Skip to content
Manage My Life

How many states do not follow daylight savings?

and which ones do not if any

Index Dividers, Tabs & File Guides
Sign in to answer a question
3 Answers from these members:
Manage My Life
It's interesting on how there are states that don't have day light savings. I did some research in Google and I found a link that gives you the states that don't participate in day light savings. I'm attaching the link below, I hope this helps!!!!!!!!
by Manage My Life
October 27th, 2010
Answered in 56 minutes
0 votes
Manage My Life
According to

This Site

, Daylight Saving Time is


observed in Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, and Arizona.

The Navajo Nation participates in the Daylight Saving Time policy, even in Arizona, due to its large size and location in three states.

There are several very good websites on the subject, you may want to Google the subject and do some more reading if you're interested in the DST concept and/or ending it (my preference).

Thank you for using Manage My Life!
by Manage My Life
October 28th, 2010
Answered in 16 hours
0 votes
Charles Lentz
Until April 2005, when the state of Indiana passed a law agreeing to observe daylight saving time, the Hoosier state had its own unique and complex time system. Not only is the state split between two time zones, but until recently, only some parts of the state observed daylight saving time while the majority did not.

Under the old system, 77 of the state's 92 counties were in the Eastern Time Zone but did not change to daylight time in April. Instead they remained on standard time all year. That is, except for two counties near Cincinnati, Ohio, and Louisville, Ky., which DID use daylight time.

But the counties in the northwest corner of the state (near Chicago) and the southwestern tip (near Evansville), which are in the Central Time Zone, used both standard and daylight time.

The battle between the old system and DST was contentious and hard-won - bills proposing DST had failed more than two dozen times until finally squeaking through the state legislature in April 2005. As of April 2, 2006, the entire state of Indiana joined 47 other states in observing Daylight Saving Time. But it wasn't quite as simple and straightforward as all that - telling time in Indiana remains something of a bewildering experience: eighteen counties now observe Central Daylight Time and the remaining 74 counties of Indiana observe Eastern Daylight Time.

Read more: Daylight Saving Time —
by Charles Lentz Earned 7 community points in Index Dividers, Tabs & File Guides
October 30th, 2010
0 votes
Didn't find what you are looking for? Ask a question