Skip to content

Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
$149.97
$219.99
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 1,500 points
Add To Cart
Description Specifications
Kenmore 8,000-BTU Room Air Conditioner - Powerful and Efficient Cooling
The Kenmore Room Air Conditioner 7908 has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The unit boasts electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 sq. ft.
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating:

Average
(679 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (161)
  • 4 Stars
    (120)
  • 3 Stars
    (31)
  • 2 Stars
    (22)
  • 1 Star
    (32)
  • Read Reviews
Member Photos

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
By LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

14 found this review helpful
Criticism
By kaybece
August 24th, 2015
Not as expected

I purchased this unit in the summer of 2013 to replace a 6000BTU unit that wasn't cooling like I needed it to. (200sq ft room). This unit is not any better. On a 95 degree day, I can only get my room temp down to 82 with the a/c set on 74. The air directional are a joke, as are the remote and the display, which can't be seen in the dark. At the start of this season, the third year of use, I started to hear a gurgling noise coming from the unit. Upon further inspection, there is a lot of water in the unit and mold has been found growing all through the inside, causing breathing problems, even for those non allergic.

15 found this review helpful
Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
TERRA NAELITZ
| Earned 700 community points in Kenmore
July 1st
Sardaralam

Good Ac

|

This is a pretty good ac, just perfect for our room.

June 13th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
omarcito647

Not working properly

|

it`s not cooling not even 50 foot away...

June 11th via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Printman60.

8000 kenmore AC

|

This AC seems to be of high quality had everything for every type install and is working great!

June 10th via mobile
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
IWelch

Love the Air conditioner

|

Has perform very well.

April 12th via sears.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
TkNoodleZ

Works great for small room!

|

My Kenmore 8000 btu works just as it is supposed to. It is a little heavy, but that's because it packs a lot of power while also being energy sufficient. I would definetely purchase another one for a small sized room.

March 10th via mobile | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
be nice
| Earned 201 community points in Kenmore

one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen sev

|

one two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven twelve thirteen fourteen fifteen sixteen seventeen eighteen nineteen twenty

November 24th, 2015
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
aine.elizabeth

Very good air conditioner!

|

This air conditioner is quiet! I've had it about one week and thus far it's great. It's smaller than my old one, much quieter, and cools my 440 square foot apartment well enough. In hindsight, I should have bought a 10,000 BTU AC, because that would cool my apartment faster, but I wouldn't take this one out to exchange it. I would suggest that if you are in doubt as to the BTU you need, err on the higher side.

September 14th, 2015 via sears.com
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kaybece

Not as expected

|

I purchased this unit in the summer of 2013 to replace a 6000BTU unit that wasn't cooling like I needed it to. (200sq ft room). This unit is not any better. On a 95 degree day, I can only get my room temp down to 82 with the a/c set on 74. The air directional are a joke, as are the remote and the display, which can't be seen in the dark.

At the start of this season, the third year of use, I started to hear a gurgling noise coming from the unit. Upon further inspection, there is a lot of water in the unit and mold has been found growing all through the inside, causing breathing problems, even for those non allergic.

August 24th, 2015 via kenmore.com
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
cblock223

Excellent purchase

|

The air conditioner is a great purchase and it is works sufficeint for the room that we needed it for. It was an excellent buy for the price.

August 18th, 2015 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
nhut

worthless

|

worked great the first 3 weeks ( i would use it at night probably a total of 10 times) and i noticed it not being as cold when i first got it, tried cleaning the filter now but it has not improved.

August 7th, 2015 via sears.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bmooreoles bmooreoles
| Earned 8 community points in Kenmore

Utter disappointment

|

Died within 1 year 1 month. Returned to store and was told they could do nothing. Bought cheap non-brand name replacement. Has worked longer than this.

August 4th, 2015
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Ajgladd

Works great, makes some clunking noises, outside is dented

|

Outside metal is dented right out of the box. Cools quickly, but makes clunking noises.

August 4th, 2015 via mobile
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Jack2015

Not A FAKE REVIEW

|

Read some reviews on this air conditioner and was pleased with what I read... Went out and bought this air conditioner because of the size I needed for the opening in my wall.. Let me save you a headache and shame on SEARS for selling this kind of JUNK. Talk about NOISE, talk about the remote, talk about not seeing the display. It will NOT cool a small sized room even if its running all night LONG. Prepare yourself with earplugs if you want to sleep and even earplugs don't help the NOISE... This air conditioner is total JUNK and I'm disappointed that it has a KENMORE name on it! DO yourself a huge favor and pass on this UNIT! ONCE AGAIN SHAME ON YOU SEARS for selling JUNK from CHINA

August 3rd, 2015 via kenmore.com
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
indyted416

8,000 BTU AC

|

Performs as advertized. Keeps my living room and kitchen cool. Only slight complaint, the controls are hard to read. Grey letters on black background don't show up well. The white background used on the next bigger model is much easier to see.

August 3rd, 2015 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PennSt8Man

Cools but YES it's loud

|

I am a big Kenmore supporter here - have MANY Kenmore brand appliances. But not this time. Simply put - this is a loud A/C unit. We have 5 window units (old house) and had to replace a 7 year old 6000 BTU Kenmore. This new one IS INDEED the loudest of all - including two 15,000 BTU Kenmore A/C units we have. In fact, standing in the room across the hall, with the 6 year old Sanyo A/C running on low in that room, you can CLEARLY hear this Kenmore running - at the lowest fan speed - in the other room. Also, when it's very humid out, you WILL hear a GREAT DEAL of water hitting the coils off the fan blade (sounds as if the fan is scraping the styrofoam insulation in the unit). Like other reviews, the Remote is a joke - not readable - and I will add so is the faceplate on the A/C unit itself. So, 2 stars here as it does do a satisfactory job of cooling and that's it. This unit is NOT for a bedroom!

July 28th, 2015 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product | The reviewer indicated they received a sample of this product
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Pixiejan

Not pleased

|

The panel is difficult to read and the unit seems to be struggling to cool our small area. If it weren't installed, I'd return it!!!!

July 21st, 2015 via mobile
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Rachelg21970

Love this AC Great Price

|

Wonderful a/c quiet, cools my home down very quickly. Easy to use, and simple to install. It cools my lower level 500 sq ft room no problem!
Love the remote also!

July 16th, 2015 via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CoolRoom

Great product

|

This unit is perfect. It was very easy to install, it cooled the room perfectly and my son especially liked the remote control features. Great product for a great price.

July 10th, 2015 via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bcipolla

window ac

|

too noisey

July 8th, 2015 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Questions & Answers (7) See All
Want to know something? Ask a question
CHERYL DESHEILDS
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
July 8th, 2015
Answered in 3 hours
Member Assist
By Member Assist
July 8th, 2015
Carrie Clifford
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 8th, 2015
Answered in 15 hours
Member Assist
By Member Assist
June 8th, 2015
Jeff Davenport
Kenmore 8 000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 26th, 2013
Answered in 51 minutes
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 26th, 2013