Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Richard Arbizo uploaded this on 6/30/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
. Cville uploaded this on 7/11/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(343 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$219.99
Rewards
You can earn:2,200 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 8,000-BTU Room Air Conditioner - Powerful and Efficient Cooling
The Kenmore Room Air Conditioner 7908 has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The unit boasts electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 sq. ft.
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • ENERGY STARĀ® rated
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
194 members
Like this product
sheila smolinskiKathryn DeardorffLynn EstepJohn  Venturiannemarie boggsANTONIO RIVERA
188
192 members
Want this product
Linda HenrySarah LandKelly DaloiaSeth E.
188
124 members
Have this product
Cynthia RandallPeter LetendreDeborah CaugheyLinda HenryBeverly Felix
119
5M members
Follow this product's
brand
Jonathan MitchellTiffanyKIM MUMAWYesenia GomezChristy CoxCATHY NICLEYDana FloraMelanie EyinkDeborah Clatterbuckmary mcmenamyrobert palladino
5M
61 members
Follow this product's
category
Sherry LaBradaJamie MDominic  LaCaverascott dlisa hunterTom McDonaldDavid T. Reidvicki boothejerilee adamsWanda  KendrickDiedra Sullivan
50

Overall Rating:

Average:
(343 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (150)
  • 4 Stars
    (117)
  • 3 Stars
    (30)
  • 2 Stars
    (19)
  • 1 Star
    (27)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

Criticism
9 found this review helpful
by Sbenson534
July 10th, 2013
What Happened to Kenmore Quality?

We had two Kenmore air conditioners and that is why we decided to purchase another. The sales reps really pushed for us to buy this unit and we really did not take the time to inspect the display model. Wow what a disappointment. Installation was easy enough but the unit itself is really chintzy. The ventilation system has only baffles that don't direct the air flow well. The remote is not for older people...one can barely read it. The unit is not sealed well it looks like the styrofoam from the old time cooler chests, instead of plastic and it is pieced together and not sealed where the pieces meet. I do not think I would buy another Kenmore after this. We had a 5100 btu that did not cool the entire room (12 x17) so we wanted an a/c with higher btu and energy savings. That 5100 unit was made much better and the remote was more user friendly. Truly disappointed.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
mckinn324

I NEEDED SOME COOL AIR, FOUND THE BEST DEAL, DEPENDABLE KENMORE

|

FOUND THE BEST DEAL, DEPENDABLE KENMORE

10 days ago via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
starrroad

more noise than my snoring

|

My wife has difficulty sleeping with this unit. It will cool then slip into "noise" mode and create a roaring noise that I can not seem to isolate. She find this very disturbing and will more to the couch leaving me the ENTIRE bed. Our Sears 18K BTU unit is quieter. Considering switching it with the one in the guest bedroom. Box had some damage and later we discovered a crack in the case. If I hadn't thrown away the packing and box I would have returned it.

11 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
glsduatir

Work Great, Fit perfectly

|

11 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
teleman82

It's a Kenmore !!

|

I live in manufactured home which are notorious for getting very hot.
Even though I have central air it doesn't seem to cool the far end of the house very well. This Kenmore unit does a very good job of cooling this room, as the room is used for daycare it must remain livable for the kids.
The unit itself works very well and was an easy install and I really like the remote control. I bought an A/C unit that was a little larger than the room size called for, but I have always shopped that way. You know what they say ! bigger is better. I gave it four stars because I haven't had it very long yet and longevity means a lot and this weekend it is supposed to be up around a 100 degrees. We will see how it does against that.......Mark

11 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mjsyracuse

Nice unit but not could be better

|

I purchased this for my mother's senior apartment. The unit is light and easily installed. One of the side panels was cracked right near where the screw goes that secures it to the window. I haven't contacted Sears about it yet. The unit is very quiet and does a nice job of cooling her apartment. The main complaint is that the controls on the unit are hard to read, as well as the remote. Definitely not senior citizen friendly to operate.

12 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
unclecharlie1947

good ac

|

nice unit pretty quite does a good job for the money

20 days ago via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
fan_taz_tic

Small Unit, BIG Heart

|

This A/C unit will be my 2 season (Spring/Fall) upstairs bedroom cooling solution. Just 20 days old, but I give it 2 thumbs up.

June 4th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Leo3

Great ac for the price

|

I love it nice f

June 2nd via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gina Paulino
| Earned 0 community points in Kenmore
May 30th
GREG CRAWFORD
| Earned 0 community points in Kenmore
May 13th
Patrick-Lorraine Cherry-Rocco
| Earned 0 community points in Kenmore

Falsely Advertised as "Location sensing...remote"?? This unit does NOT have this feature!

|

I purchased this unit specifically because of the: " Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote "
This is advertised on the website. This ac Kenmore 8000 btu model #79081 DOES NOT HAVE this feature! If you purchase this unit for this feature you will be disappointed. I returned mine and purchased a Hanover 8000 btu that does have the temp sensing remote.

April 22nd
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
steveE.

Love it!

|

Have 2 of these, and they work together with fans keeping the house comfortable 24 hours a day. Run fans and Fridgidaire A/C in 2 other bedrooms at night. Electric bill up $70-$100 in the summer months, but could probably be lower if we remembered to turn off bedroom a/c's every day during the day.

March 9th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bookerta60

Be wary

|

Did not last a month. The fancy stuff stopped

November 12th, 2014 via sears.com
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
741686

quiet and works well compared to others

|

Just bought the kenmore after returnnig one bought at *****.
Kenmore is great.

October 23rd, 2014 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
TinaKhan

Tina

|

I bought it for my small unit apartment and install in the living room, which gives enough cooling for entire apartment . I also use fans for extra cooling,if the weather is too hot.Not noisy.

October 3rd, 2014 via mobile | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
HappyCustomer.

Great A/C at a great price

|

When my mothers 25 year old a/c broke down this close to fall I was afraid I might not find a suitable replacement so late in the season. A friend has an older Kenmore window unit that runs quite and keeps her whole house cool so I went to Sears in search of one for my mother. Found just want I wanted!! This unit runs quite and cools better than I had expected. We've only had it a couple of weeks but so far are very happy with the performance.

September 24th, 2014 via sears.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
reneei

Kenmore AC

|

Love it! Keeps me cool in this humid weather we are experiencing.

September 17th, 2014 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jo88

window a/c

|

Had this installed in the wall and it does a great job and looks fine.

September 9th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
REY2

Room air conditioner

|

Other than the dimensions on the box not reflecting the dimensions needed to fit the air conditioner in the window the installation was easy and the air conditioner works very well. The remote control is a real convenience.

September 8th, 2014 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Penquin68

Keeping Things Cool

|

Works like a charm and quickly cools down the back bedroom plus some. Relatively quiet and easy installation.

September 2nd, 2014 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? Over 250,000 shopping questions have already been answered on Shop Your Way!
Show all questions
Carrie Clifford
I need a loud A/C, is it?
27 days ago
Answered in 15 hours
Member Assist
Posted by Joseph M. from Sears The Gardens:

There is a decible rating on the unit. You can check online or sears.com

Need Further Assistance? Check out my page ma.syw.net?a=JosephHelp268
By Member Assist
27 days ago
Jeff Davenport
June 26th, 2013
Answered in 51 minutes
Shop Your Way
Please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
By Shop Your Way
June 26th, 2013
LINDA CURTIS
June 3rd, 2013
Answered in 6 minutes
LINDA CURTIS
Would like points to be added to my card. Would not have purchased except for points. False advertising or waiting for points to expire?
By LINDA CURTIS
June 3rd, 2013
PETER NETKA
June 1st, 2013
James Sheets
When logged into shopyourway.com look at the top-right corner, where it says Rewards Points, click that, then click "click to view" next to PIN #.
By James Sheets
June 7th, 2013
phil76eagl
May 9th, 2012
Lyle W
If you get 20% off the $199.49 and then another 5% then the final price would be $151.61 according to my calculations. The cost of a 2 year in-shop Sears Master Protection Agreement would be $29.99. The 3 year plan would be $44.99.
By Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
Fred Guadarrama
May 3rd, 2012
Lyle W
I am not aware of any member discounts. The points that you earn can be used as a discount off of future purchases.
By Lyle W
August 28th, 2012