Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Ed Poulin uploaded this on 5/28/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(719 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$179.99
Rewards
You can earn:1,800 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner - Efficient and Earth-Friendly Cooling
When the temperature rises, keep your cool with the Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner 7005. The unit is relatively lightweight at just over 40 pounds, allowing for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power to cool small rooms and studio apartments. It packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. Also, a 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode give you ultimate control.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch electronic controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
228 members
Like this product
CJoy DavidJohn  VenturiMarilyn OMMICHELE HAWKINSMAX - join my minions - MOORENicole Staffordannemarie boggs
221
237 members
Want this product
NANCY BENZINGERJohn  VenturiStacy MelendezGumecindo VillanuevaSeth E.
232
136 members
Have this product
Peter LetendreJohn  Venturisand statueRose HowardAlexzandrea Nicole
131
5M members
Follow this product's
brand
Vanina DelobelleLauri JoffeTom RaafGEORGE A CHAMBERSSusan YagherCalvin ReamesJenny GundermanBrittany StevensMelissa NoelSharon Stuarttchahooa
5M
63 members
Follow this product's
category
Sherry LaBradaJamie MDominic  LaCaverascott dlisa hunterTom McDonaldDavid T. Reidvicki boothejerilee adamsWanda  KendrickDiedra Sullivan
52
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (719 Ratings)
Overall score
9.4
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(719 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (168)
  • 4 Stars
    (115)
  • 3 Stars
    (34)
  • 2 Stars
    (20)
  • 1 Star
    (42)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by renee88
September 2nd, 2013
Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by spzwd
June 27th, 2013
noisy and remote too hard to read

Bought this based on last year's consumer reports that rated it highly. The remote, and even the front panel, are almost impossible to see without a bright light. Also noisier than our other two small units. Has an intermittent scratching noise. You can get used to a regular noise, but one that comes and goes all night long just doesn't cut it. It's going back.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Zilpha

Awesome Air Conditioner

|

This air conditioner was easy to install and provides great cooling. It is not noisy, and the remote makes it easy to control. The energy saver is a great asset. Many thanks!

17 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
131313lw

it was a good deal

|

23 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Phyllis7575

Window air conditioner

|

Very good

28 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
terry1500

great little unit

|

we purchased this a/c unit for our master bedroom and we couldn't be more pleased. installation was simple works great.

June 30th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
WandAsMommy

Price is rivht

|

We bought two of these for our bedrooms. For the price they are excellent. We put fans in the bedroom doorways during the day and it cools the whole house! Happy with our purchase!! Highly recommend. The remote is an awesome feature too when your in bed and are too cold or not and want to turn it on or off.

June 26th via kmart.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jerry357

SMOOTH OPERATION

|

This is a very good AC that keeps me comfortable in the summer. It runs well and does a great job of cooing off the room. I would recommend this product.

June 19th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RACN33

Real Cool

|

Works great in cooling off a small bedroom.

June 15th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ahavassy

Cool quiet nights

|

I have been looking for a small light air conditioner for a while so that I could retire a large old "boat anchor" window unit which I would alway dread moving because it weighsu so much. I looked at at lots of units but this one really fit the bill. It is low on electricity and high on being cool and really quiet and best of all it is light (about 40 lbs) so it's easy to install. Perfect for our bedroom

June 12th via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gnugs

Leaks

|

No matter how it's adjusted in the window, it leaks water. Rusts and stains siding

June 11th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gnugs

Leaks

|

No matter the adjustment, water leaks out the back. Also rusts and stains siding.

June 11th via sears.com
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ron44

Cools room down quickly but has intermittent noises

|

This makes a nice bedroom air conditioner. It definitely cools a room down quickly. I measured a 20 degree drop in temperature from the air inlet to the air outlet on top. If you want more dehumidification, set the fan speed to low. Now on to the complaints. One, the color scheme for the controls leaves a lot to be desired. Like some others have said, you have to shine a bright light to see some of the controls. Same with the remote. Two, at times the air conditioner makes noises that sounds like "metallic snap-pops". Yes, my unit is properly angled as per the instructions. Those are two things that hold this unit back for being an excellent little A/C unit. Other than that, its great.

June 9th via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
john landschoot
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore

if it smells like band aids its not normal or good take it back.

|

purchased 2 of these in store same day. right out of the box one of them stunk like bandaids. looked up issue on line and found the smell is related to the oil used in the coolant there fore there was a leak. second unit being returned tonight for the same thing. i twas running excellent. then we came in the room the other night after an evening trip and the room stunk again like band aids. and the unit was on 70 and the room was 75. it was 68 out side. to bad really . i like most of my kenmore products.

June 8th
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
cz-man

Nice little unit after a year

|

Bought this last year for a kid's room. Small, light, but surprisingly powerful. Quiet, nice controls, works very well. Only minor annoyance is that one louvre on the left side cracked, but I'll buy a replacement part.

Also it looks nice. And quiet. I'd say it is an excellent value, buy it.

June 2nd via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
small-but-cute

good with remote control

|

Good but like to have an option of direct condensed water drain to ground instead of forced evaporation. thx.

May 22nd via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
GrouchoMarxist

Great unit for the money

|

I'm a bit confused about some of the bad reviews of this product. I did a through the wall installation of this window unit (I have sliding windows so they're not set up for that type of installation)(it took a little more work, just a small wood frame, but I was ok with that because I didn't want to buy the much more expensive 230 v unit and had only about 156 sq. feet to cool anyway). The unit is quiet and does the job it was rated for. The ONLY complaint I have about this model is that the remote is unlit and it is a pain in the **** at night to operate. Just as a reminder because I know others might want to do this since the window units are usually much less expensive than the through the wall ones, just make sure that there is enough room in the sleeve to allow some air circulation. A tight fit will cause the unit to malfunction and burn out.

May 5th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Kayzlane

Kool for the price!

|

January 8th via kmart.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Libshoppe

Really Cool ! !

|

Don't bother with the extended warranty ... you won't need it. In any case, this unit is so inexpensive, you'd be better off just getting a new one than investing in the warranty. Quiet, Light weight. Easy to install. A good product for a reasonable price.

January 1st via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Troy10001110101

Works well

|

I have had this item for 3 years now. Still works as good as the day I first installed it. I remove it every winter and store it in the box it came in. Very easy to install and remove. I like the remote and the energy saving feature!

November 15th, 2014 via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Acts1336

Works hard to cool 160sf room with vaulted ceiling

|

We bought this to cool an add-on bedroom. It's 160sf, with a very high ceiling, and this unit keeps it cool, but doesn't ever get it to feel cold. Would recommend for a small room with 8'-10' ceilings...nothing more.

September 12th, 2014 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
betben2014

Too loud for comfort

|

This is the worst unit I have ever purchased. Very disappointed. It sounds like it is coming apart on the inside. The noise comes from the fan splashing water onto the condensing coil to help improve efficiency. Terrible idea. Good idea if you do not sit in the same room with it on. Do not purchase this product. IT WILL DRIVE YOU CRAZY!!!!!!!!

August 29th, 2014 via kenmore.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? 70% of Shop Your Way questions are answered in less than 24 hours!
Show all questions
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
July 29th, 2013
Answered in 24 hours
M  I
Hi! If you need a receipt and you are a Bonus Member and have opted-in to receive e-receipts you can check your regular email account to get a copy of your e-receipt. If you are needing to do a return/exchange at a Sears/Kmart store and you used your SYWR # when you made your purchase you don't need a receipt just give them your SYWR #. If you are just wanting to check something about your transaction and don't need an actual receipt you can look under "Rewards Pts" tab and "View your account history". If none of that helps you and you really need a receipt contact the store where you made the purchase and if they are willing and able they may be able to get you a copy of your receipt.
By M I
July 30th, 2013
Claudio Santos
June 30th, 2013
Answered in 6 minutes
Shop Your Way
Claudio, please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
By Shop Your Way
June 30th, 2013
John Stasio
June 1st, 2013
Answered in 1 hours
Shop Your Way
Please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
By Shop Your Way
June 1st, 2013
Patricia Maile
What are the dimensions?
June 2nd, 2012
Answered in 10 minutes
chris neis
Cabinet Depth (in.): 14
Cabinet Height (in.): 12.5
Cabinet Width (in.): 18.5
By chris neis
June 2nd, 2012