Skip to content
Kenmore

Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
$219.99
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 2,200 points
Add To Cart
Description Specifications
Kenmore 8,000-BTU Room Air Conditioner - Powerful and Efficient Cooling
The Kenmore Room Air Conditioner 7908 has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The unit boasts electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 sq. ft.
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating:

Average
(680 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (162)
  • 4 Stars
    (120)
  • 3 Stars
    (31)
  • 2 Stars
    (22)
  • 1 Star
    (32)
  • Read Reviews
Member Photos

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
By LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

14 found this review helpful
Criticism
By kaybece
August 24th, 2015
Not as expected

I purchased this unit in the summer of 2013 to replace a 6000BTU unit that wasn't cooling like I needed it to. (200sq ft room). This unit is not any better. On a 95 degree day, I can only get my room temp down to 82 with the a/c set on 74. The air directional are a joke, as are the remote and the display, which can't be seen in the dark. At the start of this season, the third year of use, I started to hear a gurgling noise coming from the unit. Upon further inspection, there is a lot of water in the unit and mold has been found growing all through the inside, causing breathing problems, even for those non allergic.

15 found this review helpful
Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
COOKIE  MIAMI
| Earned 83 community points in Man Cave

A Superb Product- The 8,000 BTU Kenmore Room Air Conditioner

|

This 8,000 BTU- Kenmore Room Air Conditioner is just great! I have it in my bedroom and the air quality is just superb! I sleep nice and cool every night and during the day it really cools the room especially in the summer. It is energy efficient as well as earth friendly. I have recommended this Kenmore room air conditioner to my family and friends for its great performance and quality. Thank you Kmart/Sears for this great product! I give it two thumbs up!

October 1st
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
TERRA NAELITZ
| Earned 776 community points in Kenmore
July 1st
Sardaralam

Good Ac

|

This is a pretty good ac, just perfect for our room.

June 13th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
omarcito647

Not working properly

|

it`s not cooling not even 50 foot away...

June 11th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Printman60.

8000 kenmore AC

|

This AC seems to be of high quality had everything for every type install and is working great!

June 10th via mobile
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
IWelch

Love the Air conditioner

|

Has perform very well.

April 12th via sears.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
TkNoodleZ

Works great for small room!

|

My Kenmore 8000 btu works just as it is supposed to. It is a little heavy, but that's because it packs a lot of power while also being energy sufficient. I would definetely purchase another one for a small sized room.

March 10th via mobile | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
be nice
| Earned 168 community points in Kenmore

one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen sev

|

one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen seventeen eighteen nineteen twenty

November 24th, 2015
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Questions & Answers (7) See All
Want to know something? Ask a question
CHERYL DESHEILDS
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
July 8th, 2015
Answered in 3 hours
Member Assist
By Member Assist
July 8th, 2015
Carrie Clifford
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 8th, 2015
Answered in 15 hours
Member Assist
By Member Assist
June 8th, 2015
Jeff Davenport
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 26th, 2013
Answered in 51 minutes
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 26th, 2013