Product is out of stock
Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Kenmore Elite 70-pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Pump and Remote Monitoring
Related images:

Kenmore Elite 70-pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Pump and Remote Monitoring

Item# 04290701000P | Model# 90701 | Added on October 21, 2010
(119 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$399.99
Out of stock
Rewards
Earn 4,000 points on this item (?)
Description Specifications
Remove up to 70 pints of water every day with the Kenmore Elite 70-Pint Dehumidifier. Built-in pump and wireless monitoring station allows it to be used in any room. Auto restart feature remembers previous setting in event of power failure. Microban® Antimicrobial technology inhibits odor-causing bacterial growth on bucket surface. AHAM Certified.

  • Auto Mode takes the guess work out of selecting the right humidity level. The unit sets and automatically maintains a comfortable humidity level
  • The Cycle Timer feature allows your unit to run when you're at work and turn off when you return home
  • Automatically restarts to previous setting if power goes out
  • Built-in pump - works in any room
  • Wireless control station for easy remote monitoring
  • ENERGY STAR® Qualified
  • Removes up to 70 pints of water from the air every day
  • Quick-connect, double seal drain hose helps prevent leak
  • Microban® antimicrobial technology inhibits odor-causing bacterial growth on bucket surface
This product is:
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
20 members
Like this product
DEBBIE ROCKWELLJon Knutson
18
29 members
Want this product
Andre FavronJJJon KnutsonKelly Boudreaux
25
8 members
Have this product
David BuckleyJon Knutson
6
64 members
Follow this product’s
category
Barry LarsonJJJOHN Cpolly1122elma adamsTammy GodfreyBRENDA GEORGEDIANNA HORSLEYMark FreemanCARLA SULLIVANChristine Squires
53
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (119 Ratings)
Overall score
8.1
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(119 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (6)
  • 4 Stars
    (4)
  • 3 Stars
    (1)
  • 2 Stars
    (1)
  • 1 Star
    (8)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
5 found this review helpful
by MBM_NorthenNJ
November 3rd, 2013
Kenmore Elite 70-pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Pump and Remote Monitoring

This dehumidifier (70 pint with bucket pump & wireless remote display) has worked perfectly for exactly 4 years (purchased the unit 31st Oct 2013) both in terms of dehumidification & the drain pump. Recently we renewed the warranty through Oct 2016. I am a retired automation engineer; our home is in Northern NJ; the basements in our neighborhood generate a high humidity load & the sump pumps run frequently. We monitor the basement humidity continuously in three (3) to four (4) corners of the basement with multiple wireless temp/humidity indicators. We also run a (semi-industrial Vornado) fan in the basement to pickup stagnating moisture from the walls, circulate & vent the air. The humidity throughout the basement stays remarkably uniform and close to the set point on the unit. Typical settings that we use are: Dry Days Wet/rainy Days Summer 45-50% RH 35-40%RH Spring & Fall 55% 35-45% Winter Off/55% 55% In the winter we set the drain pump to "Manual" (off) to monitor (low) load on the unit. The head (pressure) developed by the pump is impressive. The drain-pump line rises approx. 5ft & is followed by a 12 ft horizontal run into the wash tub. The water discharge @ the wash tub is vigorous! Often we dry some clothes (delicates & woolens) in the basement & yet the unit maintains the humidity @ the set point! Do not understand the venom in some reviews of this product. Have provided a long winded review just to explain that our unit has coped with a significant load for four (4) years. The only maintenance we perform is: clean/wash the air filters & wash the collection bucket!

Criticism
9 found this review helpful
by StephenA
May 18th, 2013
Avoid this stinker!

It's been years since I was last compelled to right a review, but this product can't keep me silent. Thank goodness I purchased it with a 5 year extended warranty! On my 4th one. Pump stopped working on two of them, another started making such a racket in the basement that we could hear it on the second floor, and the latest will not drain through any of the three methods, just dumps water onto the floor. Been on the phone twice with Sears service this time around, and twice they have disconnected the call. Not the Sears, and Sears products of old. The Kenmore Dehumidifier this one replaced was over twenty years old.

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
PoppaRon

Good but with one cravate

|

We have had this unit for 3 years and this one was a replacement for one just like it that died after 2 years under the warranty. This unit easily keeps up in New England. The pump is a great feature. The unit will make noise if you let the filters get clogged. there are two one on each side of the unit. They pull out from the bottom for cleaning.

18 days ago via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
paulmartin200

Cheaply made and unreliable.

|

This is my second dehumidifier in 4 years. Each worked fine in the first summer and then failed to generate water in the second. Fortunately, for the second unit, I purchased the service agreement. From what I've seen, just about every home dehumidifier made comes from the same 1-2 Chinese factories, where poor workmanship and/or substandard components are in abundance. If you really need dehumidification, spend the extra money and get a commercial grade unit that will last.

August 12th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
shoppingVA

Unreliable

|

Purchased a unit in 2010 and it stopped working in 2012. Replaced the unit in 2012 and this unit has stopped working in 2014. Compressor no longer kicks in, so no moisture is removed from the air. Same problem that I had with the original unit. Wasted my money. When the unit is working, it works fine. It's not worth trying to have this one fixed, just buying another brand which is highly by consumer reports.

June 25th via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
bobnj

Really pulls water, but .......

|

The good thing about this device is that it really does pull water out of the air. The tank fills up in no time in my basement.

To me a dehumidifier is useless without the continuous gravity drain, and hooking up a garden hose to do this was incredibly frustrating. The compartment door provided for the connection is too small and the male part too far recessed. I cut myself on the plastic several times trying to connect. Finally it occurred to me to remove the water tank to get better access, and I had to remove the washer in the hose attachment to get a tight fit. This is really bad product design.

I also found the manual unclear. I am an engineer with an advanced degree, and I found myself wondering what they meant about certain things.

May 5th via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
JHVJR.

junk

|

not worth the money I had it foe 355 days it broke down had it fixed it did not last 60 days it is junk

November 29th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MBM_NorthenNJ

Kenmore Elite 70-pint Dehumidifier with Built-In Pump and Remote Monitoring

|

This dehumidifier (70 pint with bucket pump & wireless remote display) has worked perfectly for exactly 4 years (purchased the unit 31st Oct 2013) both in terms of dehumidification & the drain pump. Recently we renewed the warranty through Oct 2016.
I am a retired automation engineer; our home is in Northern NJ; the basements in our neighborhood generate a high humidity load & the sump pumps run frequently. We monitor the basement humidity continuously in three (3) to four (4) corners of the basement with multiple wireless temp/humidity indicators. We also run a (semi-industrial Vornado) fan in the basement to pickup stagnating moisture from the walls, circulate & vent the air. The humidity throughout the basement stays remarkably uniform and close to the set point on the unit.
Typical settings that we use are:
Dry Days Wet/rainy Days
Summer 45-50% RH 35-40%RH
Spring & Fall 55% 35-45%
Winter Off/55% 55%

In the winter we set the drain pump to "Manual" (off) to monitor (low) load on the unit.
The head (pressure) developed by the pump is impressive. The drain-pump line rises approx. 5ft & is followed by a 12 ft horizontal run into the wash tub. The water discharge @ the wash tub is vigorous!

Often we dry some clothes (delicates & woolens) in the basement & yet the unit maintains the humidity @ the set point!
Do not understand the venom in some reviews of this product. Have provided a long winded review just to explain that our unit has coped with a significant load for four (4) years. The only maintenance we perform is: clean/wash the air filters & wash the collection bucket!

November 3rd, 2013 via sears.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Sunson

So far, so good.

|

We have owned this dehumidifier for about 2 months now and it seems to be functioning as advertised. We use it in the main house to reduce the residual humidity our air conditioner misses. Keeping the relative humidity below 50% means that we can keep the temperature in the house higher than normal. The unit can keep the humidity at 50% but struggles to get the humidity down to 45 %. We tried the unit in our living room but the noise from the combined fan and compressor interfered with television and normal conservation. This unit is better suited for basements or other areas where noise is less important. We would find it very difficult to sleep if the unit was in the bedroom. Using the pump system is not an option where we keep the unit now, so we have never tested the reliability of the pump system. We have to empty the bucket 4-5 times a day, which is a bit of a pain, but that means that we are removing 5-6 gallons of water from the air every day. We use the water on our plants, since, like rain water it is, much better for them than tap water (with the chlorine and other additives in it).

September 29th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
sm2938572

Once figure out how to utilize it, it works.

|

I got this in the basement and it keeps on for 3 days dehumidifying. I suppose there were too much moisture in the area and it needs more time to extract them out from inside the frame and wall.
There are many disturbed posting on how bad this model is and myself has one sears 70 pint dehumidifier that work for the past 10 years and still running.

First, I totally agree that this is a very noisy dehumidifier. My work around is to put a foam pad under the machine which takes out a portion of the rattling noise and absorb some sound but still this is pretty loud machine. I also add couple more form pad at the behind wall and other places try to absorb as much as I can.

Second, the bucket sensor has a delay, so if you remove the bucket, the bucket full will not trigger right away. People complained that the water dripping out at that moment, and I guess the design idea is that you shouldn't remove it when it is running and is not full. Still, this is a pretty bad design. Not considerate of how user will use it.

Third, the humidity meter is so off!! When it start to run, the indicated humidity will move up more than 10%!! However, when the humidity hits 3% lower then the ******, the machine shut off but the humidity reading will keep going down to more than 10%!! This is a very big swing and I start to wonder how this humidity meter is been designed to have such different reading at on and off state. So, the symptom is that once it start to run, the actual humidity level is 10% less than it's reading. The humidifier will reduce the room humidity by more than 10% less than it's ******. But when it is off, the reading feels correct and it can be kicked start at the right humidity level. So, my work around is that my ****** is 55% but I set the humidifier ****** to 65%.

Four, the pump start when the bucket is full and does not stop at the low water level. It runs additional minutes before stop. Some posting complained and confused about how pump operate and I believe a lot more is the durability of the pump. I can't tell for now since I don't have it long enough.

Five, the heat. It is hot just like other posting indicated. basement is no longer a cool place. You might not want this machine in other hot places.

Six, the pump drain pipe need to sticking in all the way to the red line. But if not set right at the first time, you need to push the plastic ring around it to get it out and reset again. I guess this is a difficult part for a lot of less handy people.

So, I think this machine has all the features that people need to have it run unattended robustly. Once I figure out all these characteristics and behavior, I pretty much set it and forget it. Wish this will last for another 10 years just like my other sears dehumidifier.

August 14th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
cadillacjas

overpriced noisy leaks on gravity drain/overflows

|

Most expensive unit offered,...bought based on a Consumer Reports recommendation...big mistake...the headline says it all...plus it has a rattle that drives us crazy...unit is 1-1/2 years old...not worth the money

June 22nd, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
jeltez42

Take a pass on this one

|

The pump has never worked. The connections to the pump do not make a complete connection. Runs really hot to the point where it heats up my basement. It also does not shut off when the humidity reaches the set point. Since this was a gift we're stuck with it. It does dehumidify though.

June 15th, 2013 via kenmore.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
kk360s

dehumidifier

|

works well. Top information a little confusing, but I think it is figured out. Always wish it could be a bigger storage area for the water.

June 12th, 2013 via sears.com
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
searssuxsomemore

$400.00 pc. of junk

|

Ran good 1st year. 2nd year had to have it repaired ($150.00). This year won't run either. Took it out to my garage and tore it apart. Melted wires & rust everywhere. Straight to the junk pile. Last pc. of Kenmore I will ever buy.

June 8th, 2013 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Wilber54

Avoid at all costs

|

The only thing good about this unit is that it is quiet. I have owned this unit since July 2011 and it ran fine until I went to start using it in May of 2012 when in ran for 2 days straight and not a drop of water came out. I took it in to Sears for warranty repair (unit still looked new) and they replaced the 2 coils and recharged it, they also severely scratched, gouged and got some kind of adhesive all over the black control panel but it did work until now. Once again it ran for 2 days and not a drop of water, I am not going to pay to have this piece of **** fixed so it is getting trashed and I will never buy another Kenmore dehumidifier. I had a Kenmore unit that I bought in 1988 that lasted 10 years but since then I have not exceeded 2 years on anybodies dehumidifier; 4 have been Sears units. My advice is buy the cheapest one you can and plan on replacing it every year or two. I am now looking at one that is not made in CHINA that has a full 5 year warranty on it.

May 26th, 2013 via sears.com | The reviewer indicated they are affiliated with this product
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
StephenA

Avoid this stinker!

|

It's been years since I was last compelled to right a review, but this product can't keep me silent. Thank goodness I purchased it with a 5 year extended warranty! On my 4th one. Pump stopped working on two of them, another started making such a racket in the basement that we could hear it on the second floor, and the latest will not drain through any of the three methods, just dumps water onto the floor. Been on the phone twice with Sears service this time around, and twice they have disconnected the call. Not the Sears, and Sears products of old. The Kenmore Dehumidifier this one replaced was over twenty years old.

May 18th, 2013 via sears.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
potrezeby

good unit, parts problem

|

The unit works well, but came with defective parts which are still not shipped to me.

April 18th, 2013 via sears.com
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Buy1blade

Excellent remote

|

I keep it in the basement, so I love the remote and the built-in Pump.

February 6th, 2013 via sears.com
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Grasstooshort

Dehumidifier with pump

|

The pump lasted 13 months which is one month past the warranty time. Didn't use it continuously either. You are better off buying a cheaper dehumidifier without a pump and buying an external pump. Most of them are good for over 5 years.

February 6th, 2013 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
arlene vogel
January 30th, 2013
DARVIN DAVIDSON
January 28th, 2013
Ann-Marie DeGraffenreidt
January 27th, 2013
Want to know something? Ask a question Show all questions
DECATUR RABIET
How do I get a copy of the Protection Agreement on my dehumidifier?
by DECATUR RABIET 
August 3rd, 2013
Millie
Hi! If you are wanting it just for your records and have a Sears store close locally you can go there and ask for one. You could also try getting something online by going to Sears.com and typing "protection agreement" in their search box. Hope that helps!
Answered in 2 hours
by Millie |
August 3rd, 2013
| Be the first to comment
"