Add To Cart
Want It
Have It
Add To Catalog
Whynter 14000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner with Remote
Related images:

Whynter 14000 BTU Dual Hose Portable Air Conditioner with Remote

Item# SPM7238867202 | Model# ARC-14S | Added on November 20, 2013
(745 Ratings) Join or Sign In to rate this
$620.00
$514.99
Rewards
Earn 5,150 points on this item (?)
Arrival Method
Get free 2-day shipping (?)
Description
EJH1011: Features: -Product Type:Portable air conditioner -Finish:Platinum and black -Distressed:No. Dimensions: -Overall Height - Top to Bottom:35.4375 -Overall Width - Side to Side:18.875 -Overall Depth - Front to Back:15.71875 -Overall Product Weight:79

Features the ECO-FRIENDLY CFC free GREEN R-410A refrigerant and lead free RoHS compliant components. This unit can cool up to a 500 sq. ft. space (ambient temperature and humidity may influence optimum performance).
Ratings & Reviews
Questions & Answers
23 members
Like this product
ANGELA J COLLINSNancy RunkleDerek W.P.
20
22 members
Want this product
These members chose to remain private.
4 members
Have this product
These members chose to remain private.
49 members
Follow this product’s
category
JJDAVID RICEKim FordYolanda PenaGalvanDavid T. ReidJulie Reedyjasmainmurrayjerilee adamsMary LalouluAutumn JojolaSelinda Rivera
38
Community Sentiment
  • Interesting
  • Desirable
  • Top Seller
  • (745 Ratings)
Overall score
7.4
Show more

Overall Rating:

Average:
(745 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (8)
  • 4 Stars
    (1)
  • 3 Stars
    (1)
  • 2 Stars
    (1)
  • 1 Star
    (2)
  • Read Reviews

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
10 found this review helpful
by GradyL
June 14th, 2009
It works.

I live in a medium size apartment in NYC, this unit works just fine as my summer cooling solution. Although it is not that hot right now, but I am sure it can cool down my room when the heat comes.

Criticism
6 found this review helpful
by Anonymous
June 19th, 2009
Low Quality A/C

High noise, cheap, vibrating plastic. Very bad outside air recirculation. Do not get fool by high BTU (14000) you may buy a way better product with 13,500 BTU

Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
Daniel Herdean
August 3rd, 2012
Hormelcan

Superior by far

<p>Tried this and another 14K unit.  this was far superior.  Cooling was almost twice as quick to get down to 75degrees and did not have to empty the tank on the Whynter.  Noise level was similar but once both unit were on low fan, the Whynter could hardly be heard. I will be keeping the Whynter.  Very impressed with it.</p>

July 30th, 2012 via sears.com
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
NHman

Massive waste of money

I replaced a 6000 BTU window unit with this product with high hopes. Sadly it could cool no better than my old unit. This air conditioner is not suitable except for a very small bedroom and cools no better than a 99.00 ******* window unit.

June 28th, 2012 via sears.com
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
CuteDogOwner

Big disapointment. Not working fresh out of the box.

I did some research regarding portable air conditioners. The Whynter 14000 BTU had a number of good reviews going for it. Some were not so good, However, no worse then other brands.
Unfortunately my experience very disappointing. This portable A/C unit turned out to be a very well packaged piece of junk. I ordered this unit on line, waited a few days, picked it up at Sears, brought it home, unpacked it, let it stand the manufacturer recommended four hours, hooked up the window vent and intake tubes, turned it on after the required rest time, set the thermostat to a desired temperature of 75 degrees and all we got out of it was warm air. I put a thermometer next to the air outlet and it read the same 85 degrees as the rest of the room's temperature. A major disappointment on a 90 degree day. Just in case the A/C unit may decide to wake up, I kept it it running for a couple of hours. The fan and the compressor kept running but no cold air out of it. Guess somebody back in China must have forgotten to charge it with refrigerant?
This Whynter 14000 BTU portable A/C is going back to Sears tomorrow. It's a major hassle because this thing is heavy and packed in a big box.
What to do now? Try the same or go with another brand? This experience was one of way to much effort wasted on a weekend. At least Sears has a pretty good return policy.

May 22nd, 2012 via sears.com
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Dex8

Eco-friendly 14000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Product instructions are simple to understand and the included window kit installs with ease (did have to use aluminum tape to seal gaps) . After unpacking and letting the unit sit for 4hr per instructions; unit powered up with no problems. I placed the unit in a 450 sf room and set the unit temp to 72 degree, lowering the room temp from 82 degree in 1 hr &amp; 30 min to 74 degree. I've had the unit only for a short time during an unusual hot spring and so far the unit has performed as expected. The real test will be during the coming hot summer months.

April 16th, 2012 via kmart.com
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MLifeNoir

Outstanding

Installed this in my workshop. Completely satisfied with all aspect. I would buy this again if needed.

January 20th, 2011 via kmart.com
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
xaza

Whynter Eco-friendly 14000 BTU Air Conditioner is easy to set up

<p>I purchased the 14,000 btu air conditioner when my previous 10,000 btu a/c died. My previous a/c was able to keep my house comfortable, just not able to catch up if not turned on in the morning. I figured that by going to a larger unit I would get the same result but perhaps it would not run as much. I was wrong. This unit must be left on all day just like the last one and does not do any better of a job cooling than my old one. It does manage to keep my house temp below eighty degrees. The fan and it's ability to circulate air leave a lot to be desired. I am a certified heating and air conditioning technician and can tell you that a great unit without proper air movement will not be fully utilized. This unit does a great job cooling the air it draws in but does not circulate to draw back the warmer air to continue it's cycle. I have found that with a properly placed circulating fan this unit does work much better. If left to circulate on it's own it will cycle on and off and only cool the air within about 15 ft of it. Using a fan to blow warmer air behind the unit gets it to run more contant and also help circulate the cooler air. Only advice I can give Whynter is improve your air circulation for a much better product. For consumers this unit is nice for it's cost (a circulating fan is real cheap and well worth the investment) and will keep a small apartment or a big room cool.</p>

July 11th, 2010 via kmart.com
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bladeserve

very effective a/c

<p>We use this as a supplemental cooler for our server basement. &nbsp;It's very effective in bringing down the temperature of a 90F, 300sqft room down to 80F in less than 40 mins and then down to 70F within 30 more mins. It also functions as a great dehumidifier keeping the relative humidity down to an optimal level.</p>

February 15th, 2010 via kmart.com
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
desertdweller2

Very pleased with purchase; surpassed expectations.

<p>We purchased it for an unconditioned garage in Arizona desert.&nbsp; Doesn't quite live up to expectations, however they were probably unrealistic.&nbsp; Performs well under the conditions.&nbsp; We run it nearly 24-hours per day, and it performs nicely.&nbsp; We are pleased with the product and would purchase it again if given the choice.</p>
<p>In an insulated area, it works really well.</p>

September 22nd, 2009 via kmart.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
TashDash

Great AC, pretty quiet, good window bracket

<p>This cooler is definitely powerful, cools my home office very quickly.</p>
<p>The unit is nearly silent when it's in &quot;standby&quot;, and very reasonable when cooling.</p>
<p>It has a great window bracket for the hoses, nice and sturdy.&nbsp;</p>
<p>The air comes out the top, which seems to help mix up the hot air near the ceiling and help cool faster.</p>
<p>You can place it just inches from the wall, the hoses go up from the back.</p>
<p>One thing I miss from&nbsp;my old AC is the ability to flash between Current and Set room temperature.</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>
<p>&nbsp;</p>

August 31st, 2009 via sears.com
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
rocking

beating the heat!

This is sooo cold, its unbelievable. I'm sticking it to the muggy East Coast heat. Nice upscale design. Price is real reasonable for a dual hose. Thanks Kmart.

June 29th, 2009 via kmart.com
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Anonymous

Low Quality A/C

High noise, cheap, vibrating plastic. Very bad outside air recirculation. Do not get fool by high BTU (14000) you may buy a way better product with 13,500 BTU

June 19th, 2009 via kmart.com
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
GradyL

It works.

I live in a medium size apartment in NYC, this unit works just fine as my summer cooling solution. Although it is not that hot right now, but I am sure it can cool down my room when the heat comes.

June 14th, 2009 via kmart.com
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Want to know something? Ask a question