Skip to content
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Richard Arbizo uploaded this on 6/30/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
. Cville uploaded this on 7/11/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
(669 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$219.99
Rewards
You can earn:2,200 points on this product(?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2 day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 8,000-BTU Room Air Conditioner - Powerful and Efficient Cooling
The Kenmore Room Air Conditioner 7908 has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The unit boasts electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 sq. ft.
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
215 members
Like this product
NANCY BENZINGERKathryn DeardorffJohn  VenturiKAREN HOOVERannemarie boggsANTONIO RIVERA
209
214 members
Want this product
NANCY BENZINGERALETHEA CALLAHANLinda HenrySarah LandKelly DaloiaSeth E.
208
142 members
Have this product
Cynthia RandallPeter LetendreDeborah CaugheyLinda HenryBeverly Felix
137
5M members
Follow this product's
brand
Vanina DelobelleTom RaafGEORGE A CHAMBERSSusan YagherCalvin ReamesJenny GundermanBrittany StevensMelissa NoelSharon StuarttchahooaDinesh Sapkota
5M
68 members
Follow this product's
category
Sherry LaBradaJamie MDominic  LaCaverascott dlisa hunterTom McDonaldDavid T. Reidvicki bootheWanda  KendrickDiedra SullivanConnie Turley
57
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (669 Ratings)
Overall score
10.0
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(669 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (156)
  • 4 Stars
    (118)
  • 3 Stars
    (30)
  • 2 Stars
    (22)
  • 1 Star
    (30)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
14 found this review helpful
by LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

Criticism
10 found this review helpful
by RecentCustomer
August 6th, 2014
Not Energy Star!!!

We bought this item in MD for two reasons: 1) hoping that Kenmore quality would prove this unit to be better than the other brands we've bought that only last 2-3 years and 2) because it was energy star rated and therefore would save money and qualify for a rebate from our local utility company. The quality is mediocre. It's not bad, but not truly better than other brands we've bought for less. Definitely noisy. BUT, we were turned down for our utility's rebate program because this unit is no longer Energy Star certified. It once was but it no longer qualifies. Still, the item is advertised that it is. The logo is on the box and on the unit itself. There was even a display of our utility's rebate program brochures sitting on top of the display model. Our call to Sears Customer Service was unhelpful. The person my husband talked to was not helpful (not a surprise as this is an issue that is not commonly addressed) BUT the promised call from a supervisor never materialized. Energy Star's website and customer service were stellar. If you want a certified Energy Star unit go to energystar.gov for a list.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
nhut

worthless

|

worked great the first 3 weeks ( i would use it at night probably a total of 10 times) and i noticed it not being as cold when i first got it, tried cleaning the filter now but it has not improved.

24 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bmooreoles bmooreoles
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore

Utter disappointment

|

Died within 1 year 1 month. Returned to store and was told they could do nothing. Bought cheap non-brand name replacement. Has worked longer than this.

27 days ago
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ajgladd

Works great, makes some clunking noises, outside is dented

|

Outside metal is dented right out of the box. Cools quickly, but makes clunking noises.

27 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jack2015

Not A FAKE REVIEW

|

Read some reviews on this air conditioner and was pleased with what I read... Went out and bought this air conditioner because of the size I needed for the opening in my wall.. Let me save you a headache and shame on SEARS for selling this kind of JUNK. Talk about NOISE, talk about the remote, talk about not seeing the display. It will NOT cool a small sized room even if its running all night LONG. Prepare yourself with earplugs if you want to sleep and even earplugs don't help the NOISE... This air conditioner is total JUNK and I'm disappointed that it has a KENMORE name on it! DO yourself a huge favor and pass on this UNIT! ONCE AGAIN SHAME ON YOU SEARS for selling JUNK from CHINA

28 days ago via kenmore.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
indyted416

8,000 BTU AC

|

Performs as advertized. Keeps my living room and kitchen cool. Only slight complaint, the controls are hard to read. Grey letters on black background don't show up well. The white background used on the next bigger model is much easier to see.

28 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PennSt8Man

Cools but YES it's loud

|

I am a big Kenmore supporter here - have MANY Kenmore brand appliances. But not this time. Simply put - this is a loud A/C unit. We have 5 window units (old house) and had to replace a 7 year old 6000 BTU Kenmore. This new one IS INDEED the loudest of all - including two 15,000 BTU Kenmore A/C units we have. In fact, standing in the room across the hall, with the 6 year old Sanyo A/C running on low in that room, you can CLEARLY hear this Kenmore running - at the lowest fan speed - in the other room. Also, when it's very humid out, you WILL hear a GREAT DEAL of water hitting the coils off the fan blade (sounds as if the fan is scraping the styrofoam insulation in the unit). Like other reviews, the Remote is a joke - not readable - and I will add so is the faceplate on the A/C unit itself. So, 2 stars here as it does do a satisfactory job of cooling and that's it. This unit is NOT for a bedroom!

July 28th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pixiejan

Not pleased

|

The panel is difficult to read and the unit seems to be struggling to cool our small area. If it weren't installed, I'd return it!!!!

July 21st via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Rachelg21970

Love this AC Great Price

|

Wonderful a/c quiet, cools my home down very quickly. Easy to use, and simple to install. It cools my lower level 500 sq ft room no problem!
Love the remote also!

July 16th via sears.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CoolRoom

Great product

|

This unit is perfect. It was very easy to install, it cooled the room perfectly and my son especially liked the remote control features. Great product for a great price.

July 10th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bcipolla

window ac

|

too noisey

July 8th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JAR731

Works Great

|

Bought this unit over a year ago and it usually runs 24/7 during hot weather (live in Georgia) and have not had any problems.

July 6th via kmart.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CharlieMcKeown

Room Air Conditioner

|

This air conditioner was on sale, and I could not go past the price, and the quality.
I have been purchasing Kenmore products for years, and the last Kenmore a/c we purchased lasted for about 27 years.
If you maintain the product, it will last for years.
Thank you SEars

June 26th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
directormom

Fantastic air conditioner

|

We knew our old unit wasn't running well by the end of last summer. When we got home from vacation it was in the 90's and humid. Time to put in the air conditioners. Of course we tried our old one, but we were online looking for a replacement. The old one lasted one night. I found a good deal at a nearby Sears. I gave the store a call and yes they had one in stock. They were waiting for us at the end of the day. In and out 15 minutes. The unit is awesome. We use it to cool our huge master suite, the hall and our daughter's room across the hall (box fan pulls air into her room). We are very comfortable. Its set at 70 and it is great. Very quiet (last one sounded like a jet taking off) would definitely recommend.

June 26th via sears.com
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mckinn324

I NEEDED SOME COOL AIR, FOUND THE BEST DEAL, DEPENDABLE KENMORE

|

FOUND THE BEST DEAL, DEPENDABLE KENMORE

June 25th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
starrroad

more noise than my snoring

|

My wife has difficulty sleeping with this unit. It will cool then slip into "noise" mode and create a roaring noise that I can not seem to isolate. She find this very disturbing and will more to the couch leaving me the ENTIRE bed. Our Sears 18K BTU unit is quieter. Considering switching it with the one in the guest bedroom. Box had some damage and later we discovered a crack in the case. If I hadn't thrown away the packing and box I would have returned it.

June 24th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
glsduatir

Work Great, Fit perfectly

|

June 24th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
teleman82

It's a Kenmore !!

|

I live in manufactured home which are notorious for getting very hot.
Even though I have central air it doesn't seem to cool the far end of the house very well. This Kenmore unit does a very good job of cooling this room, as the room is used for daycare it must remain livable for the kids.
The unit itself works very well and was an easy install and I really like the remote control. I bought an A/C unit that was a little larger than the room size called for, but I have always shopped that way. You know what they say ! bigger is better. I gave it four stars because I haven't had it very long yet and longevity means a lot and this weekend it is supposed to be up around a 100 degrees. We will see how it does against that.......Mark

June 24th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
mjsyracuse

Nice unit but not could be better

|

I purchased this for my mother's senior apartment. The unit is light and easily installed. One of the side panels was cracked right near where the screw goes that secures it to the window. I haven't contacted Sears about it yet. The unit is very quiet and does a nice job of cooling her apartment. The main complaint is that the controls on the unit are hard to read, as well as the remote. Definitely not senior citizen friendly to operate.

June 23rd via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
unclecharlie1947

good ac

|

nice unit pretty quite does a good job for the money

June 15th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
fan_taz_tic

Small Unit, BIG Heart

|

This A/C unit will be my 2 season (Spring/Fall) upstairs bedroom cooling solution. Just 20 days old, but I give it 2 thumbs up.

June 4th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ask a question Did you know? There are over 1,000 experts on Shop Your Way waiting to answer your question!
Show all questions
CHERYL DESHEILDS
July 8th
Answered in 3 hours
Member Assist
By Member Assist
July 8th
Carrie Clifford
I need a loud A/C, is it?
June 8th
Answered in 15 hours
Member Assist
By Member Assist
June 8th
Jeff Davenport
June 26th, 2013
Answered in 51 minutes
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 26th, 2013
LINDA CURTIS
June 3rd, 2013
Answered in 6 minutes
LINDA CURTIS
By LINDA CURTIS
June 3rd, 2013
PETER NETKA
June 1st, 2013
James Sheets
By James Sheets
June 7th, 2013
phil76eagl
May 9th, 2012
Lyle W
By Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
Fred Guadarrama
May 3rd, 2012
Lyle W
By Lyle W
August 28th, 2012