Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Ed Poulin uploaded this on 5/28/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on May 19, 2010
(361 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$169.99
Rewards
Earn 1,700 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner - Efficient and Earth-Friendly Cooling
When the temperature rises, keep your cool with the Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner 7005. The unit is relatively lightweight at just over 40 pounds, allowing for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power to cool small rooms and studio apartments. It packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. Also, a 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode give you ultimate control.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch electronic controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
170 members
Like this product
CYNTHIA RANDALLRona GregoryCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYConnie Joy to WINStore AdminSears SunlandPeter LetendreLynn EstepBarb BJohn  VenturiAngela  Farooqui
159
169 members
Want this product
CYNTHIA RIBNISCKYCYNTHIA RANDALLStore AdminPeter LetendreJohn  Venturinickey simmonsElizabeth McQuaidLOUISA BARTHNANCY RENEE BOHNChristine HollidayDenise Malia
158
109 members
Have this product
Store AdminPeter LetendreJohn  VenturiAngela  FarooquiHeather BlumeLisa LeeIfeoluwapo TalabiSD Heavenly Steals Personal ShopperAnthony PradoTaniya or Tia Farooqui
99
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Chip BeerbowerShawntay StevensonGreta FurlowRegina ShannonDEBBIE HAMMONDRenee VanierLASHON ANTHONYELIZABETH SMITHDwan MesserNikita PetersonJames Parker
5M
47 members
Follow this product’s
category
Sherry LaBradaDenise StearnsSears JolietSears West Covinaiyrodriguez29scott dJoey STandra BanksDenise Brownlisa hunterDavid T. Reid
36
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (361 Ratings)
Overall score
9.5
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(361 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (8)
  • 4 Stars
    (7)
  • 3 Stars
    (2)
  • 2 Stars
    (1)
  • 1 Star
    (2)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by renee88
September 2nd, 2013
Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by spzwd
June 27th, 2013
noisy and remote too hard to read

Bought this based on last year's consumer reports that rated it highly. The remote, and even the front panel, are almost impossible to see without a bright light. Also noisier than our other two small units. Has an intermittent scratching noise. You can get used to a regular noise, but one that comes and goes all night long just doesn't cut it. It's going back.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Acts1336

Works hard to cool 160sf room with vaulted ceiling

|

We bought this to cool an add-on bedroom. It's 160sf, with a very high ceiling, and this unit keeps it cool, but doesn't ever get it to feel cold. Would recommend for a small room with 8'-10' ceilings...nothing more.

September 12th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
betben2014

Too loud for comfort

|

This is the worst unit I have ever purchased. Very disappointed. It sounds like it is coming apart on the inside. The noise comes from the fan splashing water onto the condensing coil to help improve efficiency. Terrible idea. Good idea if you do not sit in the same room with it on. Do not purchase this product. IT WILL DRIVE YOU CRAZY!!!!!!!!

August 29th via kenmore.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
cowluver4444

Nice and Cold

|

I purchased this window Air conditioner for a small shed that was converted in to living space. It's now a bedroom and works perfectly to cool the area. It is small, compared to the one it replaced, but it still works. The remote control is a nice touch, too.

August 28th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
thaneofcawdor

noisy

|

cools well but noisy. seems to draw more power than one would think

August 25th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mei3188

Good Product

|

It is energy saver we like the most.

August 22nd via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
GEM02

Good Unit Blows Cold Air

|

This unit works well for a small space. Keeps small bedroom, 16'X12', cool. Makes noise when the condenser kicks on, but disapates as part of the white noise a window unit makes.

August 18th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Rownby1

Air conditioner

|

Just the right size for my small shop.

August 15th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bonnier361

Won't ever buy Kenmore product again

|

Bought this item after researching lot of window air conditioners and thought this one was the best. After 1 week, machine sounded like it was zapping bugs anytime the compressor was on. Also never was accurate on the temperature of the room. If the AC is set at 72 and the room is 76, the AC should be on. Returned it and put a 2nd one in. Same problems. Spent 7 + hours on the phone with Sears to no avail. Bought GE product which has been in for the longest amount of time.

August 14th via sears.com
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
shoupt

Good Room AC

|

Works well in the 10 x 10 room we put it in. Cools quickly. Easy install.

August 14th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Monnie Heminthavong

Kenmore 5200

|

Kenmore 5200 BTU window unit: Functions well. I purchased the product about 2 years ago. I have it on the energy saver mode. It comes on/off when the temperature hits above 73, no thinking needed. It's cooling my 320+ sq ft space downstairs with the aid of an oscillating fan sitting in front. I have this unit on my window in the back of the house in the dining room so it's not so obtrusive and sticking out the front window. I'm happy with it. Works well, I hardly notice the any noise. Loving the remote which I hardly use since it's set!

August 8th
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gercons

Kenmore A/C - a highly recommended brand and model

|

It was an great buy...very affordable and performance satisfaction...

August 8th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Brisnana1

Great Choice

|

I bought this unit when it was on a one day special, great price, but I wasn't ready to pick it up from the store for a couple of weeks. Fortunately I was able to use layaway and all my problems were solved. The unit is super efficient, cools quickly and is quiet. The easiet unit I've ever installed and didn't require assistance. Give it a try, it's a great choice.

August 7th via kmart.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
shanjon

great buy!

|

love the energy saver, it's perfect for a small room, I use the fan most of the time, you only need the AC on humid days

August 7th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
nowlin

finally cool

|

August 6th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mcjake

nice

|

it cools my bedroom and is quiet. which is just what I wanted it to do because my bedroom does need cooling off. sometimes it get's really hot in there

August 6th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Elandorius

EXCELLENT UNIT

|

I had purchased this unit used!!!! and compared to my previous unit which was bigger. This unit cool faster! Smaller and has a remote!!! Very Pleased! Very quiet. and very COOL!. Don't forget to tilt to drain the water.

August 4th via kenmore.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Darwin_NarainS

Very good purchase

|

Easy to use, makes very little noise. Cools my room very quickly

August 1st via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Dealaholic

Rattles and keeps us awake at night

|

Heard it at store and it was very quiet, but store was air conditioned, so basically fan was on. Bought 3 because I saw good reviews, it sounded quiet, and it was a good price. Regret my choice. The rattle in the ac in our room kept us both awake. My son is scared of the slightly less noisy rattle in his ac, daughter's seems okay. But I plan on returning all three. Very disappointed!

August 1st via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Buffalo-Girl

Kenmore AC

|

Does not blow cold enough air even at lowest setting.

August 1st via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
tinkam

works great

|

August 1st via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
how do I get a copy of my receipt?
by JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI 
July 29th, 2013
Millie
Hi! If you need a receipt and you are a Bonus Member and have opted-in to receive e-receipts you can check your regular email account to get a copy of your e-receipt. If you are needing to do a return/exchange at a Sears/Kmart store and you used your SYWR # when you made your purchase you don't need a receipt just give them your SYWR #. If you are just wanting to check something about your transaction and don't need an actual receipt you can look under "Rewards Pts" tab and "View your account history". If none of that helps you and you really need a receipt contact the store where you made the purchase and if they are willing and able they may be able to get you a copy of your receipt.
Answered in 24 hours
by Millie |
July 30th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
Patricia Maile
What are the dimensions?
by Patricia Maile 
June 2nd, 2012
scott d
The dimensions are as follows:
Cabinet Depth (in.): 14
Cabinet Height (in.): 12.5
Cabinet Width (in.): 18.5
Maximum Window Dimensions: 36 inches wide
Minimum Window Dimensions: 23 inches wide and 14 inches tall
by scott d |
September 6th, 2012
| Be the first to comment
"