Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Ed Poulin uploaded this on 5/28/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(729 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$179.99
Rewards
You can earn:1,800 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner - Efficient and Earth-Friendly Cooling
When the temperature rises, keep your cool with the Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner 7005. The unit is relatively lightweight at just over 40 pounds, allowing for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power to cool small rooms and studio apartments. It packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. Also, a 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode give you ultimate control.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch electronic controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
241 members
Like this product
CJoy DavidJohn  VenturiKAREN HOOVERMarilyn OMMICHELE HAWKINSMax - ALL FIRED UP - MooreNicole Stafford
234
242 members
Want this product
NANCY BENZINGERRandy NorrisALETHEA CALLAHANJohn  VenturiStacy MelendezGumecindo VillanuevaSeth E.
235
145 members
Have this product
Peter LetendreJohn  Venturisand statueLinda HenryAnonymous AnonymousRose HowardAlexzandrea Nicole
138
68 members
Follow this product's
category
Sherry LaBradaJamie MDominic  LaCaverascott dlisa hunterTom McDonaldDavid T. Reidvicki bootheWanda  KendrickDiedra SullivanConnie Turley
57
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (729 Ratings)
Overall score
10.0
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(729 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (175)
  • 4 Stars
    (117)
  • 3 Stars
    (35)
  • 2 Stars
    (20)
  • 1 Star
    (42)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by renee88
September 2nd, 2013
Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by spzwd
June 27th, 2013
noisy and remote too hard to read

Bought this based on last year's consumer reports that rated it highly. The remote, and even the front panel, are almost impossible to see without a bright light. Also noisier than our other two small units. Has an intermittent scratching noise. You can get used to a regular noise, but one that comes and goes all night long just doesn't cut it. It's going back.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Janine Williams
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore
10 days ago
jholiprosad

what head line

|

price was excellent, i need a air conditioner in my guest bedroom, i was waiting for the price to come down and it did, i am so satisfied with my purchase and it i need another one i would purchase one again. this purchase make my room so nice n cold

17 days ago via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
OrangeTabby8

OK AC

|

It's not a quiet AC, so the fan and cooling are distracting at night. It doesn't have much of noise reduction from the outside; so if cars pass by, you can hear the engine noise. It does the job, the eco mode doesn't seem to work very well either.

19 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
w0by

Quiet A/C, nice LED panel

|

I've used several window A/C's over the past 15 years or so, this machine is very quiet, sounds like a fan going, you can hear the compressor a little bit it's much more quiet than any other window A/C unit I've owned and doesn't keep you up at night. The only thing I don't like is you can hear water moving around when there's a lot of humidity, but it seems all of the newer units do this. I had one in the past and I drilled a hole in it and it lasted 20 years and never made the water noise again..so whatever!

26 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
GVITALI GOLGSHDEYL
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore
August 4th
Christina311

A/C

|

Easy to installed, cools really well in my guest room and into the hallway

July 31st via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
HBazan52

Great AC

|

This AC is very quiet and serves our purpose very well.

July 29th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
VickieinOregon

Very Cool and Quiet

|

Purchased this model to cool our living room and it does a great job. Even was able to convert it to fit a horizontal slide window with a little ingenuity. I've only had it for 3 weeks, but so far so good.

July 29th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ACPurchase

We purchased 3 window units of the 5,200 BTU. They cool great and work

|

They work great

July 24th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
rtaylorta

Bedroom A/C

|

Good A/C for one room. Works fast. Easy to install. Remote makes it a breeze.

July 20th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Zilpha

Awesome Air Conditioner

|

This air conditioner was easy to install and provides great cooling. It is not noisy, and the remote makes it easy to control. The energy saver is a great asset. Many thanks!

July 14th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
131313lw

it was a good deal

|

July 8th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Phyllis7575

Window air conditioner

|

Very good

July 3rd via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
terry1500

great little unit

|

we purchased this a/c unit for our master bedroom and we couldn't be more pleased. installation was simple works great.

June 30th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
WandAsMommy

Price is rivht

|

We bought two of these for our bedrooms. For the price they are excellent. We put fans in the bedroom doorways during the day and it cools the whole house! Happy with our purchase!! Highly recommend. The remote is an awesome feature too when your in bed and are too cold or not and want to turn it on or off.

June 26th via kmart.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jerry357

SMOOTH OPERATION

|

This is a very good AC that keeps me comfortable in the summer. It runs well and does a great job of cooing off the room. I would recommend this product.

June 19th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RACN33

Real Cool

|

Works great in cooling off a small bedroom.

June 15th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ahavassy

Cool quiet nights

|

I have been looking for a small light air conditioner for a while so that I could retire a large old "boat anchor" window unit which I would alway dread moving because it weighsu so much. I looked at at lots of units but this one really fit the bill. It is low on electricity and high on being cool and really quiet and best of all it is light (about 40 lbs) so it's easy to install. Perfect for our bedroom

June 12th via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gnugs

Leaks

|

No matter how it's adjusted in the window, it leaks water. Rusts and stains siding

June 11th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gnugs

Leaks

|

No matter the adjustment, water leaks out the back. Also rusts and stains siding.

June 11th via sears.com
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? There are over 1,000 experts on Shop Your Way waiting to answer your question!
Show all questions
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
July 29th, 2013
Answered in 24 hours
M  I
By M I
July 30th, 2013
Claudio Santos
June 30th, 2013
Answered in 6 minutes
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 30th, 2013
John Stasio
June 1st, 2013
Answered in 1 hours
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 1st, 2013
Patricia Maile
What are the dimensions?
June 2nd, 2012
Answered in 10 minutes
chris neis
By chris neis
June 2nd, 2012