Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Ed Poulin uploaded this on 5/28/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on May 19, 2010
(329 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$169.99
Rewards
Earn 1,700 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
It’s easy to keep your cool when the temperature rises with Kenmore’s™ 5200 BTU room air conditioner. The unit’s relatively light weight of just over 40 pounds allows for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power, 5200 BTUs, to cool small rooms and studio apartments.
This window air unit packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. A 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode let you control when the air conditioner is working.
This window air conditioner fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.
Read what Consumer Reports says about this Kenmore air conditioner and others.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24 Hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • One-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Star Qualified
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
146 members
Like this product
Rona GregoryCYNTHIA RIBNISCKYCynthia RandallStore AdminSears SunlandLynn EstepBarb BJOHN VENTURISHOSHANA FINNJaron CalisteMax Moore
135
128 members
Want this product
CYNTHIA RIBNISCKYnickey simmonsElizabeth McQuaidChristine HollidayStore AdminDenise MaliaJOHN VENTURIKeisha GabbidonAngel PonderDEBORAH TYLERwilda vanover
117
88 members
Have this product
Store AdminJOHN VENTURIHeather BlumeIfeoluwapo TalabiHeavenlySteals SearsKmart Number 1 ShopperAnthony Prado
82
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Jamie WilsonYaquanda BakerSAMMY DAVIS RODRIGUEZELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaPAMELA GRIFFITHSTeresa Elwartowski MoonJames ParkerFAATIMAHCarin Thompson
5M
42 members
Follow this product’s
category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinaiyrodriguez29debbie moellerzoila riverascott dJoey SDenise Brownlisa hunterMargot Wilson
31
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (329 Ratings)
Overall score
9.5
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(329 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (143)
  • 4 Stars
    (102)
  • 3 Stars
    (30)
  • 2 Stars
    (18)
  • 1 Star
    (36)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by renee88
September 2nd, 2013
Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by spzwd
June 27th, 2013
noisy and remote too hard to read

Bought this based on last year's consumer reports that rated it highly. The remote, and even the front panel, are almost impossible to see without a bright light. Also noisier than our other two small units. Has an intermittent scratching noise. You can get used to a regular noise, but one that comes and goes all night long just doesn't cut it. It's going back.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
cuda-2253
RATED

cools like bigger unit

it is a little noisy at times but not horrible. cools real well

14 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Toomuchwater
RATED

No water drain hole in back of unit

This unit as most of them on the market today have no water drain in back of unit.After using it a few hours, inside of window was water soaked. Cools well but inside the window woodwork was soaking wet. I am not satisfied with the performance of this model

14 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
joenyc
RATED

in need of frequent repairs

I bought this unit to replace a comparable Kenmore when the fan broke right after it went off it's 5 year warrenty. I want to like it-but I just cannot. The first one they delivered was defective and blew hot air. Sears relaced it and the second one was cracked. Now I am on #3 and the motor bearings are worn after the second summer of very little use.
Sears does live up to it's repair warrenty-but you have to wait weeks to get it fixed then they don't have the part and you have to wait some more. PLEASE SEARS- go back to the OLD RELIABLE KEMORES!!

15 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
loupat1307
RATED

doesn't cool

I bought this for my daughters bedroom and it doesn't cool anything. Her room is only 10x12. I thought it would be a great unit for her small bedroom..... wrong. I have to be right next to it just to feel ANY cool air. You walk into her room and it feels like she just has a fan going. I am taking it back to night. I will go somewhere else to find a better unit.

18 days ago via sears.com
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
sjseyler
RATED

Kenmore 5200 BTU room air conditioner

This air conditioner is much quieter than our previous one. Now we are able to sleep while it is running.

21 days ago via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
olefarmer
RATED

cool sleeping

This air conditioner is so quiet that my wife feels it calms her to sleep. I am a happy man.

22 days ago via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mrschisox93
RATED

great air conditioner

This is a nice quiet room air conditioner. I had one for 2 seasons and we decided that we needed another one. Our son likes it in his room. with 3 machines, our apartment is comfortable.

28 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JTig01
RATED

Great A/C unit

Just put this unit in last night. It cooled my room quickly and efficiently. Love that it has a remote and an auto control -- definitely think this is going to save me on my electricity bill. I haven't used the sleep function yet, but interesting that it gradually increases by 4 degrees over an hour and then maintains.

28 days ago via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CoolJazz
RATED

Cold Air at Last

This is a good air conditioner, keeps the room comfortable even in the 90+ temp.

June 23rd via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Vcon
RATED

Not Happy

Worked great f or about 2 days. Very noisey, not cooling room that well.already need to call a repair man to check it out. Only have had it 2 weeks

June 19th via sears.com
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Matline
RATED

GREAT Air conditioner

Cools the room just right. can be controlled by remote. has different levels to adjust the cooling. GREAT!

June 15th via kmart.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
goodole312
RATED

decent air conditioner

decent quality cools the room nicely just can not figure out why they would not put a drain hole in the unit, even with the bulge at the bottom for water to flow into to evaporate it still fills quickly on a humid day and flicks the water back up to the unit causing a loud pinging sound, annoying from an otherwise quiet machine

June 5th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
maaaa
RATED

great little air conditioner

it's in my grandsons room where he is a "gamer", so therfore he has 3 gaming monitors and 3 xbox's. he a "very cool" gamer now. he loves it..

June 3rd via sears.com
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MeaghanM
RATED

Not satisfied with quality

I purchased this air conditioner in August 2011. After two full seasons of summer use, the unit is broken. Low quality product.

May 18th via sears.com
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JaceyReynolds
RATED

Wow

My husband and I just bought this unit because our ancient GE unit finally stopped putting out cold air. It's only been in the window for 10 minutes, and the room is really nice and cool. It's 86 degrees outside right now. We were unsure about the styrofoam inside the unit, but the instructions did not say to remove it, so we didn't. Our window frame is metal, so we used duct tape around it to seal it up and hold it in place. He used the foam tape that came with it for the top of the window. I don't know why. Definitely make sure the unit is slanted so that it drains well. I have no problem seeing the display ,and it is nearly dusk. Haven't used the remote yet. So far so good. :)

April 12th via sears.com
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
babsinlkwd
RATED

Does the Job - Well!

Air conditioner was easy to install and puts out the right temp at the right time.

March 5th via sears.com
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
arnie_gun
RATED

Great for 10x10 bedroom

Very quiet on the eco mode and cools the room quickly

February 24th via sears.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bigman2920
RATED

Nice for the Price

I liked this a/c unit so much I bought 2 and the 8,000 btu unit just like it.

January 29th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Luckie12
RATED

the product is great

it is very easy to handle putting it in the window with one person not heavy at all and the price was great besides.

November 8th, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
praymorenow1
RATED

Cools well, louder than expected

It does cool well. I like the timer, sleep, cool, fan, energy savings features. Yes, the remote and ac face are impossible to read w/o a magnifying glass & flash light. Yes, the AC is much louder when in the cool/energy saving mode. More so than my 10 yr. old wall model I had...sad to say. It's in the wall already, & I'm stuck w/ it. But, quiet, not really. Not to me anyway. But in a 2nd story large room that gets very hot in the summer, it's OK. I turn the tv louder.

If I were to do it again, I'd plug it in when I took it out of the box to see how loud it was BEFORE installing it. Having bought 2 other Sears ac units w/o the same noise issue, it never occurred to me to do that.
Lesson learned.

November 2nd, 2013 via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
how do I get a copy of my receipt?
by JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI 
July 29th, 2013
Millie
Hi! If you need a receipt and you are a Bonus Member and have opted-in to receive e-receipts you can check your regular email account to get a copy of your e-receipt. If you are needing to do a return/exchange at a Sears/Kmart store and you used your SYWR # when you made your purchase you don't need a receipt just give them your SYWR #. If you are just wanting to check something about your transaction and don't need an actual receipt you can look under "Rewards Pts" tab and "View your account history". If none of that helps you and you really need a receipt contact the store where you made the purchase and if they are willing and able they may be able to get you a copy of your receipt.
Answered in 24 hours
by Millie
July 30th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
Patricia Maile
What are the dimensions?
by Patricia Maile 
June 2nd, 2012
scott d
The dimensions are as follows:
Cabinet Depth (in.): 14
Cabinet Height (in.): 12.5
Cabinet Width (in.): 18.5
Maximum Window Dimensions: 36 inches wide
Minimum Window Dimensions: 23 inches wide and 14 inches tall
by scott d
September 6th, 2012
| Be the first to comment