Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Richard Arbizo uploaded this on 6/30/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
. Cville uploaded this on 7/11/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010
(314 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$219.99
$219.00
Rewards
Earn 2,190 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 8,000-BTU Room Air Conditioner - Powerful and Efficient Cooling
The Kenmore Room Air Conditioner 7908 has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The unit boasts electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 sq. ft.
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Star Qualified
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
119 members
Like this product
Sarah LopezShirlCharity Skathryn balasaLynn Estepscott dJOHN VENTURIKRISTEN PETERSONLisa GutmanAngel PonderANTONIO RIVERA
108
116 members
Want this product
JJCynthia RandallScott Maxwellkathryn balasaDenise MaliaDenise BrownKRISTEN PETERSONTIM GIBSONAngel Ponder
107
58 members
Have this product
LJ BrewerChrystal DrewHEATHER MOONCynthia RandallSharon EnsmingerBarb BSarah Land
51
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
Renee VanierTALEIA THOMASKevin John Kish Jr.ELIZABETH SMITHDwan Messerjanell ortegaTeresa Elwartowski MoonNikita PetersonJames ParkerFAATIMAHCarin Thompson
5M
45 members
Follow this product’s
category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinaiyrodriguez29debbie moellerscott dJoey SDenise Brownlisa hunterDavid T ReidMargot Wilson
34
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (314 Ratings)
Overall score
9.0
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(314 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (135)
  • 4 Stars
    (106)
  • 3 Stars
    (30)
  • 2 Stars
    (17)
  • 1 Star
    (26)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by Sbenson534
July 10th, 2013
What Happened to Kenmore Quality?

We had two Kenmore air conditioners and that is why we decided to purchase another. The sales reps really pushed for us to buy this unit and we really did not take the time to inspect the display model. Wow what a disappointment. Installation was easy enough but the unit itself is really chintzy. The ventilation system has only baffles that don't direct the air flow well. The remote is not for older people...one can barely read it. The unit is not sealed well it looks like the styrofoam from the old time cooler chests, instead of plastic and it is pieced together and not sealed where the pieces meet. I do not think I would buy another Kenmore after this. We had a 5100 btu that did not cool the entire room (12 x17) so we wanted an a/c with higher btu and energy savings. That 5100 unit was made much better and the remote was more user friendly. Truly disappointed.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Bolandc

Easy to use, easy to install

Not too loud, easy to install and does the job! Really happy with our purchase so far!

12 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RecentCustomer

Not Energy Star!!!

We bought this item in MD for two reasons: 1) hoping that Kenmore quality would prove this unit to be better than the other brands we've bought that only last 2-3 years and 2) because it was energy star rated and therefore would save money and qualify for a rebate from our local utility company. The quality is mediocre. It's not bad, but not truly better than other brands we've bought for less. Definitely noisy. BUT, we were turned down for our utility's rebate program because this unit is no longer Energy Star certified. It once was but it no longer qualifies. Still, the item is advertised that it is. The logo is on the box and on the unit itself. There was even a display of our utility's rebate program brochures sitting on top of the display model. Our call to Sears Customer Service was unhelpful. The person my husband talked to was not helpful (not a surprise as this is an issue that is not commonly addressed) BUT the promised call from a supervisor never materialized. Energy Star's website and customer service were stellar. If you want a certified Energy Star unit go to energystar.gov for a list.

14 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
poorqualityforsure

robbed blind

well first off when me and my husband took it out of the box we noticed the side and top was dented and gouged, then we noticed the air fins in back were also dented and pushed in, during install we discovered that we were missing alot of pieces and screws that should have came with it, so after going to get the proper hardware(which was an additional cost to us) we were able to install it., if our old one did not break and it was not so hot and humid it would have gotten returned for sure, but other than these overlooked items they never packaged and the overall beat up condition of the unit it performs 100%

16 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
LMMills

Great a/c for bedroom

Love it keep the room a chilly 65

16 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
telli

air conditioner review

This air conditioner has worked alright to fit my needs. It isn't too big so it is easy to install and store. The only problem I have is it's difficult to read the choices for mode and fan speed. Other than that it has worked fine for me so far.

19 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Veepermat

Great a/c at a great price.

I bought this a/c for my bedroom and I think it was well worth the money spent. It's easy to use to comes with a remote that's very small so it doesn't take up much space. The unit is quiet and has great power to it.

19 days ago via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JAY1623

Good unit

Unit is not too loud, and cools well. Not happy with energy saver mode.. Unit shuts off at set temp, but does not come back on till room temp is 6 to 8 degrees above set temp. {saves a lot of energy, but not very comfortable} Kenmore offered to exchange unit, which I might do.

19 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DeborahSligar

Really Nice Unit

This A/C Unit is working beautiful. Clean looks and styling. Easy operation on the face of the unit, but the remote control face could use some back-lighting or larger print. Installation was super easy with all the supplied padding and hardware. The front vent fins are a little fragile and stiff, but sufficient. Just be careful learning their behavior and breaking them in. Fairly low operation noise even on high. The power cord is a good heavy gauge of wire w/ built in protection testing and reset buttons. The side covers were heavier built than some I've had, and easy to install. The instructions were simple, complete and to the point. The unit is lighter than most in this BTU range. The performance has been outstanding, even in the hottest part of the day. Very happy I decided on this model. It's hard to find products that do as advertised, this sure does! Brrrr...teeth chattering.

20 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Nancy1555

Kenmore AC

I am so disappointed in this prodct. When I took it out of the box, it was smashed in one corner and the plastic vents were broken. It is a piece of junk.

21 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
coolshorts

keeps you cool

it was a great price for a 8000 btu air conditioner.we are very happy with our purchase.this unit cools our bedroom very quickly.also comes with a remote control

22 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
wooo

Bad remote Control

Got this air conditioner recently, very noisy, the front door for filter is very thin and filmy. Remote control is a piece junk: button battery with credit card size pad. -the remote control is not last longer over year.
It stopped working a few weeks of installation. called for replacement for remote control. told me to pay for $30 more or bring it to repare center to claim warranty. The traffic cost to repair center is more than $30.... had to live with no remote control.

23 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Gkoz316

Cools a huge room

Nice units, bought two. Cools a 300 sq ft room no problem and not louder than any other ac I have owned.

23 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Dylnlive

LUV Me them Kenmores!

Been buying Kenmores for over 20years....Great units...this one is amazing...little more noise than the older units...but the weight makes up for that...I'm buying another one for the den.

26 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
aserethsears

Liked that the ac unit was quiet

26 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Suzanne480

Lots of cool in a little box

We purchased this for a spacious bedroom. It was smaller and less expensive than some of the weaker air conditioners. At 8,000 BTU's, it packs a punch, but it is small and was easy to install in the window. We installed it on a hot day in the low 90's, so the room took a while to cool down, but once it reached its ******, the room stayed cool and comfortable. Great product.

27 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bobowu

good but not great

pretty quiet but not cooling the room quick enough. but it is still ok.

29 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kingneck

8000 BTU AC

I purchased this little AC and installed it in my shed to cool things down while I was at my workbench. With the doors closed fifteen minutes later the temperature was bearable and in thirty minutes pleasantly cool. A lot of comfort from a small window unit on hot and humid NC summer days!

July 18th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
doggiebig

very nice air conditioner keeps everyone very cool and works well a little

July 18th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
DLG7

Very LOUD,Slow to cool,can't read the remote or screendisplays in the dark.

EXTREMELY LOUD! Louder than the 5,000 BTU KENMORE that lasted for 20 years! The remote is a joke...when you need it most in the dark. The on unit display is just as bad in the day and worse at night! You don't want to have to turn on a light to shut it off, change temp, etc.
I upgraded from a 5,000 btu because i have a large room. SO disappointed, I am going to try and return it.

July 12th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
SFLapierre1954

The Kenmore air conditioner I bought was a good deal.

July 9th via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Jeff Davenport
Why didn't I earn any points from buying this A/C unit?
by Jeff Davenport 
June 26th, 2013
Shop Your Way Rewards
Please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
Answered in 51 minutes
by Shop Your Way Rewards
June 26th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
PETER NETKA
we just made a purchase of a window air conditioner. we tried to use or points. No pin # was associated with my cell phone #. Why?
by PETER NETKA 
June 1st, 2013
James Sheets
When logged into shopyourway.com look at the top-right corner, where it says Rewards Points, click that, then click "click to view" next to PIN #.
by James Sheets
June 7th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
phil76eagl
I see the price as $199.49 minus 20% and another 5% by using my Sears charge card. Are there any more discounts? What is the final price? Also, what is the cost of the extended warranty?
by phil76eagl 
May 9th, 2012
Lyle W
If you get 20% off the $199.49 and then another 5% then the final price would be $151.61 according to my calculations. The cost of a 2 year in-shop Sears Master Protection Agreement would be $29.99. The 3 year plan would be $44.99.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment
Fred Guadarrama
Do i get a discount for being a member ?
by Fred Guadarrama 
May 3rd, 2012
Lyle W
I am not aware of any member discounts. The points that you earn can be used as a discount off of future purchases.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment