Skip to content

Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner

Item# 04270051000P | Model# 70051 | Added on May 19, 2010 | Seller: Sears.com
$179.99
Rewards
You can earn on this product: 1,800 points
-
+
Add To Cart
Description Specifications
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner - Efficient and Earth-Friendly Cooling
When the temperature rises, keep your cool with the Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner 7005. The unit is relatively lightweight at just over 40 pounds, allowing for single-person window installation. Easy-to-use push buttons and remote control make beating the heat a quick and simple operation. Most importantly, with the window air conditioner quietly humming away, there’s enough power to cool small rooms and studio apartments. It packs a mighty punch for its size yet remains highly efficient and earth friendly. Also, a 24-hour on/off timer and sleep mode give you ultimate control.

  • 5,200 BTU
  • Cools up to 165 square feet
  • 24-hour ON/OFF timer
  • Sleep mode
  • 11.0 energy-efficiency rating
  • Earth-friendly 410A refrigerant
  • 1-touch electronic controls 
  • Filter-cleaning reminder
  • Tilt-out filter
  • 8-way air-direction control
  • 3 cool speeds
  • 3 fan speeds
This product is:
Energy Guide Rated
Ratings & Reviews

Overall Rating:

Average
(409 Ratings)
  • 5 Stars
    (187)
  • 4 Stars
    (121)
  • 3 Stars
    (35)
  • 2 Stars
    (23)
  • 1 Star
    (43)
  • Read Reviews
Member Photos

Most Helpful Reviews:

Praise
By renee88
September 2nd, 2013
Amazing!!!!

I just got this unit today. it is amazing!!!! All these people are posting bad reviews and after reading more, not all true. I know this ac doesn't come with the drain whole. If they had read the instructions maybe they wouldn't have issues. It says to have a little slant( not to keep it level) so it drains out the back. As for it keeping the room cold it works perfect. My room is a 12X12 and it cooled my room down in about an hour. I can see it not working if you have a large room. That's why you need to research before you buy something. I made sure when I read the other reviews to see what people said about their rooms size, it makes a big difference. Now since I have only had it for a day I can't comment on smell, so far just smells like nothing. I do agree with the buttons though they are not raised so while in the dark it could be a pain in the **** to figure it out. I do wish it was button form and not touch. Most important part, it was easy to install. The directions are a little weird, you have to read it well. I have the wood frame so that might be the reason it was a lot easier. Best part is it is a lot more quiet then my regular fan. My boyfriend and I were both shocked that this ac with not loud. I have had one before and it would so loud I had to turn the volume up really high on my tv. I hope someone finds this post helpful!

13 found this review helpful
Criticism
By ScubaBill
December 4th, 2015
after just three years --motor bearings are too noisy

Purchased in 2012. Nice features w/remote control and was quiet. This summer the fan motor bearings started making noise. Removing the cover allows access to the motor but unlike older ACs this motor has no ports for oiling the bearings. But good NEWS-- can get a replacement fan motor from Sears for only $98.15!! AC only costs $179.99 new. Very disappointed in the quality of the fan motor. Have another brand Daewoo AC that is the same size. Two years older but has developed the same problem and has an identical style motor. This is very poor performance for an item that only has to work for three months of the year.

14 found this review helpful
Reviewers may have received a benefit, like a sweepstakes entry or rewards program points, in exchange for writing a review.
Those benefits were not conditioned on the positive or negative content of the review.
brianwrx brianwrx
| Earned 8 community points in Summer

Potential to be a great AC but poor quality leads to rattles

|

I bought two of these units within one year of each other. Both units have developed a rattling sound during their 2nd summer of use. I actually took one apart and traced the rattle to the hard styrofoam insulation being loose. I tried to fix it but the rattle returned a month later.

The rattle isn't super loud but its noticeable because it's irregular and my children are complaining.

Its too bad, because otherwise these air conditioners were near perfect. Reasonable price, quiet operation before the rattle started, light weight and sufficient to cool a large bedroom in our climate.

Too bad the design is poor leading to these rattles on two separate units!

8 days ago
0 of 0 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Carol12Yellow
have it

great looking

|

great for a small bedroom

August 17th, 2016 via sears.com
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
GmaCarter3
have it

Cools well for price

|

Nice light units. Love the remotes

July 26th, 2016 via sears.com
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
MiaJoan
have it

Excellent Value Air Conditioner

|

This is the perfect air conditioning unit for a small room. At its clearance price we got an excellent deal. It cools quickly and runs relatively quietly. We are very satisfied.

July 19th, 2016 via sears.com
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Colleen2081
have it

nice unit

|

Works very well. The only drawback is the control panel and remote commands are hard to see.

July 6th, 2016 via sears.com
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Kmunsie
have it

Great AC for bedrooms

|

We purchased 2 of these for our kids rooms and they are great! Light, easy to install and quiet. The remote is a nice feature.

July 1st, 2016 via mobile
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
ERuth
have it

Great Buy

|

Bought this for my daughter and she loves it. Fits perfectly in her small kitchen window and keeps her 10 X 20 kitchen nice and cool.

July 1st, 2016 via sears.com
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Bugum
have it

Cool as a cucumber

|

June 21st, 2016 via sears.com
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Join or Sign In to vote
Questions & Answers (5) See All
Want to know something? Ask a question
MARITZA meritza
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 18th, 2016
Answered in 14 hours
Debra Lane
By Debra Lane
June 18th, 2016
JANICE PISZCZATOWSKI
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
July 29th, 2013
Answered in 24 hours
M I
By M I
July 30th, 2013
Claudio Santos
Kenmore 5,200 BTU Room Air Conditioner
June 30th, 2013
Answered in 6 minutes
Shop Your Way
By Shop Your Way
June 30th, 2013