Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner
Related images:
. Richard Arbizo uploaded this on 6/30/2013
. Sears Woodland Hills Mall uploaded this on 7/10/2013
. Cville uploaded this on 7/11/2013
Kenmore

Kenmore 8,000 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04279081000P | Model# 79081 | Added on May 19, 2010
(328 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$219.99
Rewards
Earn 2,200 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description Specifications
Kenmore 8,000-BTU Room Air Conditioner - Powerful and Efficient Cooling
The Kenmore Room Air Conditioner 7908 has 8,000 BTUs of power to cool a room up to 350 square feet in area. The unit boasts electronic controls and a full-function remote, features 8-way air direction and has a tilt-out filter. It fits a window from 23 inches to 36 inches wide and at least 14 inches high.

  • 8,000 BTU
  • Cools up to 350 sq. ft.
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode 
  • Location sensing maintains temperature based on the location of the remote 
  • ENERGY STAR® rated
  • 10.8 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
129 members
Like this product
Sarah LopezShirlDAN HOWELLCharity Skathryn balasaLynn Estepscott dJohn  VenturiKRISTEN PETERSONAngela  FarooquiLisa Gutman
118
124 members
Want this product
JJDAN HOWELLCindy RANDALLScott Maxwellkathryn balasaDenise MaliaDenise BrownKRISTEN PETERSONAngela  FarooquiTIM GIBSONAngel Ponder
113
70 members
Have this product
LJ BrewerChrystal DrewHEATHER MOONDAN HOWELLCindy RANDALLSharon EnsmingerBarb Bmaria powersAngela  FarooquiSarah Land
60
5M members
Follow this product’s
brand
JOHN HANLEYChip BeerbowerTrace Williamson LinneburShawntay StevensonRegina ShannonRenee VanierLASHON ANTHONYELIZABETH SMITHDwan MesserNikita PetersonJames Parker
5M
47 members
Follow this product’s
category
Sherry LaBradaSears JolietSears West Covinaiyrodriguez29debbie moellerscott dJoey STandra BanksDenise Brownlisa hunterDavid T. Reid
36
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (328 Ratings)
Overall score
9.1
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(328 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (144)
  • 4 Stars
    (110)
  • 3 Stars
    (30)
  • 2 Stars
    (18)
  • 1 Star
    (26)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
13 found this review helpful
by LakelandFLcroom
October 2nd, 2012
Great unit.

First off the noise everybody is complaining about is the fan blade picking up water to cool the evaporator coil fins. It's by design to use less energy. Don't like ? Another 8k will be bigger heaver and use more energy. This unit is about as small as a 5k unit of old. Comes with side panels. has plastic fan shroud which may break in the sun. For the money I like it. Cools good. I never have luck with dinky 6000 btu units.

Criticism
8 found this review helpful
by Sbenson534
July 10th, 2013
What Happened to Kenmore Quality?

We had two Kenmore air conditioners and that is why we decided to purchase another. The sales reps really pushed for us to buy this unit and we really did not take the time to inspect the display model. Wow what a disappointment. Installation was easy enough but the unit itself is really chintzy. The ventilation system has only baffles that don't direct the air flow well. The remote is not for older people...one can barely read it. The unit is not sealed well it looks like the styrofoam from the old time cooler chests, instead of plastic and it is pieced together and not sealed where the pieces meet. I do not think I would buy another Kenmore after this. We had a 5100 btu that did not cool the entire room (12 x17) so we wanted an a/c with higher btu and energy savings. That 5100 unit was made much better and the remote was more user friendly. Truly disappointed.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
HappyCustomer.

Great A/C at a great price

When my mothers 25 year old a/c broke down this close to fall I was afraid I might not find a suitable replacement so late in the season. A friend has an older Kenmore window unit that runs quite and keeps her whole house cool so I went to Sears in search of one for my mother. Found just want I wanted!! This unit runs quite and cools better than I had expected. We've only had it a couple of weeks but so far are very happy with the performance.

26 days ago via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
reneei

Kenmore AC

Love it! Keeps me cool in this humid weather we are experiencing.

September 17th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jo88

window a/c

Had this installed in the wall and it does a great job and looks fine.

September 9th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
REY2

Room air conditioner

Other than the dimensions on the box not reflecting the dimensions needed to fit the air conditioner in the window the installation was easy and the air conditioner works very well. The remote control is a real convenience.

September 8th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Penquin68

Keeping Things Cool

Works like a charm and quickly cools down the back bedroom plus some. Relatively quiet and easy installation.

September 2nd via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bullard1990

Great AC

This AC is small, but does a great job of cooling off a large area.

August 29th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Buckcreekbelle

One problem

Overall, the unit is doing its job, but it is almost impossible to read either the remote or the control panel on the unit as the panels are with a black background and a very, VERY! faint white lettering. In a sunlit room you cannot read the control panel without a flashlite.! Panel needs to be a white background with black printing and symbols. Everbody I have shown the unit to has the same problem, so its just not my old eyes!! Buyer beware.

August 29th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
twopops1

Great buy for the money.

Runs efficiently and quit. Was the best price I could find on this size air conditioner.

August 20th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
faysoldman59

should come with a flashlight!

the control panel and remote is not back lit. A flash light is needed to read the control panel and the remote.

August 18th via sears.com
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kab239

great air conditioner

I bought this air conditioner for my son who sleeps in the attic. His room was stifling hot. The air conditioner works amazingly well and keeps the entire attic as well as the stairwell leading to the attic very cold.

August 18th via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Willy64

Good value for the money.

It cools very well. Good air thrust. Easy to handle.

August 15th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
maldonadoego

brand new works great!

August 15th via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
PharmTeki

Excellent Room Air Conditioner

Bought as a gift for my daughter who was preparing to have surgery in the heat of the summer. Went into the window quickly and easily and has been working like a charm. Not very noisy. Cools the room quickly.

August 12th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
monge608

exellent

I bought this product for my granddaughter, she and I are very happy with the product. it keeps the room cool and comfortable.

August 12th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bolandc

Easy to use, easy to install

Not too loud, easy to install and does the job! Really happy with our purchase so far!

August 8th via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
RecentCustomer

Not Energy Star!!!

We bought this item in MD for two reasons: 1) hoping that Kenmore quality would prove this unit to be better than the other brands we've bought that only last 2-3 years and 2) because it was energy star rated and therefore would save money and qualify for a rebate from our local utility company. The quality is mediocre. It's not bad, but not truly better than other brands we've bought for less. Definitely noisy. BUT, we were turned down for our utility's rebate program because this unit is no longer Energy Star certified. It once was but it no longer qualifies. Still, the item is advertised that it is. The logo is on the box and on the unit itself. There was even a display of our utility's rebate program brochures sitting on top of the display model. Our call to Sears Customer Service was unhelpful. The person my husband talked to was not helpful (not a surprise as this is an issue that is not commonly addressed) BUT the promised call from a supervisor never materialized. Energy Star's website and customer service were stellar. If you want a certified Energy Star unit go to energystar.gov for a list.

August 6th via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
poorqualityforsure

robbed blind

well first off when me and my husband took it out of the box we noticed the side and top was dented and gouged, then we noticed the air fins in back were also dented and pushed in, during install we discovered that we were missing alot of pieces and screws that should have came with it, so after going to get the proper hardware(which was an additional cost to us) we were able to install it., if our old one did not break and it was not so hot and humid it would have gotten returned for sure, but other than these overlooked items they never packaged and the overall beat up condition of the unit it performs 100%

August 4th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
LMMills

Great a/c for bedroom

Love it keep the room a chilly 65

August 4th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
telli

air conditioner review

This air conditioner has worked alright to fit my needs. It isn't too big so it is easy to install and store. The only problem I have is it's difficult to read the choices for mode and fan speed. Other than that it has worked fine for me so far.

August 1st via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Veepermat

Great a/c at a great price.

I bought this a/c for my bedroom and I think it was well worth the money spent. It's easy to use to comes with a remote that's very small so it doesn't take up much space. The unit is quiet and has great power to it.

August 1st via mobile
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
Jeff Davenport
Why didn't I earn any points from buying this A/C unit?
by Jeff Davenport 
June 26th, 2013
Shop Your Way Rewards
Please call the Member Care Center at 800-991-8708 they can help.
Answered in 51 minutes
by Shop Your Way Rewards
June 26th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
PETER NETKA
we just made a purchase of a window air conditioner. we tried to use or points. No pin # was associated with my cell phone #. Why?
by PETER NETKA 
June 1st, 2013
James Sheets
When logged into shopyourway.com look at the top-right corner, where it says Rewards Points, click that, then click "click to view" next to PIN #.
by James Sheets
June 7th, 2013
| Be the first to comment
phil76eagl
I see the price as $199.49 minus 20% and another 5% by using my Sears charge card. Are there any more discounts? What is the final price? Also, what is the cost of the extended warranty?
by phil76eagl 
May 9th, 2012
Lyle W
If you get 20% off the $199.49 and then another 5% then the final price would be $151.61 according to my calculations. The cost of a 2 year in-shop Sears Master Protection Agreement would be $29.99. The 3 year plan would be $44.99.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment
Fred Guadarrama
Do i get a discount for being a member ?
by Fred Guadarrama 
May 3rd, 2012
Lyle W
I am not aware of any member discounts. The points that you earn can be used as a discount off of future purchases.
by Lyle W
August 28th, 2012
| Be the first to comment