Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Richard Arbizo uploaded this on 6/30/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
. Cville uploaded this on 7/11/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010
(296 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$219.99
$219.00
Rewards
Earn 2,190 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
The Kenmore 79081  room air conditioner has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The  unit has electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. This window air conditioner fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 square feet
  • 24 Hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • One-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
114 members
Like this product
Sarah LopezShirlCharity Skathryn balasaLynn Estepscott dJOHN VENTURIKRISTEN PETERSONLisa GutmanAngel PonderSarah Land
103
112 members
Want this product
JJCynthia RandallScott Maxwellkathryn balasaDenise MaliaDenise BrownKRISTEN PETERSONTIM GIBSONAngel Ponder
103
56 members
Have this product
LJ BrewerChrystal DrewHEATHER MOONCynthia RandallSharon EnsmingerBarb BNicholas DiMartino
49
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Jamie WilsonYaquanda BakerELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaTravis StonePAMELA GRIFFITHSTeresa Elwartowski MoonJames ParkerFAATIMAHCarin Thompson
5M
42 members
Follow this product’s
category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinaiyrodriguez29debbie moellerzoila riverascott dJoey SDenise Brownlisa hunterMargot Wilson
31
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (296 Ratings)
Overall score
9.1
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(296 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (127)
  • 4 Stars
    (100)
  • 3 Stars
    (30)
  • 2 Stars
    (17)
  • 1 Star
    (22)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by Sbenson534
July 10th, 2013
What Happened to Kenmore Quality?

We had two Kenmore air conditioners and that is why we decided to purchase another. The sales reps really pushed for us to buy this unit and we really did not take the time to inspect the display model. Wow what a disappointment. Installation was easy enough but the unit itself is really chintzy. The ventilation system has only baffles that don't direct the air flow well. The remote is not for older people...one can barely read it. The unit is not sealed well it looks like the styrofoam from the old time cooler chests, instead of plastic and it is pieced together and not sealed where the pieces meet. I do not think I would buy another Kenmore after this. We had a 5100 btu that did not cool the entire room (12 x17) so we wanted an a/c with higher btu and energy savings. That 5100 unit was made much better and the remote was more user friendly. Truly disappointed.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
DLG7
RATED

Very LOUD,Slow to cool,can't read the remote or screendisplays in the dark.

EXTREMELY LOUD! Louder than the 5,000 BTU KENMORE that lasted for 20 years! The remote is a joke...when you need it most in the dark. The on unit display is just as bad in the day and worse at night! You don't want to have to turn on a light to shut it off, change temp, etc.
I upgraded from a 5,000 btu because i have a large room. SO disappointed, I am going to try and return it.

10 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
SFLapierre1954
RATED

The Kenmore air conditioner I bought was a good deal.

13 days ago via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mddhwdqh123
RATED

Great Item

Works great, is quiet and was very reasonably priced!

16 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Smolly
RATED

Excellent Buy

I recently purchased this Kenmore 8,000 BTU air conditioner. To my surprise it was easy to install - just had to put the sides on and a few screws into the vinyl window. Had it up and running in no time. It cools the room within minutes. Love the energy saver feature. With discount codes and surprise rewards points I paid $188 including tax. Couldn't be happier with this product.

19 days ago via sears.com
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Reggenna
RATED

New Air Conditioner

It's a good size for the room we got it for . The price was about what we wanted to pay and was easy to put into the window. It is not loud and so since it is in a bed room noise or lack of is important. I enjoy buying from Sears because they always take pride in what they sell and stand by what they sell.

23 days ago via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Meffle
RATED

Not great

It's a bit loud and doesn't seem to have maximum cooling power, but it will do.

24 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
coolurbanwalker
RATED

cool bang for the buck

Good quality, excellent price - couldn't ask for more except maybe free installation??

27 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Sueisidle27
RATED

Works good.

Oops room quickly. Gets a tad noisy once in a while but nothing I can't sleep through.

27 days ago via mobile
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Sueisidle27
RATED

Does what it's suppose to.

am happy with this purchase. Does get a tad noisy once in a great while but nothing I can't sleep through. Cools room quickly.

27 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
froglady1965
RATED

love this air conditioner!

I purchased two other air conditioners from another store & returned them both because they were very loud and did not cool well. Then I purchased the Kenmore 8,000 BTU air conditioner and I love it! It runs very quiet and cools the room very quickly. I wish I bought it first!

29 days ago via sears.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
OZV47
RATED

Room air conditioner

Purchase Kenmore 8,000 BTU air conditioner 5/27/14. Has been running two weeks. Provides more than enough cooling capacity for small bedroom, even at 65 degrees. Energy saving feature works well, so that device doesn't run when not necessary. Controls easy to understand, install was easy on the ground floor room. So far, very good value.

June 20th via sears.com
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
HatboroGram
RATED

low noise

did good job cooling off the room quickly

June 10th via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
wife2e
RATED

Would buy this one again

This unit replaced the same one purchased 4 years ago. We especially like the auto feature that turns it on to maintain a preset temperature, and off when the temperature is reached. The motor bearings froze in the previous unit and the repair estimate was close to a new unit purchase price. We used Sears installation service and wish it could have been scheduled sooner. The gentleman did a great job and remembered installing our first unit. Small world!

May 31st via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
illfigureitout
RATED

Solid Unit

This is the second unit purchased. Unit runs 24/7 to cool a computer room and is exhausted into a paint shop where it is constantly exposed to dust, dirt and paint particles. Considering how dirty and grimy the coil and fan gets, and its running 24/7, the first unit lasted over 2 years! For the price, this is a great deal!

May 30th via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JEGKPG
RATED

A/C unit

eVERYTHING IS GREAT EXCEPT FOR BLACK SCREEN AT NIGHT IS NOT READABLE ENOUGH.

May 30th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
gunrock
RATED

Good choice for a small area!

Quiet, not too large. Cools small apartment.

May 29th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MARICELASHOPAHOLIC
RATED

WONDERFUL AIR CONDITIONER

PERFECT AIR CONDITIONER FOR THE SUMMER AND GREAT PRICE

May 28th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DaveyCrockett
RATED

Noisy

Reviews warned it was loud. They were right. Even on low setting it is very loud and makes constant noises. Don't but for a bedroom. The remote control,is a joke. It is very cheap and broke after two days of use. Contacted Sears to get a new remote and was "blown off"..

May 15th via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
rogerk199
RATED

Great unit for the price

Excellent air conditioner, especially for the price. Runs very quietly. Of course, I've become accustomed to quiet operation with all my Kenmore appliances. Very cold air, easy installation and operation.

April 21st via sears.com
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bigman2920
RATED

Very nice a/c unit

I liked this a/c unit so much that I bought 2 of the exact same unit with a smaller btu for 2 smaller rooms.

January 30th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Jeff Davenport
Why didn't I earn any points from buying this A/C unit?
by Jeff Davenport 
June 26th, 2013
Shop Your Way Rewards
Please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
Answered in 51 minutes
by Shop Your Way Rewards
June 26th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
PETER NETKA
we just made a purchase of a window air conditioner. we tried to use or points. No pin # was associated with my cell phone #. Why?
by PETER NETKA 
June 1st, 2013
James Sheets
When logged into shopyourway.com look at the top-right corner, where it says Rewards Points, click that, then click "click to view" next to PIN #.
by James Sheets
June 7th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
phil76eagl
I see the price as $199.49 minus 20% and another 5% by using my Sears charge card. Are there any more discounts? What is the final price? Also, what is the cost of the extended warranty?
by phil76eagl 
May 9th, 2012
Lyle W
If you get 20% off the $199.49 and then another 5% then the final price would be $151.61 according to my calculations. The cost of a 2 year in-shop Sears Master Protection Agreement would be $29.99. The 3 year plan would be $44.99.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment
Fred Guadarrama
Do i get a discount for being a member ?
by Fred Guadarrama 
May 3rd, 2012
Lyle W
I am not aware of any member discounts. The points that you earn can be used as a discount off of future purchases.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment