Departments
Brands
Top Brands
Brands You Follow
Stores
Nearby
You Visited
You Follow
You Search For
Topics
Hottests Topics
Catalogs
Featured Catalogs
People
Trendsetters
People Like You
Apps
Your apps
Discover apps
Get Advice
Top Questions
Your Q&A
Friends Asked
Ask A Question | Show All Questions
More on ShopYourWay
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Ed Poulin uploaded this on 5/28/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on June 7, 2012 | Source: Sears.com | Available At 3 Sellers
(314 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$169.99
Rewards
Earn 1700 SHOP YOUR WAY REWARDS℠ points on this item
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
It’s easy to keep your cool when the temperature rises with Kenmore’s™ 5200 BTU room air conditioner. The unit’s relatively light weight of just over 40 pounds allows for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power, 5200 BTUs, to cool small rooms and studio apartments.
This window air unit packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. A 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode let you control when the air conditioner is working.
This window air conditioner fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.
Read what Consumer Reports says about this Kenmore air conditioner and others.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24 Hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • One-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
95 Members
Like this product
Rona GregoryCynthia RandallStore AdminSears SunlandBarb BSHOSHANA FINN
89
84 Members
Want this product
Christine HollidayStore AdminDenise MaliaAngel Ponder
80
65 Members
Have this product
Store AdminHeather Blume
63
5M Members
Follow this product’s
Brand
Chip BeerbowerGerrel FreemanJanet Marie EthridgeNicole GlaserKelly Reed-KimpleTerri OwensTracey DickensTANLE NGUYENJess WieberJenny LawSophia Stucki
5M
27 Members
Follow this product’s
Category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinadebbie moellerscott dJoey STandra BanksMargot WilsonSean GallagherAnnette ShaverDavid Kidder
16
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (314 Ratings)
Overall score
9.5
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(314 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (137)
  • 4 Stars
    (99)
  • 3 Stars
    (29)
  • 2 Stars
    (18)
  • 1 Star
    (31)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
12 found this review helpful
by PianoPeddler
May 22nd, 2013
Cools nicely. Fan noisily splashes condensed water inside but can be fixed

It operates very quietly except that during humid days condensed water buildup on the bottom towards the back gets splashed around by the fan. The water hits the aluminum cooling fins and it sounds like fingernails scraping the fins. There was only one drainage hole on the bottom (beneath the compressor), so I drilled many more. Problem solved. Before drilling, I had tried mounting the unit at several angles slightly off horizontal, but the condensate buildup still occurred.

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by spzwd
June 27th, 2013
noisy and remote too hard to read

Bought this based on last year's consumer reports that rated it highly. The remote, and even the front panel, are almost impossible to see without a bright light. Also noisier than our other two small units. Has an intermittent scratching noise. You can get used to a regular noise, but one that comes and goes all night long just doesn't cut it. It's going back.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
babsinlkwd
RATED

Does the Job - Well!

Air conditioner was easy to install and puts out the right temp at the right time.

March 5th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
arnie_gun
RATED

Great for 10x10 bedroom

Very quiet on the eco mode and cools the room quickly

February 24th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bigman2920
RATED

Nice for the Price

I liked this a/c unit so much I bought 2 and the 8,000 btu unit just like it.

January 29th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Luckie12
RATED

the product is great

it is very easy to handle putting it in the window with one person not heavy at all and the price was great besides.

November 8th, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
praymorenow1
RATED

Cools well, louder than expected

It does cool well. I like the timer, sleep, cool, fan, energy savings features. Yes, the remote and ac face are impossible to read w/o a magnifying glass & flash light. Yes, the AC is much louder when in the cool/energy saving mode. More so than my 10 yr. old wall model I had...sad to say. It's in the wall already, & I'm stuck w/ it. But, quiet, not really. Not to me anyway. But in a 2nd story large room that gets very hot in the summer, it's OK. I turn the tv louder.

If I were to do it again, I'd plug it in when I took it out of the box to see how loud it was BEFORE installing it. Having bought 2 other Sears ac units w/o the same noise issue, it never occurred to me to do that.
Lesson learned.

November 2nd, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
gm
RATED

For the money and after 2 seasons, yes I would buy this unit again. Stay frosty!!

I purchased the 5,200 BTU air conditioner model # 70051 back in March 2012. My room measures 12'x15'x8' approx. Temps range from 80s to 90’s and high humidity in New Eng. Area. It worked perfectly. I still have no issue with the beeping volume or the operating noises either. I used the remote and the buttons on the machine and no ear shattering, blood curdling beeps occurred. Maybe some people stuck the wrong end out the window. The cons of this unit are that the Auto/energy saver setting would turn the unit off and on every few minutes or so. While this might be due to the smallish BTU's compared to the size of the room or the outside temperature I just left it on MEDIUM and it was fine. When I used the HIGH setting the room went from 90’s to 70’s in about an hour. Also, I don't like how I had to assemble the accordion panels or screw in to metal brackets but that's just nit picking really. The box is useless for storage but I bought this for the a/c inside. No leaks, drips or spils

October 30th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
palosi
RATED

Great A/C for a small area.

September 27th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MaryjoBrado
RATED

not clear enough

the display light is not bright enough for one to see and the remote is cheap--

September 27th, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
KaleiD
RATED

Buyer be warned

Do not buy this or the 8,000 BTU model. 2 of 2 units we've bought have NOT worked properly. The first one left a strange smell in the room. We purchased a warranty but since they could not recreate the surroundings (a small enclosed room) they could not smell anything. They couldn't find anything wrong with the unit so now were stuck with a smelly AC I will not use. We replace this with a little larger unit and while this one doesn't stink, it does not cool at all. Since it's permanently installed we called for on site service only to be told that they cannot repair it if they have to stand on a ladder. I guess part of the problem is the manufacturer and the other problem is Sears. I will NEVER purchase an appliance to warranty from them again. Ever!

September 25th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Wesley Blackstad
RATED
September 14th, 2013
atjam
RATED

We expected a little more

September 13th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JohnnyBoyz
RATED

Good Air Conditioner

It is a little hard to read unit and remote but it has kept us cool through the heat wave.

September 12th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bmarqu9
RATED

Love the product!

September 7th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
craftsmanguy90
RATED

Great A/C!

September 7th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kyssle
RATED

I love this air conditioner.

We purchased this during the winter months and got a great price. It is quiet, this is a huge factor in my rating. No vibrating sounds! No loud motor! Cools the room down very quickly. Filter is very easy to clean. Installation is a breeze. I loved this one so much I bought another and I also bought one with a higher BTU. All 3 are great! If you are on the fence about buying this, don't be. It is one of the quietest air conditioners we have owned.

September 6th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
renee88
RATED

Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

September 2nd, 2013 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JROdom
RATED

Excellent small AC

I had a 8000 BTU portable AC that I was using but it did not cool well, portable units seems to be much less efficient than window units for a variety of reasons I will not go into. Just purchased this AC yesterday as it has been extremely hot for my area and time of year. It keeps the bedroom I am using it in much cooler than the portable unit I was previously using. Highly recommended unit for smaller rooms. As I have only had it for 24 hours I will probably do another review at a later date after more time with the unit.

September 1st, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
chicory1951
RATED

Don't believe all the negative reviews

91 degree 79% humidity in house. Used this unit to cool 2 rooms. Within 1 hr temp dropped 7 degrees and 8%. Elderly on limited income. Used on 5 hot occasions since. Electric bill only went up a few bucks. Lifesaver. Negative reviews put me off but this size unit was on sale and only one left, I bought it cashing in my rewards points and using Sears card. Yes, lifesaver.

August 30th, 2013 via kmart.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
John_in_Maryland
RATED

Great AC - Great Value

I am using this AC in a bedroom that is slightly larger than the rated square footage for this size unit and the room and the room receives full afternoon sun. Despite these conditions this unit cools the room very quickly and while no window AC is really quite, this is quitter than any other window AC that I've had in any room over the past ten years. As a bonus it is about one of the most energy efficient AC's on the market. There are two negatives with this AC. The first is minor. The sleek black panel on the front looks neat but it makes reading the controls very hard. The remote is not much better. The second negative is more serious since it involves performance. When using Energy Saver mode the unit cycles on and off periodically to sample the room temp. When the room temp raises high enough the unit will turn on to re-cool the room. The problem is that it allows the room temp to rise too much to make using this mode practical.

August 29th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
KATHY MOORE
RATED
August 26th, 2013
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
how do I get a copy of my receipt?
by JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI 
July 29th, 2013
Millie
Hi! If you need a receipt and you are a Bonus Member and have opted-in to receive e-receipts you can check your regular email account to get a copy of your e-receipt. If you are needing to do a return/exchange at a Sears/Kmart store and you used your SYWR # when you made your purchase you don't need a receipt just give them your SYWR #. If you are just wanting to check something about your transaction and don't need an actual receipt you can look under "Rewards Pts" tab and "View your account history". If none of that helps you and you really need a receipt contact the store where you made the purchase and if they are willing and able they may be able to get you a copy of your receipt.
Answered in 24 hours
by Millie
July 30th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
Patricia Maile
What are the dimensions?
by Patricia Maile 
June 2nd, 2012
scott d
The dimensions are as follows:
Cabinet Depth (in.): 14
Cabinet Height (in.): 12.5
Cabinet Width (in.): 18.5
Maximum Window Dimensions: 36 inches wide
Minimum Window Dimensions: 23 inches wide and 14 inches tall
by scott d
September 6th, 2012
| Be the first to comment