Departments
Brands
Top Brands
Brands You Follow
Stores
Nearby
You Visited
You Follow
You Search For
Topics
Hottests Topics
Catalogs
Featured Catalogs
People
Trendsetters
People Like You
Apps
Your apps
Discover apps
Get Advice
Top Questions
Your Q&A
Friends Asked
Ask A Question | Show All Questions
More on ShopYourWay
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Richard Arbizo uploaded this on 6/30/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
. Cville uploaded this on 7/11/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on June 18, 2012 | Source: Sears.com | Available At 3 Sellers
(277 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$219.99
Rewards
Earn 2200 SHOP YOUR WAY REWARDS℠ points on this item
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
The Kenmore 79081  room air conditioner has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The  unit has electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. This window air conditioner fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 square feet
  • 24 Hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • One-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
99 Members
Like this product
Sarah LopezShirlkathryn balasascott dKRISTEN PETERSONLisa GutmanAngel Ponder
92
93 Members
Want this product
JJCynthia RandallScott Maxwellkathryn balasaDenise MaliaKRISTEN PETERSONAngel Ponder
86
52 Members
Have this product
LJ BrewerChrystal DrewHEATHER MOONCynthia RandallBarb B
47
5M Members
Follow this product’s
Brand
Chip BeerbowerGerrel FreemanJanet Marie EthridgeNicole GlaserKelly Reed-KimpleTerri OwensTracey DickensTANLE NGUYENJess WieberJenny LawSophia Stucki
5M
27 Members
Follow this product’s
Category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinadebbie moellerscott dJoey STandra BanksYer YangMargot WilsonAnnette ShaverDavid Kidder
16
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (277 Ratings)
Overall score
9.2
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(277 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (119)
  • 4 Stars
    (94)
  • 3 Stars
    (27)
  • 2 Stars
    (16)
  • 1 Star
    (21)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

Criticism
5 found this review helpful
by Sbenson534
July 10th, 2013
What Happened to Kenmore Quality?

We had two Kenmore air conditioners and that is why we decided to purchase another. The sales reps really pushed for us to buy this unit and we really did not take the time to inspect the display model. Wow what a disappointment. Installation was easy enough but the unit itself is really chintzy. The ventilation system has only baffles that don't direct the air flow well. The remote is not for older people...one can barely read it. The unit is not sealed well it looks like the styrofoam from the old time cooler chests, instead of plastic and it is pieced together and not sealed where the pieces meet. I do not think I would buy another Kenmore after this. We had a 5100 btu that did not cool the entire room (12 x17) so we wanted an a/c with higher btu and energy savings. That 5100 unit was made much better and the remote was more user friendly. Truly disappointed.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
bigman2920
RATED

Very nice a/c unit

I liked this a/c unit so much that I bought 2 of the exact same unit with a smaller btu for 2 smaller rooms.

January 30th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ukulelelady
RATED

good room a.c. with some problems

This is a good room air conditioner, not perfect, but a good value. The installation directions are not clear enough. I recommend 2 able bodied people for installation. I used a handyman,and it took an hour. The loudness when the fan is on high may pose a problem to some people. I use the machine at night only, so I keep the fan on low, which is a much quieter setting. My biggest complaint is the operations panel and the hand held remote are black and so that if you should change the setting you will have to turn on a light. A better design would be all L E D for the unit and some sort of low light in the remote, maybe a switch of some kind. Anyway, this unit cools beautifully and that is the main matter. The listed price, for 8000 BTU's is very reasonable. It is well packaged and is easy to put in a small car, so you won't have to pay for delivery. The box has durable straps for carrying it inside. I like it's power.

September 22nd, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ThatchC82
RATED

Works Great

My wife and I purchased this unit to replace a 5200BTU unit from GE. The unit is easy to lift and place in the window. It comes with a nice remote as well which has a good range on it. The controls are simple and easy to use too.

September 21st, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jim-southern-Iowa
RATED

Window A/C

Does the job but a little too noisy.

September 20th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jwpant
RATED

nice and cool but fan very loud

It cools very well for being in a large area. The fan noise is very loud. We usually run it on low when we are in the same room. We would not recommend it for a bedroom as it is to loud to sleep. The remote control is great and works from quite a distance. We have the exact unit in a 6000 btu in our bedroom that is much quiter

September 1st, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Tonrey11
RATED

Pretty good A/C, definitely not whisper-quiet.

Very powerful and COLD for it's size. Cools quickly and efficiently. Only gave it 4 stars because it's pretty loud, even on low setting. For the size of the room I am cooling (13X16) , I don't really need to put it on a higher setting. If you are cooling a larger room and require silence to sleep, this one's not for you.

August 16th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Madan Rang
RATED

good product. I like it very much.

It's really a good product. The cool air is just amazing. It covers the entire space. The brand is having the real value. Any one who is thinking to buy a new air conditioner this wud be a great choice

August 15th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Sweettexas
RATED

Great A/C

We have a larger room a/c that's several years old and still is running great, bought another one for our storage unit that is a little smaller and has be working terrific

August 15th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Kathy1200
RATED

Very noise

This A/C unit makes a funny noise on low only. Sears told me that it was normal and not to worry about it. But it doesn't make the gurgaling sound on any other speed but low.

August 15th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Madan Rang
RATED

good product

The keeper air conditioner is good product it cools quickly and very effective I like this product very much cooling is so good

August 14th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
BigTruck430
RATED

Great AC for front room

This unit works great for a small to medium size room. Easy to install and easy to use, and priced right to what it does.

August 14th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
VijayKannan
RATED

good product

This is a good product with best value for money and performance compared to other brands and I recommend it everyone

August 7th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Devi
RATED

great product

Wow it is a great cooling system it cools the room so quickly it has good temp control with variations

August 7th, 2013
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mrs.Rodgers
RATED

cool breeze

workmanship is great; cools nicely; was nicely priced at the time of my purchase; an overall win win.

August 7th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ronosimo
RATED

8000 BTU Room Air condtioner

Great machine.

August 6th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
geokim2054
RATED

8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

To noisy,

August 5th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mr_ed
RATED

Just what the Bedroom needed

Was going thru a hot, humid couple of weeks and this unit made all the difference.

August 5th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Mrs.B2
RATED

Greatly Satisfied

August 4th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Stumpman183
RATED

Great unit

August 4th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bono4783
RATED

Great Value

This is a very good quality unit with a very reasonable price. Easy install and very quiet.

August 3rd, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Jeff Davenport
Why didn't I earn any points from buying this A/C unit?
by Jeff Davenport 
June 26th, 2013
Shop Your Way Rewards
Please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
Answered in 51 minutes
by Shop Your Way Rewards
June 26th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
PETER NETKA
we just made a purchase of a window air conditioner. we tried to use or points. No pin # was associated with my cell phone #. Why?
by PETER NETKA 
June 1st, 2013
James Sheets
When logged into shopyourway.com look at the top-right corner, where it says Rewards Points, click that, then click "click to view" next to PIN #.
by James Sheets
June 7th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
phil76eagl
I see the price as $199.49 minus 20% and another 5% by using my Sears charge card. Are there any more discounts? What is the final price? Also, what is the cost of the extended warranty?
by phil76eagl 
May 9th, 2012
Lyle W
If you get 20% off the $199.49 and then another 5% then the final price would be $151.61 according to my calculations. The cost of a 2 year in-shop Sears Master Protection Agreement would be $29.99. The 3 year plan would be $44.99.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment
Fred Guadarrama
Do i get a discount for being a member ?
by Fred Guadarrama 
May 3rd, 2012
Lyle W
I am not aware of any member discounts. The points that you earn can be used as a discount off of future purchases.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment