars for the stupid design of the remote and for the control panel on the unit itself.

First the good news. The engineers did a great job with the air conditioner. It adequately cools a 15'x20' bedroom, has a convenient timer mode that lets you run the AC or fan for a few hours, then shuts off while you are asleep. The remote is light and works well. The machine seems about as noisy as any other AC I've used, noisier than a Panasonic I used to have, less noisy than a small GE in my home office.

Now the bad news. The controls are grey on black and almost impossible to read. At night, you'll need a flashlight to find the right buttons, and forget trying to use the remote without a light. The buttons are almost impossible to find with your fingers, and it also sports a ridiculous grey-on-black theme. Whatever idiot designed this thing must either be blind, or never has actually tried to use it.

A solution is to glue those little craft beads onto the remote, one for the on/off button and one for the mode button. But you shouldn't have to resort to such ridiculous extremes. They should have at least tested the design on a user group and listened carefully to their feedback -- or watched them struggle trying to see the dim lettering.

September 9th, 2015 via sears.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
beasleyhillman

Great Efficiency

|

We purchased this unit because the fan bearings were getting noisy in the A/C we had. This 5200 is more efficient and runs quieter than our old one of another brand. This is the second Kenmore we had to purchase this year. The other is an 18,000 BTU. Both run much more efficiently that the ones we replaced.

September 9th, 2015 via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JoJo1265

Jo Ann ****** Kenmore air conditioner with remote. For my bedroom

|

Keeps the room nice in cool goes off when the temp is right.
love having a remote for this and it is quite.
Did not think Kenmore was a good brand product. Bur am very happy to say I was wrong.

September 2nd, 2015 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Janine Williams
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore
August 25th, 2015
jholiprosad

what head line

|

price was excellent, i need a air conditioner in my guest bedroom, i was waiting for the price to come down and it did, i am so satisfied with my purchase and it i need another one i would purchase one again. this purchase make my room so nice n cold

August 19th, 2015 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Questions & Answers (5) See All
Want to know something? Ask a question
MARITZA meritza
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 18th
Answered in 14 hours
Debra Lane
By Debra Lane
June 18th
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
July 29th, 2013
Answered in 24 hours
M I
By M I
July 30th, 2013
Claudio Santos
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 30th, 2013
Answered in 6 minutes
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 30th, 2013